You are here: Home > Message Boards > Parents of Schoolgoers >  Role of in-laws >WOMEN!! Lets change the unjust society r

Parents of Schoolgoers  Discussion Forum

Role of in-laws:WOMEN!! Lets change the unjust society rules
2005-08-24
Name: BE SELF RELIANT GIRLS

DEAR LADIES, i read thru most of ur msgs. and I have heard all the sad realities of my married friends, my relatives, have exeprienced atrocities myself in life.

infact, for a long time, i wanted to do something for uplifment of women in our society....i still am thinking how to do it.....I NEED VIEWS / IDEAS / SUGGESTIONS OF ALL THE WOMEN HERE, who want to help the women out of goodwill...and those who truly feel that their position in this world is pathetic....

first of all, we all know that \";aurat hi aurat ki dushman hai\";

secondly, as is evident from all your mails and as we all know that husbands behave differently when they are with their parents or relatives (they can be very nice with you in their absence, but something really goes wrong with them when they are around their parents)

We also know that every girl is happy before marriage, and never after ( yes...i mean it...all of them are unhappy)

In our society, subtle but really strategically smart rules are taught to us right from birth... to turn us into what we are....and hence, easily rule on us (a girl should be a good cook, a good housekeeper, a devoted mother and wife, \";aadmi ke dil ka raasta hai uska pet....a woman should be like a mother to her husband in the day and a prostitute in the night....husband ke hi kushi main aurat ki khushi hai...pati devta hota hai, pati poojniya hai\";.... forgiving and patient hona chahiye...bado se zabaan nahi ladaate....blah...blah)

Wives are actually glorified maids and prostitutes, who take care of the house, be emotional support for husbands, take care of children (we build the society), and give physical pleasure to husbands.

The list is endless....

But have we ever stopped and wondered why is our situation so? Why are there certain \";done things\"; for women, certain roles only for us, certain duties, restrictions, blah blah only for us....its coz we have allowed everyone to take us for granted...our ever-sweet, forgiving and patient nature is the cause.....and the biggest cause is....that we females are not united...we have been brainwashed right from childhood...we and boys are raised differently for a reason....and we never question that?

we just fight our own individual battles, are unnsuccessful...and then....when it comes to torment another woman, we don't remember what we had gone through, we don't support them...but we suddenly transform into the ever so notoriously evil...\";mother in laws\"; and \";sister in laws\";....

my point is....we need to raise woman's social position in our society...our position is really really lowly and pathetic....

who decided that its a woman's job alone to take care of the house, the kids, the meals, the daily chores, the 'bahu' work and traditions?? But we all accept it the as a \";god-given law\";...that's our fault.

all the women, be it the poorest to the richest...are discriminated against..

no wonder...when it is heard that a girl was raped coz she was walking all alone on the streets at night (whatever the time)...or that she was wearing an inviting dress...its said....\";so what else was she expecting??\";...why aren't our sons trained the other way round...why do they think its their right to pounce on a girl since she has broken the \";code\"; ...and we are allowed to be on a junglee prowl....? and rapes don't happen only in the day time....we have raised our sons and daughters wrong....absolutely wrong....by telling themthe same 'dakiyanoosi' society rules etc...unknowinlgy, we are carrying on with the tradition of women sorrows.

ladies...none of us are safe...that includes the daughters you'll give birth to...they too would have to bear the same atrocities like us and like the past women generations....if we don't act

remember....women are the ones who make a society... if you look carefully, you'll know its a fact.....(we give birth, we take care of the child, we impart first social virtues and values to our children, they learn from us first, and the from the rest of the world)... don't you think that unknowingly, we impart wrong knowledge to our sons and daughters by teaching the stupid society rules and certain stupid indian culture...roles of a man and a woman???

we have to stay united and we fight for our right of equality (pls...right of equality doesn't mean equal jobs, equal pay, women-reservations...its al bullshit....we need to see the real problem)....i'm talking about social equality...and by the way...our shastras, upnishads, vedas and epics...all have depicted the role of a woman in a shameless way...no wonder, in early imes a woman was not allowed to study upnishads, vedas etc....GO THROUGH WHAT's WRITTEN ABOUT WOMEN IN OUR SHASTRAS at http://www.hinduism.co.za/women.htm. Know where we stand in our glorious indian culture and society.... please... change all this.... if you respect yourself even a single bit....this is the indian heritage we are preserving and feeding our children with...and acting on it thinking....this is how a true indian woma should behave...ladis read it...and kow how respected are we in the indian culture

aren't we at fault when we don't question our parents when they allow one thing for the son and disallow the same for the daughter? Aren't we at fault when we allow our parents to give gifts-dowry at our weddings? Aren't we at fault when we let our parents perform the insane traditions of giving gifts etc at each and every occassion to ladka wallas? Arent't we at fault when we think its the done thing for the ladki walas to bear the wedding expenses (greeting the barat and dinner etc)...why? isn't it their son's marriage too? How can we allow our parents to think....nahi nahi...hum ladki waale hai, we can't to do this or that, we can't stay for long at the girl's place...and to top it all....we have no right in our family's inheritence...this too adds to the insecurities that women face...and the worst reason is....our forgiving nature...our so called \";bechaargi\"; ....our financial dependence..and our acceptance of our fate.

what i'm trying to say is...that the we need to uproot the real cause of our miseries...bring about a change in us first...become confident...see the real perspective...and fight for our rights...and stay united....AND BRING ABOUT A CHANGE IN THIS SOCIETY

i don't really know how to achieve this...have been thinking a lot...but there's one thing i know...poor follow the rich, low class follows the higher class....if the elite and educated women cannot protect themselves, then our society would not change....we need to change first then slowly, the society would change

but friends...as i said...i feel very agitated that we women go through so much, we have a thankless job profile in this world...and we are treated as maids nad prostitutes...we are just servants to men... (look at the roles defined for us in he society)..look at what you do at the end of the day...what have you been doing so far...have you never felt suffocated? felt its unfair... felt \";what lacks in me...i too am educated...talented...confident...then why should i do all this\";...why isn't it an equal responsibility of the man...why is he allowed to sit and fart in front of the couch while I keep the house clean, take care of the kids and e enjoys outside of the home ans inside too and then has the nerve to demand everything and judge you, if you fall short on the basis of a woman's duties? and then when the time comes to leave the in-laws or a tyrant husband...we are looked at with contempt...the society eyes us in dejection and even if our parents support us...we end up making them suffer...so most o us can't opt for either life death....

at the end of it ladies....we all know...that we all are sad....all of us...right froma 5 year old girl to the 70 year old woman...however rich or eductaed she might be....think about the reason....its the rules of society that we have so easily accepted for ourselves....

PLEASE ladies...lets discuss how can we put an end to this madness....what should be done to bring about this change in society... lets do something...lets start something, we are all educated here, come from good families, have some free time also, are intelligent enough, if we can't then wo can? and who will?

i know it starts from self first....so lets change ourselves first....but we cannot sit at that alone...we need to have concerted effort to uproot it together...and if we don't share our thoughts, ideas and views on this....and act on it and do something worthwhile to this effect...then its only a proof.....that WOMEN ONLY FIGHT THEIR OWN BATTLES...WOMEN CANNOT BE UNITED...AND the age old saying \";AURAT HI AURAT KI DUSHMAN HAI\";....

2005-08-26
Anonymous Name: another dil
Subject:  I so much agree

I agree to to what you have said. I have seen a thousand times my mother, my aunts and now my sister just giving in to the wishes of husbands and in-laws just because they want to be the \";nice bahu\"; or want to maintain peace at home. Sometimes it drives me crazy.. i had also stood up for myself and did not give in for anything that was wrong.. result was my husband was told all sort of bad things abt me that i want him to be separated from the family and my parents dont respect the in-laws (because i stopped them from giving any gifts). Now, we live separately.. and my in-laws are still angry because they didnt get to torture me more.
In all, i think that i could stand up because i am self reliant.. so the first step to stop all this is not to depend on your husband for any of your needs..

2005-08-25
Anonymous Name: prumessence
Subject:  A woman is another woman's enemy.

I understand where you are coming from. But i dont agree with you on lot of things. First of all our hinduism. I dont want to go with any x,y or z even if it is quoted to be said by bheeshma. I know one God. The high power & I am a hindu. I pray to all gods for the values they pass on, rest of the things we here are views of people be it sants or sadhus born thousands of years ago. They are still views. So i would believe that just as a man is faulty. So is a woman.
It is the joint value taught by parents to girl child. I fought against my parents from the day my brother was born and they used to be partial. I never learned cooking from my mom as a defiance. I talked back to my parents if i saw any partiality but i love them and my brother.
I suffered on hands of my inlaws but never lost my integrity. I did my kartavya but stood up when my self worth was questioned.
I have a daughter and i dont get her just dolls or let anybody tell her anything feminist or otherwise. We are all humans.
Seriously how many women's organization can we start and later down the road get it corrupted. How many voices can we raise but half of them dont know what to do with themselves or their family.
All we can do is understand that man and woman are 2 genders with their good and bad qualities. People with too much time sit down to right things like what women have as bad qualities etc. Every religion mistreats the women. It is people who allow them and let it go on who are wrong.
Let women read,learn,open their minds. Let men do the same and teach yourself to think. I dont blame my MIL for the wrong she does, I blame my husband and father in law equally for letting her do that to me. And then I blame myself to let that happen. Attitude change is needed.
While you are being so right in trying to raise the conscience of society. I would ask you to not get frustrated. Try to do what you can in your life, with your kids and relatives. Keep the faith!

2005-08-25
Anonymous Name: BE SELF RELIANT GIRLS
Subject:  Why stop at self only?

Dear Prumessence. As i have also said, we need to change ourselves first and bring about the change in attitude and see through the wrong unjust social rules laid out for women in our society. Secondly, as both of say, women allow all this to happen...therefore it happens. You too are saying the exact same thing as me. good thing is that you have acted in such a way throughout your life as well and kept yuor integrity.

The same goes for me. Right from by birth, i have fought for equality with my brother (though I would not say that my parents really kept the difference, but on certain occassions, were forced into imposing restrictions and boundaries, keeping the society in mind)....but i fought on that account too....just like you did. And exactly like you, even i didn't learn cooking, household chores etc...only and only in defiance (i decided so when in my growing years, my friends were learning to do so, and i was constantly laughed at and asked, when would you do it? i realised what was happening...and clearly stayed away from it, on purpose...said blatantly...if a guy wants to marry me, he would marry for what i am...not for how best can i serve him...if i have to...i'll face the so-called 'dire' circumstances for the lack of my skills). Finally, when the time came for marriage, i made it clear to my parents...i won't be displayed around, i won't give my snaps, won't appear in a suit...i'll talk to the guy on my own first...i let his parents know of how deficient i am in my household skills...told them by the way...it was by choice and not because i was too busy studying or was too much in my career. finally, made it clear beforehand...not a rupee in dowry or gifts...ever in future would be given...if they are okay with it...only then should they come forward....and believe me...i didn't allow even a rupee in the name of dowry or gifts to ladkawalas...despite stiff opposition from my parents and other relatives....and at the risk of a 'possible let-down' among my in-laws.

well...what i'm saying is..that you and i have lived a life with this spirit...as you say....change yourself...and forget the rest...tell me Prumessence....HOW MANY GIRLS LEARNT FROM YOUR EXAMPLE?...how many girls were you able to transform?..in my case... everyone praised and appreciated...bas...it ended at that....just a little bit of self-awakening in a few girls...so they spoke for themselves in one off occassion...that's it...

Therefore sorry to disagree with you on this account...i strongly feel that this change should not stop at just self...but needs to be propagated...if Raja Ram Mohan Roy decided only for himself...that he himself would not allow Sati pratha in his family...but can't change others and go out in protest...then Sati would never have been abolished from India....think about it....we cannot just fight our own battles only...if God has given you the wisdom and strength, then it becomes your duty to use it...otherwise, every human being can help himself...what's so special about us?

And i'm not frustrated with all these things...only agitated at our own gender...."NO"..the one who has replied in this section is so right....women themselves bring upon these miseries on themselves...trying to act so sweet...sati savitris...all so patient and forgiving ...as i also said....

And the best part is...whenever something wrong happens with us...we get over it...either by crying...or by discussing with someone...or sharing..."mann halka karne ke liye"...but we forget...yeh mann halka karke hi hum sabse badi galti karte hai....when the whole agitation is out of the system...a person doesn't take any action...and so we women start fresh...again, being the same old sweet, caring, forgiving, ever-so-wise women...

we are the ones who are so insecure about our positions...and yes...we are the ones who are responsible for our situation...THIS IS MY WHOLE POINT SO FAR!!!!! And, i really don't think that we should just be happy by changing ourselves and not make an attempt to do something collectively...though i agree...its the most feasible and also... the easiest way....the most convenient ways of all....to just solve your own problem in life...and be happy

i am not of the opinion to make a forum, collect funds, have meetings and that's it...coz i have been in these social work groups myself...and i know...it just turns out to be another kitty party, with women just too pleased with themselves...that they are "contributing" so much...that they are one of the social workers...which is considered to be so chic nowadays...bass...do chaar gareeb baho ko padha diya...gareeb basti chale gaye...haal chal pooch liya...hosipitals chale gaye....hua kya?...nothing....we shy away from the real action....

nor do i say that get inside peoples' households and start preaching...i know its not feasible

that's my dilemma....i don't know what to do....that's why i need your views, ideas, opinions...i believe we should join hands and do something...but what?... that is the million dollar question...and that's why i thought that i should ask some of you guys to think, may be...we can think of a way....

PS (I too am a Hindu, believe in the Eternal God, devoted to his many forms.....but i accidentally stumbled upon about our shastras and vedas...when i was trying to enrich my hinduism knowledge...and these are not preached by sages or so called swamis...these are the most ancient holy scriptures known to mankind...and i was aghast at finding out the role of women in our society...another thing...please go and search..MANU-SAMHITA....and CHANAKYA NEETI....these are the two scripture...on the basis of which...our entire Indian culture and society is known to be based....)...happy reading

2005-08-25
Anonymous Name: no
Subject:  hello

u dont know majority of indian wives act in such a sweet way that they do everything what their hubby say and pretend that they are happy with their life,, actually they pretend to the core,, acting like a good wife, acting like a good dil in front of their hubbys and do whatever their hubby says, and even carry their hubbys footwear ..... all these are done by educated girls,, just to show how much they love their hubby ,,, and pretend to be sweet and happy in front of everybody,,,, do u think these ladies will tell anybody whats deep inside them.......

2005-08-29
Anonymous Name: priya
Subject:  Beg to differ ....

What is wrong if a girl acts sweet and loving to her husband ... Afterall she is trying to keep the boat sailing.

Do you think everyone should revolt ...break up their marriage and end up with a divorce!

How many women do u think are ready for this. Many are dependent on their husbands for social security, financial security !

If they can act sweet and can get their work done (i.e get a good life, get a good bank balance) i dont see anything wrong init . I consider such ppl as smart !!!

2005-08-25
Anonymous Name: BE SELF RELIANT GIRLS
Subject:  Agree with you

Dear 'No'...i totally agree with your observation... i dunno why do we women behave this way. do we like being trampled down at feet....do we enjoy it? yaar, all of us do it...at some point or the other, either out of love, or to maintain the sanity...but its so harmful at the end of it. the other person therefore never takes us seriously.
Pages >>  1  2 

All tips on Parents of Schoolgoers
WOMEN!! Lets change the unjust society rules

Subscribe to this conversation! All tips on Parents of Schoolgoers

How to deal with this?
I feel that my husbands parents are using their son. My husband is from India and I am from the USA. He obtained his greencard and citizenship through me after coming here. He is a physician and obtained his residency training. I worked to earn for our family for two years until he got his job. Then he applied for his parents to visit us on a visiting visa. We were both wo... - Tina Shah [View Message]
RE:self centered inlaws
I agree they have completely double standards as I recently found out. I saw my husbands childhood photos when he was young. His parents claim they sacrificed everything for their kids and lived poor and behave like martyr parents. Got treated as free domestic servant. But the photos showed them dressed like Bollywood stars with watches and jewellery enjoying their life. O... - Tina [View Message]
RE:self centered inlaws
Karma has no menu. You get served what you deserve. ... - Tina [View Message]
RE:Jadu on food?
Hi , I am facing the same thing.. I married my husband and we are not only from different caste but also different country. My in-laws are so nice to me on face but I can sense the jealousy and that inferiority majorly in my mother in law and my sister in law.. I never had such doubts but I experienced pain sadness , depression while they use to be nice .. and it was confu... - Noname [View Message]
RE:Mother-in-law spoiling my child
hello kajal,
if you are rudely talking with her, then this is not way to talking with your mother in law, you tell her in polite way, your son is her grand son, so she never think about his bad effects.... - ruchita [View Message]
hello kajal,
stop your negative thinking towards your mother in law, she is your son grand mother too, so if she gave some sweet like sugar to him its just because of her love towards him.... - reshma [View Message]
hello kajal,
if you are dont like your mother in law behaviour then tell her on face, that you dont whenever she gave sugar to her son, so she may be stop giving sugar to him, and your porblem will be sort out.... - kamna [View Message]

Home | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Comments or Suggestions | Indiaparenting News Articles | Contact Us | Advertise with Us | RSS
Copyright © 1999 - 2025 India Parenting Pvt. Ltd.