Hai! My 17months old daughter has a very bad constipaton problem and i have tried everything from prune juice ot raisins. her food intake because of constipation is very less. Please help.
Subscribe to this conversation
Reply Anonymously
Hai! My 17months old daughter has a very bad constipaton problem and i have tried everything from prune juice ot raisins. her food intake because of constipation is very less. Please help.
charu replied. hi,
my daughter 4 yrs old having regular constipation for the past 2 years. she defecates twice a week. she struggles to discharge the stools. she does not take vegetables at all. sometimes like alu and onoin . she is fed with pediasure , milk, banana juice and other energy drinks. doctors say good food habits will help to come out of the problem. could some one help me with some inputs to improve her eating habits. Otherwise she is very active.
Chhaya replied. Hi Deepa,
Wow! I typed in a whole reply to you, only to have everything wipe out coz I wasnt a member here.
My son, Shiv, went through, and still has very bad bouts of constipation. Here is what I did. Since your daughter is 17 months, I assume you give her regular milk, I give my son Lactose free milk, since lactose in milk causes constipation in some people. and anyway, milk is 1/3 solids, so extra water helps too. so, thats one thing that helps.
One thing I learnt from reading books is that whenever you give your child fiber-rich foods, you should also offer your child more water since water helps absorb the fiber.
raisins, prunes, pears, plums, potatoes, whole wheat chapatis, peas also help a lot.
good luck
Chhaya
mona replied. Most importantly, the childs water intake has to rise. Otherwise, her system will never feel relieved. Make her drink ten glasses of water everyday.
Aparna replied. Hi Deepa,
Since your baby is 17 months old, you must be giving her plain Dal and Chawal. Add a spoonful of Desi Ghee in it everytime you give her Dal-Chawal. That helps a lot. Of course water intake should also be taken care of. You can also give her leafy vegetables like Spinach, mild spicy. try it. it worked for my baby. Otherwisw constipation has very bad consequences like fisher etc. So please take good care of the baby.
sudatta replied. There is a cereal called RAISIN BRAN.It is very nutricious and very fibrous.Add hot milk to it and as your child is only 17 months when it becomes very soft you can feed her.I have found it very helpful in my sons constipation problem
Pallavi replied. My son who is 12 months old now, had this problem earlier. I started giving him massed papaya and tomato soup. This has helped him a lot. I would suggest you to start the same. I would also suggest not to give desi ghee at this age as this may damage her liver.All the best.
Swati replied. I dont think desi ghee is going to harm the childs liver- Not giving her any ghee or butter might have adverse consequences tho !
My 14 month old had a very severe case of constipation and would not eat at all and had nothing to eat for 10 days and lost a lot of weight etc. - She loves butter tho and on the 7th day of her constipation I took the decision and fed her a good amount of it -Yep I was a little scared - but hey nothing else was working! but please look at the amt you give your baby from a mothers instinct point of view! The next day in the evening she did a nice big potty! and cleared herself !and went back to her constipated state tho I dont know why..........But I supposed that such chronic constipation might take sometime to get alright! And so on the 10th day she was back to normal..........! Ofcourse lots of water does the trick but your 17 month old is too small to have 10 whole glasses. Let her have as much as she wants but it has to be you duty to offer her the water at regular intervals! I sometimes wonder myself what would work in curing a childs constipation and am stumped myself too sometimes. I have only told you my experience and this cannot be used as a cure for a childs constipation!
jayanthi replied. Dear,
I have two kids one is 4 year and the other is 1 year, I have never experienced constipation for both my kids, I think the reason is I breast feed both my kids my son till he was 2year and my daughter positively upto 2 years. I suggest you that you make your child more active in her play like both my kids always play and do lot, activities, so their health is quite good and ofcourse I give both of them lots of fresh fruits, juice and water too. I give my daughter a good body massage everyday with olive oil. You may try these ways too, hope your daughter will also get benefit and just take it easy.
jayanthi
Swati replied. I have already written how a balanced diet with even ghee and butter would help in constipation.....But the other day as I was making paneer for my daughter I realised that the whey in the paneer is also very beneficial in keeping away the constipation! Yep, I retain some of the water in the paneer while draining the paneer and mix the paneer with her food.... I figure that too much whey might cause loosies so this much would keep her constipation at bay....Try this atleast twice a week!
Deepa replied. Hello everyone,
I am overwhelmed by all your response. I am still trying to get a hold on my babies constipation problem and we are getting somewhere.
Will keep you all posted.
Anitha replied. My son is 12 months old and he has started developing some trends of constipation, of late. We are not able to find the reason because the only change in the diet , he has had is that he started eating curd. We live in Australia and so we normally buy Greek Curd, which is close to our natural curd. Could this be a reason for constipation or can anybody else suggest some other reason for this ? He takes fruit juice everyday, but there is no improvement.I also give him plenty of water to drink. Also will it happen when the climate is too cold ?
divya replied. My daughter who is 19 months grinds her teeth constantly. Do you think it is a problem?
2004-08-22
Name: charu Subject: constipation
hi,
my daughter 4 yrs old having regular constipation for the past 2 years. she defecates twice a week. she struggles to discharge the stools. she does not take vegetables at all. sometimes like alu and onoin . she is fed with pediasure , milk, banana juice and other energy drinks. doctors say good food habits will help to come out of the problem. could some one help me with some inputs to improve her eating habits. Otherwise she is very active.
2001-03-21
Name: Chhaya Subject: constipation
Hi Deepa,
Wow! I typed in a whole reply to you, only to have everything wipe out coz I wasnt a member here.
My son, Shiv, went through, and still has very bad bouts of constipation. Here is what I did. Since your daughter is 17 months, I assume you give her regular milk, I give my son Lactose free milk, since lactose in milk causes constipation in some people. and anyway, milk is 1/3 solids, so extra water helps too. so, thats one thing that helps.
One thing I learnt from reading books is that whenever you give your child fiber-rich foods, you should also offer your child more water since water helps absorb the fiber.
raisins, prunes, pears, plums, potatoes, whole wheat chapatis, peas also help a lot.
good luck
Chhaya
2001-03-25
Name: mona Subject: i think water intake has to goup
Most importantly, the childs water intake has to rise. Otherwise, her system will never feel relieved. Make her drink ten glasses of water everyday.
2001-03-27
Name: Aparna Subject: desi ghee would also help
Hi Deepa,
Since your baby is 17 months old, you must be giving her plain Dal and Chawal. Add a spoonful of Desi Ghee in it everytime you give her Dal-Chawal. That helps a lot. Of course water intake should also be taken care of. You can also give her leafy vegetables like Spinach, mild spicy. try it. it worked for my baby. Otherwisw constipation has very bad consequences like fisher etc. So please take good care of the baby.
2001-03-28
Name: sudatta Subject: contipation
There is a cereal called RAISIN BRAN.It is very nutricious and very fibrous.Add hot milk to it and as your child is only 17 months when it becomes very soft you can feed her.I have found it very helpful in my sons constipation problem
2001-04-01
Name: Pallavi Subject: Constipation
My son who is 12 months old now, had this problem earlier. I started giving him massed papaya and tomato soup. This has helped him a lot. I would suggest you to start the same. I would also suggest not to give desi ghee at this age as this may damage her liver.All the best.
2001-04-04
Name: Swati Subject: Chronic Constipation
I dont think desi ghee is going to harm the childs liver- Not giving her any ghee or butter might have adverse consequences tho !
My 14 month old had a very severe case of constipation and would not eat at all and had nothing to eat for 10 days and lost a lot of weight etc. - She loves butter tho and on the 7th day of her constipation I took the decision and fed her a good amount of it -Yep I was a little scared - but hey nothing else was working! but please look at the amt you give your baby from a mothers instinct point of view! The next day in the evening she did a nice big potty! and cleared herself !and went back to her constipated state tho I dont know why..........But I supposed that such chronic constipation might take sometime to get alright! And so on the 10th day she was back to normal..........! Ofcourse lots of water does the trick but your 17 month old is too small to have 10 whole glasses. Let her have as much as she wants but it has to be you duty to offer her the water at regular intervals! I sometimes wonder myself what would work in curing a childs constipation and am stumped myself too sometimes. I have only told you my experience and this cannot be used as a cure for a childs constipation!
2001-04-04
Name: jayanthi Subject: take it easy
Dear,
I have two kids one is 4 year and the other is 1 year, I have never experienced constipation for both my kids, I think the reason is I breast feed both my kids my son till he was 2year and my daughter positively upto 2 years. I suggest you that you make your child more active in her play like both my kids always play and do lot, activities, so their health is quite good and ofcourse I give both of them lots of fresh fruits, juice and water too. I give my daughter a good body massage everyday with olive oil. You may try these ways too, hope your daughter will also get benefit and just take it easy.
jayanthi
2001-04-08
Name: Swati Subject: Hi Again!
I have already written how a balanced diet with even ghee and butter would help in constipation.....But the other day as I was making paneer for my daughter I realised that the whey in the paneer is also very beneficial in keeping away the constipation! Yep, I retain some of the water in the paneer while draining the paneer and mix the paneer with her food.... I figure that too much whey might cause loosies so this much would keep her constipation at bay....Try this atleast twice a week!
2001-04-10
Name: Deepa Subject: Thanks
Hello everyone,
I am overwhelmed by all your response. I am still trying to get a hold on my babies constipation problem and we are getting somewhere.
Will keep you all posted.
2001-04-21
Name: Anitha Subject: Constipation
My son is 12 months old and he has started developing some trends of constipation, of late. We are not able to find the reason because the only change in the diet , he has had is that he started eating curd. We live in Australia and so we normally buy Greek Curd, which is close to our natural curd. Could this be a reason for constipation or can anybody else suggest some other reason for this ? He takes fruit juice everyday, but there is no improvement.I also give him plenty of water to drink. Also will it happen when the climate is too cold ?
2001-05-06
Name: divya Subject: teeth
My daughter who is 19 months grinds her teeth constantly. Do you think it is a problem?
2001-08-15
Name: Swati Subject: Teeth
Divya
First check out whether your daughter is teething and then check for worms - that is a real possibility!
2001-08-15
Name: Swati Subject: Teeth
Divya ,
Check for whether ur daughter is A) Teething or B) has worms! Worms is a real possibility!
All tips on Parents of Babies
& Answers to Topic : Constipation
Subscribe to this conversation!
& Answers to Topic : Constipation
Subscribe to this conversation!
If the baby enema was a small bulb of glycerin (like the American product Babylax) then yes it is safe. But so is the soap (there's nothing dangerous about it)... - Su 03 [View Message]
Is organic baby food safe for babies?
” A baby is like a seed. Shower it with love and care and it will bloom into something beautiful that is beyond your imagination.”
All parents want to give their baby the best possible start in life, and this involves lots of important decisions. What you put in your baby’s tummy might be the most important one of all. There are many reasons to choose organic b... - Chetna Soni [View Message]
RE:Homemade Baby Food
Hello,
I have found this article quite helpful in adapting to your baby's age and diet.
https://www.mfine.co/baby-food-chart/
Hope this helps you too! ... - Namita [View Message]
RE:Supplimenting ?
You can give your kids cocozhi, lemonzhi or zhi mucha for better immune power and good metabolism. ... - Dippy [View Message]
RE:Baby not feeding properly
Dear all moms, fees your kids with best cookies available in dxn stockists and cocozhi, lemonzhi or zhi mucha. Thanks... - Dippy [View Message]
RE:Urgent- baby food receipes
Feed your babies with dxn cookies and cocozhi, lemonzhi or zhi mucha.. Zhi means ganoderma also spirulina capsules. Thanks. ... - Dippy [View Message]