• Chandigarh
  • Ahmedabad
  • Kolkata
  • Chennai
  • Coimbatore
  • Jaipur
select‌ stage

Intelligent Child Topics..

You are here : home > Intelligent Child > Schools > Poor in Studies?

Poor in Studies?

Although most parents dread to learn that their child is a bad student, many of them have to face it.

Is your child faring poorly in school? Although most parents dread to learn that their child is a bad student, many of them have to face this situation. Here's how to deal with it.
First of all, understand that your child's poor grades do are not an accurate indicator of his intelligence. Very sharp and intelligent children also can fare badly, while children of average intelligence can top the class if they are hard working and determined.
Don't compare one child with your other. Your child's performance will certainly not improve by doing so, and you will only be sowing the seeds for sibling rivalry that can last a lifetime. In addition, you will be lowering your child's self-esteem by doing so, making him believe that he is not as good as his sibling.
Which subjects does your child fare poorly in? Identify these subjects and make the effort to pay a visit to your child's teacher and find out ways to enhance your child's progress in the particular subject. Request the teacher to call on your child in class to answer questions. If he is called on often, chances are high that he will start paying more attention in class.
Often, a class project arouses a child's interest in a particular subject. The teacher should make sure that the project is on a topic which is included in the child's textbook portion. In this manner at least a portion of the portion will be taken care of!
Children also enjoy surfing the internet. Make use of the internet to arouse your child's interest in his studies by making him search for information relevant to his coursework. You will only be able to do this if you take an interest in your child's coursework and if you know what it includes. Although a lot of the information your child comes across would be outside his portion, it will no doubt help raise his interest level in the subject and will help him understand it better.
Tuitions are not the best way out, although they do help. Tina sends 9-year-old Raghav for History tuitions because she feels that at least in this manner Raghav sits down for an hour three times a week and studies history. Tina herself can never get him to do it! Younger children should preferably take tuitions only in those subjects they fare very poorly in.
Instead of spending all your time, money and effort into trying to raise your child's grades as high as possible, work at making sure your child passes, and instead identify an area in which your child has an interest or a talent. It could be anything from art to a sport. The worst thing you can do is to curtail your child's extra-curricular activity so that he pays more attention to his studies. The extra attention to his studies may mean a minimal improvement in grades, but you could be curtailing a very strong career option for your child.
Remember, if your sole concern right now is that you want your child to get into a good college, most colleges have sports quotas, which are for children who excel in a particular sport. If your child has competed at a national level in any sport, chances are that he can pretty much walk into the best of colleges in India at an undergraduate level. However, your dreams of your child becoming a doctor may have to take the back seat.

You may also be interested in:

School Interview Prep
(17043 views)
Scoring High Marks
(22433 views)
Coping with Failing
(13641 views)
School Involvement
(13027 views)
Cancel
Save Edit
parenting
Notifications
15 Comments
Sort by Newest

Puja
Puja.9 years ago
MY 7 year old child is not able to cope with the studies. he scores 1 or 2 marks out of 10. we try all our methods to make him study like make him write the spellings, learn it loud, repeat the things again and again, but all in vain. Although he is good at playing games both indoor and outdoor. kindly help, as i am being pressurized by his teachers, as he is among the below average students of his class. due to all the scoldings and pressure the development of my child is actually affecting him adversely

Vishesh Shrivstava
Vishesh Shrivstava.9 years ago
My child was a bit disinterested in math. Even after trying so many methods to get her involved, her interest did not improve. Got a good solution after consulting with her teacher at Orchids International. She asked me to teach her math using some playing techniques like counting using stones or pebbles, shapes using math sticks and many more. These do work, the trick lies in finding the right way to interest your child in the subject.

Jayshree
Jayshree.14 years ago
good tips to improve our child's grade in studies and sport activity...

mina
mina.14 years ago
really helpful,but what is the actual age to know the child's interest in particular sport or subject?if this is discussed in detail may help a lot.

stelon
stelon.14 years ago
what if the chid is hardworking but cannot concentrate on studies although he has a lot of interest but is so lazy to wordmhard how can this be overcomed. my e.mail is delicate_shweta@yahoo.com

hemnath
hemnath.14 years ago
how do i concentrate on my studies and cricket at a time.

madhus
madhus.14 years ago
how should i concentrate on studies.when i am studying my friends were distrubing in the ways they ask me to come for films&lot.pls provide me suggestions to over come this problemand to concentrateon subjects.

latha
latha.14 years ago
i am not able to study b'coz i feel very sleepy when i take my books can u sugest me to concentrate at a sress

Mona datta
Mona datta.14 years ago
my 6 yr. old son does his school work fairly well at home but doesnot write even a single word at school.according to teacher he gets distracted very easily. kindly give me some tips to improve his concentration and concentration span.

Amit
Amit.14 years ago
hi my nephew is in 4th standred from march 2007.he seems to be more and more lazy. he do not write his class work in the note book. he made every efford from punishment to love. nothing works for us. we are seriously very much disturbed. he got 87.7 in 3rd standed.other wise he si naught and have sharp mind.but when comes to write any thing, he is very poor. he writes very slowly and take hrs daily to complete his home work witht he help pf other classmate's notebook. please guide us what shld we do? what are the necessary steps we needs to take care for the same.i will be really very thank ful to you. thanks amit

load more comments
Back to Previous Page   |   More on Intelligent Child Index

Subscribe

All tips on Schools
No need to go anywhere else. No spam.

*No spam only genuine emails
Follow us on:

Featured Articles - Infertility | Baby Development | Health and Fitness | How to Get Pregnant | Parenting Advice | Weight Loss | Pregnancy Advice | Name Numerology
Baby - Baby Photo Contest | Lucky Names | Lucky Birthdates | Horoscopes | Chinese Calendar | Compatibility Test | Fun Zone
Parenting - Message Boards | Planning a Baby | Pregnancy | Parents of Babies | Baby Names | Baby Name Poll | Birth Announcements | Parenting Quiz
Family - Cooking Club | Love & Relationships | Beauty Tips | Kids Weight Calculator | Recipe Maker
General - Calorie Counter | Personality Quiz | Love Signs | Compatibility Quiz