You are here: Home > Message Boards > Parents of Schoolgoers >  Role of in-laws >prob with mil&Fil

Parents of Schoolgoers  Discussion Forum

Role of in-laws:prob with mil&Fil
2007-12-07
Name: mother

hi firends,
need suggestion ,please share my sorrows and give me some suggestions.
my Mil&Fil is with my sil means in my fil' s home with sil' s husband and children.

i was sufferred with my mil,fil and sil' s at the time when my son was 3months old.
i cried a lot in the nights.
that time my husband is in Bangalore i am at my mil' s place.my husband is very cool and nice.He loved me very much. but he can' t agree when i told him some issues regarding their parents.so i decided don' t tell any thing to him.
now i adjusted and as well as mostly i am neglecting their (MIL & FIL) words.
mil and fil is thinking their daugters should be good.
we should be always lower than them.
now my son is with my mother in my native place bcoz of i am working.
To put my son with my mother also there was lot of fightings.

now one more problem, my husabnd bought a car 1.5 years back.
he put that car with their parents. it' s ok
but there sil anbd her husabnd and their children are enjoying with car.
but what about my son.
he usually coming to bangalore.
at that time we have to go by auto or bus to outside .

what should i do.
i am very upset all these things.
why should my son ........... that is their father' s (my husband)car.
and then now my son will be coming to here for school and he has adenoids.If he go with dust and cold he has health problems.
today morning i was told to my husband that will take our car.
he told no, will buy second handled car.
he is afraid of his father and my mil always told to my husband u are not preffering me(mil&Fil)
i was very angry and i decided to buy new car of my own to my son.

but it' s not good.
why should we buy a car it takes atleat 3 lakhs.
we can spend that money to home.
and that to why should my son will adjust and there sil children are njoying.

and when we went to my mil' s place sil' s children has imp to go by car.
my son always crying to sit in front.
these all are small things but i am very angry with this and i can' t bare all these things.

why should my son will adjust, if my fil,mil will not accept all these things i will buy my own car for my son.
what should i do please give suggestions.

2007-12-07
Anonymous Name: Pooja

You at first place should have encouraged the idea of giving ur husband' s car to ur ils. When ur DH consulted you should have never agreed. Since now ur car is already there but henceforth that u tell ur dh about it. You also have equal right on all ur dh' s things. Dont force your husband but always your husband should be aware how you feel.
I agree with gg. Dont make things look harse and you as the bad person. Make your work done sweetly and ur son also should not compromise his father' s possession.
All the best and hope you handle the situation better.

2007-12-07
Anonymous Name: gg

u can do this..the moment u go near to car or u see car coming towards u..start telling ur son loudly..papa' s car is come ..let go..papa' s car is come lets go...u go open the door let him sit on front seat..no need for nay explanation...no need to argue with any1..think that is ur car..if ur sil chil try to throw him out..very sweetly tell them no probs beta u too sit ...with him ...but dont let u r child coem out...
as a dil ...n wife ...its ok if we take brick bats from in laws but we dont have any right to show the same path to our children...from the beginning u put this in ur sons mind.this belongs to my fahter...if u open ur mouth entire family including ur husband will gv u left right ..but if ur son open ur mouth every body will keep ther mouth shut..including ur husband....
u put ur son on this track believe me he will go much ahead then u...u do this once ur 2ce n very soon u will see ur son with his fther s car...kids are very very smart...
but this is a warning to u..sorry to use such words..dare if u teach ur son to get scared to ur in laws...

2007-12-10
Anonymous Name: mother
Subject:  hi all

hi all,

first of all thank u for these suggestions.
i will implement all these things.
thank u so much friends

2007-12-07
Anonymous Name: anita
Subject:  good for u

I can understand how u r feeling..You can tell ur SIL and their family very very clear tht the car belongs to ur son' s dad and he will alwayss sit in the front ..tell them tht u visited doctor and he adviced ur son not to travel without car..tell in very soft tone tht care belongs to ur husbnd and afterall ur son is the owner of the car and express ur happiness tht u have owned a car in ur lifetime..show ur overpossesiveness towards ur own things..they will definatly take a step back..

2007-12-07
Anonymous Name: mother
Subject:  hi anita

thanks for giving suggestions.
u r suggestions will help me more.
yah i am trying to tell to my husband clearly.

thanks anita

All tips on Parents of Schoolgoers
prob with mil&Fil

Subscribe to this conversation! All tips on Parents of Schoolgoers
prob with mil&Fil

Subscribe to this conversation! All tips on Parents of Schoolgoers
prob with mil&Fil

How to deal with this?
I feel that my husbands parents are using their son. My husband is from India and I am from the USA. He obtained his greencard and citizenship through me after coming here. He is a physician and obtained his residency training. I worked to earn for our family for two years until he got his job. Then he applied for his parents to visit us on a visiting visa. We were both wo... - Tina Shah [View Message]
RE:self centered inlaws
I agree they have completely double standards as I recently found out. I saw my husbands childhood photos when he was young. His parents claim they sacrificed everything for their kids and lived poor and behave like martyr parents. Got treated as free domestic servant. But the photos showed them dressed like Bollywood stars with watches and jewellery enjoying their life. O... - Tina [View Message]
RE:self centered inlaws
Karma has no menu. You get served what you deserve. ... - Tina [View Message]
RE:Jadu on food?
Hi , I am facing the same thing.. I married my husband and we are not only from different caste but also different country. My in-laws are so nice to me on face but I can sense the jealousy and that inferiority majorly in my mother in law and my sister in law.. I never had such doubts but I experienced pain sadness , depression while they use to be nice .. and it was confu... - Noname [View Message]
RE:Mother-in-law spoiling my child
hello kajal,
you think that excess sugar given to him by your mother in law, and thats why you are worried about your son, so dont take stress of this thing, your son is little now, after some years, he will stop eating sugar by selfly.... - nandita [View Message]
hello kajal,
if you are dont like your mother in law behaviour then tell her on face, that you dont whenever she gave sugar to her son, so she may be stop giving sugar to him, and your porblem will be sort out.... - kamna [View Message]
hello kajal,
if you are rudely talking with her, then this is not way to talking with your mother in law, you tell her in polite way, your son is her grand son, so she never think about his bad effects.... - ruchita [View Message]

Home | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Comments or Suggestions | Indiaparenting News Articles | Contact Us | Advertise with Us | RSS
Copyright © 1999 - 2022 India Parenting Pvt. Ltd.