You are here: Home > Message Boards > Parents of Schoolgoers >  Role of in-laws >whether woman lose their respect after m

Parents of Schoolgoers  Discussion Forum

Role of in-laws:whether woman lose their respect after marriage?
2011-07-27
Name: anusha r

Dear friends, i got married 3 years back...i am 4 months pregnant now...i would like to share my experiences..Whenever i want to talk to my SIL only i should only call her and talk...she will not call me even once..Even now i am pregnant i want to call her and inform..She will not call me and congratulate like all others will do..But her parents will aske me to call her and speak to her..(note:sil is not my husband own sister...it is my husband relative.my husband does not have any sister..only one brother). Similarly my mil will not invite me for any function or pooja that is happening in their side..but tell my husband who will inturn tell me..The same way recently my husband uncle and aunt are arriving here..His aunt called us..I picked up and told her that my husband was in office now..will be back in the evening only..Then her aunt told me that \" tell ur husband that we both are visiting your home for 2 days and ask him to call us back\" . I welcomed them..but she didnt give any weightage to that..My point is that why cant she tell me that we both are planning to visit your place..Why she is talking like inform your husband that we are visiting your place..? Am i right or wrong? She is also a DIL like me only..Similarly whenever my sil come here she will never talk to me...instead roam around my husband and talk..i used to maintain smile and cordial relationship with her but sometime i fail when she ignores me.. Regarding my MIL i dont want to tell much about her..as she uses to talk only to my husband..Whether i lose my self respect by talking to these people by simply smiling at them..talking with them..and trying to maintain a decent relationship...I am confused..kindly guide me..

2016-10-11
Anonymous Name: Reshu
Subject:  RE:whether woman lose their respect after marriage?

Hi Anusha, this is one common trouble most of the women face in their day to day life after marriage. Do not worry just stay with your husband rest of the people are going to stay with you for a period.

2016-08-29
Anonymous Name: Hardika

This is something your husband should look after and he should talk to her sister about this because if you have not done anything wrong then you should know why is she doing this and behaving so rude with you.

2016-08-20
Anonymous Name: Ritu

There is a certain limit till where you can try to build relations and a point till where you can keep them happy. If they are not willing to make you a part of their family then you should just ignore them and be happy with your husband.

2016-04-28
Anonymous Name: Kali

Hello Anusha,
We cannot say either yes or no it depends up on the husbands we get because some people never treat them as a human at all and some will respect them a lot so it depends up on our luck.I wish you will understand what am saying.

2016-04-11
Anonymous Name: Munna

Hi Anusha R,
They are doing such things means it is their mentality,it is not your problem so you just to your husband that you were feeling lonely when they are behaving in such way if your husband is with you,you need to ignore all this.

2015-12-19
Anonymous Name: Ashwin
Subject:  May be of ur lifestyle

what i feel may be the reason, urs s arrange mrg for sure, inlaws treat to a DIL is quite common in this country, basically guys should learn to respect, show affection, moreover sit n listen to wifes words, tragedy is no guy wanna spend 10% of his time spent on mobile to listen to his wife, take ur husband to a temple or any place with positive energy, explain him , he ll understand.. good luck

2016-01-24
Anonymous Name: siya

yaah in our country people treat their DIL like that way there are very few who get love and affection like her own home. it is very serious condition in our country. explain it to ur husband he will understand.

2013-02-16
Anonymous Name: sameer
Subject:   from delhi

hiiiiiiii sameerpt

2013-01-29
Anonymous Name: Gina
Subject:  SIL

Tell your husband to show u respect. Why does he go around with this so called cousin if she is rude to her tell him to stopppp noww. As for ur inlaws just tell him to tell them to behave or u need to stop cooking cleaning and looking after him

what is wrong with Indian men they need to grow up???

2011-08-19
Anonymous Name: Kavya

try and discuss this with your husband, he mite understand. Self respect is important and you too are part of their family, so they must accept you as their own family member

2011-09-05
Anonymous Name: Mittu

useless trying KAvya, I always wondered, if I am the only one with oodles of patience, tried everything that it took to sweetly explain things to my husband, he listens to it..but finally says " this is everywhere, u should ignore" .this won´ t work out kavya, im sorry to say this, buttrust me, there are adamant people!!

All tips on Parents of Schoolgoers
whether woman lose their respect after marriage?

Subscribe to this conversation! All tips on Parents of Schoolgoers

How to deal with this?
I feel that my husbands parents are using their son. My husband is from India and I am from the USA. He obtained his greencard and citizenship through me after coming here. He is a physician and obtained his residency training. I worked to earn for our family for two years until he got his job. Then he applied for his parents to visit us on a visiting visa. We were both wo... - Tina Shah [View Message]
RE:self centered inlaws
I agree they have completely double standards as I recently found out. I saw my husbands childhood photos when he was young. His parents claim they sacrificed everything for their kids and lived poor and behave like martyr parents. Got treated as free domestic servant. But the photos showed them dressed like Bollywood stars with watches and jewellery enjoying their life. O... - Tina [View Message]
RE:self centered inlaws
Karma has no menu. You get served what you deserve. ... - Tina [View Message]
RE:Jadu on food?
Hi , I am facing the same thing.. I married my husband and we are not only from different caste but also different country. My in-laws are so nice to me on face but I can sense the jealousy and that inferiority majorly in my mother in law and my sister in law.. I never had such doubts but I experienced pain sadness , depression while they use to be nice .. and it was confu... - Noname [View Message]
RE:Mother-in-law spoiling my child
hello kajal,
if you are rudely talking with her, then this is not way to talking with your mother in law, you tell her in polite way, your son is her grand son, so she never think about his bad effects.... - ruchita [View Message]
hello kajal,
stop your negative thinking towards your mother in law, she is your son grand mother too, so if she gave some sweet like sugar to him its just because of her love towards him.... - reshma [View Message]
hello kajal,
if you are dont like your mother in law behaviour then tell her on face, that you dont whenever she gave sugar to her son, so she may be stop giving sugar to him, and your porblem will be sort out.... - kamna [View Message]

Home | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Comments or Suggestions | Indiaparenting News Articles | Contact Us | Advertise with Us | RSS
Copyright © 1999 - 2022 India Parenting Pvt. Ltd.