You are here: Home > Doctors on call > FAQs > Baby Movements During Pregnancy

Baby Movements During Pregnancy
Kindly read through our Frequently Asked Questions before submitting your queries. If you still wish to ask a question to our panel of experts, click here for our premium services.
Related Articles | Related FAQs | Discussion Boards |
---|---|---|
Foetal Heartbeat & Movements | Foetal Head Growth | Foetal Growth Movements |
Sonography | Foetal Heartbeat | Medication Effect on Foetus |
Weight Gain and Baby's Development | Calculate Foetus Age | |
more... | more... | more... |
Baby Movements During Pregnancy >>>
Q: I dont get enough baby movements and this worries me a lot.
I
always feel that the pulsating movement that I get is not strong
enough. And
sometimes there are no movements at all. I am very much concerned
about this
fact. My other concern is that I am told by my friends that I don't have a
tummy of a 6month pregnant lady. Is it because I am really tall??? Am so worried. Meeta (Mexico, India) |
A: The baby does not move all the time. The baby too has sleep & waking patterns. Whenever you feel there are no fetal movements, lie down quietly in bed for about 15 min & then keep your hand on your tummy & count the number of movements that take place in 30 minutes. If it is more than 10 then your baby is quite active & healthy. Also at 24 wks, if the abdominal muscles are firm, the tummy may not show - so do not worry. |
Q: I am 4 months pregnant. How
can I identify baby movements ? When do the movements actually begin? I had a
sonography done at the end of the 3rd month and my gynec said everything is
fine. Could you please throw some light on the above question? Sanaya (Mumbai, India) |
A: Baby movements feel like the fluttering of a bird in the initial months--in primis its felt in the 5thmonth--18to 20 weeks gestation and in multies its between 16to 18weeks.initially the movements are very gentle --you may just feel a light kick or a fluttering movement |
Q: This is my first pregnancy. I'm in my 21st week of pregnancy and haven't felt the baby's movement till now. I had been for an ultrasound in the 19th week and saw the baby move and nod. It was discovered that I have a low lying placenta. I'm worried now because all the material I have read says that one must feel the baby move by week 20. Please guide me. Garima (Bangalore, India) |
A: If the sonography shows the baby is moving, then you can try lying down quietly in a dark, quiet room. Take deep breaths slowly for about 10 minutes, then put your hand on your stomach in the lower portion and close your eyes. You should be able to feel the movements. They will be slight flickers. |
Q: I am in my 19th week of pregnancy. I am also overweight. I have not felt the baby kick yet and I am concerned. By when should I be able to feel the baby kicking? Revathi (Mumbai, India) |
A: Your concern of not being able to feel the baby moving is one of the most common concerns of pregnant mothers. You should feel the baby moving sometime between week 18 and week 25. Women in their second pregnancy are able to feel the baby moving much earlier, because they are aware of how it feels. Most first–time mothers mistake a baby's movement as gas or hunger pangs. You will feel some kind of fluttering or a bump in the abdomen. |
Q: I am in the 31st week of pregnancy and can feel the movements of my baby on the left and right side of my abdomen and very rarely in the centre. Does this mean that my baby is in the horizontal position? During which week does the baby fix its head close to the cervix? Supriya (Pune, India) |
A: The position of the baby keeps changing all the time till the 36th week and then it stabilizes and gets fixed in the first pregnancy but may remain unstable until the time of delivery in the subsequent pregnancies. |
Q: I am in the 28th week of pregnancy. I still don't feel the baby's movements as often as everyone says I should. I feel slight movements once in 2 or 3 days. Is this normal? Varsha (Darien, USA) |
A: At 28 weeks of gestation the number of foetal movements is not so important. It becomes important only after 24 weeks, when you should be able to feel 10 movements in 12 hours. However, if you are very concerned I would advise you to lie down in the left lateral position for 1 hour after breakfast, lunch and dinner and then count the movements each hour. If, at the end of the day, the total is less than 10 you may approach your gynaecologist for further advise and the needful biophysical profile. |
![]() |
![]() ![]() To check our panel of doctors and experts click here.
|
![]() ![]() To check out other Faq's on various topics click here.
|
E - Shop |
Visit E-Shop Now! |
Contests |
Baby Photo Contest |