Search the site   
Register | Login    
parenting

Related Articles on Child Development
What parents are currently discussing?
sprem donor
hi i am interesting in you if u r also then call m...
- - - - -
regarding adoption
i have a baby who is 9 months old ...
- - - - -
Egg Donation
nine seven six nine six six zero eight eight nine....
- - - - -
A Beautiful Journey
Wow whata start of a mum to be journey... A feelin...
- - - - -
Answer from a doctor?
hi doctor,i need your help plz.i have one child of...
- - - - -
Egg Donation
Please contact me! I am ready to help...
- - - - -
single child - bad idea
If there is only one child then it is important to...
- - - - -
does body weight matter
My age is 33 years and we are trying for baby sinc...
- - - - -
T.I.M.E Kids Rajainagar
contrary to your feeling, T.I.M.E kids Rajajinagar...
- - - - -

You are here : home > Child Development > Gross and Fine Motor Skills > The Second Year

The Second Year

In the second year your baby progresses from standing straight to climbing stairs.

13 to 15 months

The baby will be able to stand unaided and will try to take one or two steps without help.

15 to 18 months

The baby will be able to raise herself, walk with feet wide apart and elbows high.

18 to 20 months

The baby will be able to walk in a steadier manner and her arms will drop to her sides. She will also develop the ability to climb stairs.

21 to 24 months

At this stage, the baby can maintain her balance and can retrieve dropped objects.

More Articles on:
Baby | Toddler | Parents | New Born | Manners

Back to Previous Page   |   More on Child Development Index

Recent comments (58 comments)
Add your comment ( please login to post comment )
Your Name: 
Comment: 
Name: twinkle

where to find the ans. of the comments

Name: Ramesh

my grandson is 15 months old. he was a prematured 15 days baby. born with a mala on his neck. head is not controlled. if lifted he pushes his head backward instead of forward.he is not rolling down. left eye seems to be squint. if consulted a physiotherapist,he says mucsle is weak.anyone know when will his head control,crawl,sit and walk. much worrying about his delayed activities.

Name: shruti

my baby is 2 month old his neck is still not strong

Name: Dipti

i think the milestones should be given related to age as a graph to quickly relate

Name: kavita

my son start standing after 17 months . is there any problem

Name: pooja

my baby is about 4 months & 3 weeks olds,he has been standing when he was just 3 months old.is this abnormal?

Name: Chirag Kothari

my baby is 5 yrs now. she can walk but she needs support while she is getting down stairscase. when i tried to explain she starts crying .i thing she is afraid of doing it.what should i do .is she lack of confidence.pls advice

Name: poonam gite

now my baby is 11 month old,still he is not standind & walking?

Name: Nandini bisht

my baby is 9.5 mths and she is on her walking stage. but she doesn't take her good nicely and found her bit thin can anybody help me out for her food habits and guide me well for the solids what can i give her etc. thanks nandinio

Name: Eboni

my daughter will be 6 months on june 10th ans she's not turning over. at around 5 months she started to turn over ( not the full turn just half way). and some nights i would wake up and i would notice that she did a complete turn but now she's not even trying anymore. what should i do? and also is it normal for her to only sit up for a few mins. at a time?

Name: Eboni

my daughter will be 6 months on june 10th ans she's not turning over. at around 5 months she started to turn over ( not the full turn just half way). and some nights i would wake up and i would notice that she did a complete turn but now she's not even trying anymore. what should i do? and also is it normal for her to only sit up for a few mins. at a time?

Name: lygkfzbjih

cod overnight tramadol

Name: sonu

my daughter is 22 months old.she is very active.everything is fine but her h.c.is incresing very slow.she touches the border line of the chart.i'm little worried.anybody help me out.

Name: Heather

all babies develop very differently!! for instance.. i had a baby girl who's now 6 1/2 months old, and my husbands long time friend had a baby boy born only hours after mine. we saw them for the first time in church this past sunday and were talking. my daughter started rolling over at 3 months, crawling at 4 1/2, sitting up by herself and pulling herself up about a month ago. his friends little boy is only rolling over so far. i've talked to my mom and to my husbands.. when it comes to brain smarts my husband is 100 times smarter than me, but i developed much quicker as a baby then he did! i was already walking around furniture at 6 months and my husbands couldn't even crawl until he was 9 months. age doesn't matter, and how fast they develop doesn't affect anything in the long run so don't stress about it. let nature run it's course!

Name: Milly Simi

hey pple, i have a three and ahalf month old daughter who was born at eight months. she`s very healthy and developing very well, she`s already sitting up, can stand for about five minutes, with my support, ofcourse and doin solids. hey mummies out there dont freak out , evry baby is unique and will develop uniquely. never ever force a child to do things, let every thing take its toll at her own pace and not yours. good luck and enjoy motherhood.

Name: jase

it usually varies from babies 2 babies, n 2 moms out there if u r really worry about ur baby den u might 1 2 seek professional help.if not let nature take it course.

Name: Kathy

babies can, and sometimes do walk well before 10 months. the youngest i have seen walking on his own steam was 8 months. my son gave up crawling right after turning 9 months, and walked from then on. he fell a lot, but would pick himself up and keep going. on the other hand, this means nothing regarding intelligence or eventual development. my brother-in-law didn't walk until 16 months. he spent a lot of time taking his shoelaces out and putting them back in. he was working on fine motor skills when the the other babies were learning to control their legs. he is 54 years old, highly intelligent, and has his own construction company. and he walks very well. so, in the end, it didn't matter that he walked late.

Name: jodie

doesnt matter if your different we are all equal

Name: Vinutha

i will have to disagree with your comment that babies walk by 10 months. i have known babies who take up 12-14 months to walk.

Name: Trupti

my daughter was born 6 weeks early and only 1.85kg, but now she is a healthy one and hyper active. she started to satnd at 8 months and to walk at ten months, doctor was so surprised yes , so every baby is different. we are really blessed by god having her in our life

Name: annerbell

just wanted to let everyone out there who is a parentthat i love my baby and would do anything 4 her no one coulled change that. claire i really do feel sorry for what happened to you i hope u and your baby share many happy times together.

Name: jean

no matter what any one tells you mothers no best stick to what you beleive

Name: claire rycroft

when i was in laybour i was terrified the doctors and nurses tol me to push even though they new there was a problem with how my baby was sat inside me, finally a doctor came in after 45 minutes and explained to the nurses that i was going to need a sersarian i did not think my baby would servive but now she is fit and healthy and ready for her first christmas. i couldof lost my baby that day if it want for that doctor! i called her shantey

Name: courtney

i have a daughter that was born 2 months early. she is 9 months old now. she is doing well! ive been very fortunate to have a healthy daughter. my question is is it ok to stop giving her formula, and feed her table food?

Name: sarah and kimberley

children all develop at different stages, some children are less fortunate then others and dont develop their milestones at all any worries contact your doctor as he/she will know best xxx

RELATED VIDEOS ON
Child Development
Medicine cabinet
Tips for Performing Ballet Exercises
Famous dyslexic people
Why fries are bad for you

Baby - Baby Photo Contest | Lucky Names | Lucky Birthdates | Horoscopes | Chinese Calendar | Compatibility Test | Fun Zone
Parenting - Message Boards | Planning a Baby | Pregnancy | Parents of Babies | Baby Names | Baby Name Poll | Birth Announcements | Parenting Quiz
Family - Cooking Club | Love & Relationships | Beauty Tips | Kids Weight Calculator | Recipe Maker
General - Calorie Counter | Personality Quiz | Love Signs | Compatibility Quiz

Home | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Comments or Suggestions | Indiaparenting News Articles | Contact Us | Advertise with Us | Resources | RSS
Copyright (c) 1999 - 2012 India Parenting Pvt. Ltd.