Register | Login
Sign in with:
---------- OR ----------
Create Account | Login
Create account
As a Member You Can:
  • Join clubs to discuss your interests
  • Connect with people like you
  • Share information, seek advice, get support

in Mumbai (change city)
Select City
  • All
  • Delhi
  • New Delhi
  • Gurgaon
  • Noida
  • Mumbai
  • Pune
  • Banglore
  • Hyderabad
  • Ghaziabad
  • Chandigarh
  • Ahmedabad
  • Kolkata
  • Chennai
  • Coimbatore
  • Jaipur
select‌ stage
Indian Culture Topics..

You are here : home > Indian Culture > Indian Festivals and occassions > Nine Colours for the Nine Divine Nights of Navratri 2019

Nine Colours for the Nine Divine Nights of Navratri 2019

Navratri is here and it is the time for you to shuffle your wardrobe and find the nine best dresses which coincide with the nine lucky colours. Read on to learn about the nine colours for the nine divine nights of Navratri 2019.

Navratri is a very important festival for Hindus. This year it will begin on 29th of September and end on 8th of October. During these nine divine nights devotees pray to Goddess Durga wholeheartedly so that she protects them from all the evils. There are various aspects to worshiping Goddess Durga during the festival of Navratri. One of these aspects includes dressing-up the idol of Goddess Durga in beautiful sarees of different colours. It is the belief of the devotees of Goddess Durga that dressing-up themselves in these nine different colours during these nine days brings good luck. Let us now take a look at the nine lucky colours for the nine divine nights of Navratri 2019.

Lucky Colours for Nine Divine Nights of Navratri 2019

Here is a list of nine lucky colours for Navratri 2019 and what these colours signify.

Day 1: Orange

The first day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Shailaputri. This year the first day of Navratri begins with orange colour. Orange colour stands for warmth, determination, success and happiness. This day is also known as Pratipada.

Day 2: White 

The second day is considered to be the day of Goddess Bramhacharini. The colour that should be worn on this day this year is white. White colour stands for purity, divinity and simplicity. This day is also known as Dwitiya.

Day 3: Red

The third day of Navratri is devoted to Goddess Chandraghanta. This year the colour that is supposed to be worn is Red. Red colour signifies love, courage and success. This day is also known as Tritiya.

Day 4: Royal Blue

Royal blue colour stands for faith, goodness and reliability. This colour should be worn on the 4th day of Navratri this year. This day or the day of Chaturthi is dedicated to goddess Kushmanda. She is considered as the Goddess of health, wealth and strength.

Day 5: Yellow

Yellow colour signifies cheerfulness, energy and joy which should be worn on the 5th day of Navratri festival this year. This day is dedicated to Goddess Skandamata. This day is also known as Panchami.

Day 6: Green

On the sixth day of Navratri Goddess Katyayani is worshipped. The colour of this day is green which stands for growth and good health. This day is also known as Sashti.

Day 7: Grey

The colour of the seventh day or the day of Saptami is grey. On this day Goddess Kalaratri is worshipped.

Day 8: Purple

Goddess Mahagauri is worshipped on the eight day of Navratri. On this day purple coloured clothes should be worn. This day is also known as Ashtami. The day of Ashtami is a very important day of this festival. Havan is done on this day.

Day 9: Peacock Green

On the ninth day this year the clothes of Peacock Green colour should be worn. This day is also known as Navami and Goddess Siddhidhatri is worshipped on this day.

The nine days of Navratri are filled with very powerful and positive spiritual vibrations of Goddess Durga. So, the devotees of Goddess Durga should make use of these spiritual vibrations to destroy their sufferings and pain by worshiping her with true heart. Worshiping her is not just about praying to her and doing Puja. Enjoying every single day by following the customs and traditions that have been observed since ages and dancing to the tunes of Garba is also a form of worship. So, this Navratri, worship Goddess Durga, dance to the tunes of Dandiya and Garba and do not forget to wear the above mentioned nine colours on this auspicious occasion.

When will the festival of Navratri begin in the year 2019? Which are the nine colours for the nine days of Navratri this year? What is the significance of wearing clothes of specific nine colours during Navratri? Discuss here.

You may also be interested in:

Diwali Safety
Christmas gift ideas
Save Edit
Sort by Newest

Back to Previous Page | More on Indian Culture Index



All tips on Indian Festivals And Occassions
You ever wanted in one place.
No need to go anywhere else. No spam.

*No spam only genuine emails
Follow us on:

Featured Articles - Infertility | Baby Development | Health and Fitness | How to Get Pregnant | Parenting Advice | Weight Loss | Pregnancy Advice | Name Numerology
Baby - Baby Photo Contest | Lucky Names | Lucky Birthdates | Horoscopes | Chinese Calendar | Compatibility Test | Fun Zone
Parenting - Message Boards | Planning a Baby | Pregnancy | Parents of Babies | Baby Names | Baby Name Poll | Birth Announcements | Parenting Quiz
Family - Cooking Club | Love & Relationships | Beauty Tips | Kids Weight Calculator | Recipe Maker
General - Calorie Counter | Personality Quiz | Love Signs | Compatibility Quiz