aarti,
your aunt and your mother in law must be experienced and are at good health with eating that old batter for over the years, i have no doubts about it.but that does not mean 7 days old batter of idli or dosa will be healthy for anyone else or for their babies.
did you ever think that what if someone ends up in hospital because of your advices like using 7 days old fermented battar.
please dont take my post as insulting. i have taken alot of advices from many people here including you in past couple of months but recently some of your posts are unbelievable.
i read somewhere you are nutrionist and if you are, i think you should be the one who should be telling us give your baby fresh food.
could you please refine your advices that explains a good logical-practical reason behind it; instead of giving suggestions to people that sound not only absurd but also have more of personal elderly reasons.
no offense, please note.i respect that you are being helpful to people over here.but,its just my observation.i hope you take it in a positive way.
Subscribe to this conversation
Reply Anonymously
aarti,
your aunt and your mother in law must be experienced and are at good health with eating that old batter for over the years, i have no doubts about it.but that does not mean 7 days old batter of idli or dosa will be healthy for anyone else or for their babies.
did you ever think that what if someone ends up in hospital because of your advices like using 7 days old fermented battar.
please dont take my post as insulting. i have taken alot of advices from many people here including you in past couple of months but recently some of your posts are unbelievable.
i read somewhere you are nutrionist and if you are, i think you should be the one who should be telling us give your baby fresh food.
could you please refine your advices that explains a good logical-practical reason behind it; instead of giving suggestions to people that sound not only absurd but also have more of personal elderly reasons.
no offense, please note.i respect that you are being helpful to people over here.but,its just my observation.i hope you take it in a positive way.
Pooja replied. Hetal, you be out of this. i want aarti to understand that women here are intelligent and people like aarti cannot try to fool them by making us follow what her ancestors are doing and then she is explaining that stomach virus comes from playmate.
and now she says its a completely differently batter and not fermented one that is to be stored.
what is she trying to do, fool us or what. are we idiots that we dont understand what she is explaining to us.
i dont mind her advicing people but i will not feel right that she is advicing based on just personal experiences and not practical or logical grounds or even medical point of view.and she is nutrionist so people like me who have some little common sense will definately expect her to advice on nutritional point of view.
aarti.just posting your lines from supu message \";As for the freshness of regular fermented dosa batter kept in the fridge, I went by the advice of my aunt who has done this in the US for twenty years. Since she was confident about the freshness (and very particular about hygeine & food quality) I trusted her. I have not found any problems so far. But I really have no idea about its quality if kept like that in India. I wonder if your friends in India who are working moms will have tips.\";
the other from your post to jaya narayan where you even tell her to add soda to batter ! hello. what are you upto.
also, check your post to jaya narayan, where you say keep the fermented batter handy in fridge. and in those posts you mentioned to keep it for 7 days.
aarti,you are talking about fermented batter to be stored in fridge and not other batter. its very much clear from your own messages.now dont try to skip that its for a completely different batter. the discussion was very much on the idli dosa batter which is understood by everyone to be fermented.
you are not accepting the fact that you are advicing something that has no validations but arguing for no reasons.no message is hard to follow; read the messages just like you answered them to me. it is not that hard to understand the way they are sequenced.
\";please read my last paragraph properly\"; is for supriya sanoj and not for you or anyone else.i think i mentioned it very clear.
i said it couple times before also, i have no offense of any one helping here & i respect everyone opinions. But, if someone is trying to fool you by explaining days old batter is handy for babies or that stomach flu is transmitted by viral from someone than please doubt it.
correct me anyone if i was wrong anywhere.
i apologize instead of regreting about my comments if by any means they were not true or did not hold any facts.
Regards.
Hetal replied. your arguements are for sure valid.
but i have only one thing to say that its nothing wrong relying on suggestions or advices that are first hand recommendations from elders,family or is passed on from generations.
secondly, it is expected by everyone to watch out for all the discomforts shown by your baby whenever you try anything new or follow someone.if you dont watch out for that nd continue the advices,even though ur baby showed discomfort, surely you might come to a situation where you will end up blaming the one who adviced you.
so please understand that.we all come here to either ask or share something that might help someone.and its not proper for you or me or anybody to comment on anyone.no one is perfect and people talk abt what they know.
we all shared our talks and it ends there.y comment and make a fuss of it.
please stop it here.
pooja replied. aarti, its not neccessary that whatever your baby felt safe is going to be same for my baby or others baby. i just read your message to supu when she mentioned that she will try your recipe on weekend & that she is not comfortable with storing batter that long. then you mentioned her the whole story that its very easy and you can make on weekdays & trying to force her to store batter as your aunt and you are doing it since years.also she has replied to that message saying clearly that aarti, you have to understand that i cannot try new foods on weekdays and she will not be allowed by her family members to try that.please read that message carefully.what does this mean, aarti. she mentioned that she will try on weekend then you dont have to force her to try the recipe before that.please read the sequence of your message and you will understand that you were trying to force her wheat dosa before weekend. correct me aarti, if i have misunderstood all the messages.
and i want to let you know that my baby also had stomach virus twice in his 1styear but my dr told me it was due to some food that wasnt fresh enough.and because of that i know stomach flu or virus are not caused by any viral infections but only food or water that enters stomach.i am not medical dr or practioner, but i definately understand what my dr tells me.i stopped my son restaurant food esp paneer dishes. now with that, he doesnt have any stomach flu.its been 9months.also i want to add that most of our friends kids were comfortable eating that same paneer dish.
how come you are saying that he got from playmate.
i very much understand the intent of your response and i dont have prob that you are advicing people. i definately agree that yours are not professional paid services, but you can not expect people here to try your recipes right away or follow whatever was healthy for your family.
and in your message you understand that other families and community might find it objectionable practise(quoting your words), then its understood that you have to write suggestions or advices that have some valid logical reasons than what is done for generations in your family.
none of us are your family and our lifestyle is different than yours.so we expect that we get advices with a good reasoning.
your reasons given everytime are more personal and not practical or logical. this time also you argued at my message with the same personal reasons.
i am telling you this again.please refine your advices.
i dont mean to insult you but i expect everyone who advices here to understand that suggesting people on personal backgrounds without a valid reasoning or a medical background might prove harmful to others.for some people the personal advices may work as they are lucky enough to have same situation that was experienced by someone out here.but forcing or running after someone and trying to convince that you got to try is no good.
supriyasanoj, thank you for the inputs. but please read my last paragraph properly.
supriyasanoj replied. Iam from US too.when i make batter i too keep it in air tight rubber maid container and it last for more than a week.my son is 2.5 years old and my daughter is 1 year old.i make them idli from that batter only.till now i dint have any problem.but my mom who is staying in chennai does not keep the batter for more than 3 days even in the refrigirator.
Aarti replied. I have sent a copy of this to both boards -
I really appreciate and thank your candid message. I have taken the liberty to attach both my messages to this post. If you carefully read them I only mentioned it as my method, never forcing it on both recipients. I merely used it to say what I have done.
I don't think or expect that people who read it will take my advice as being set in stone. There are many alternative opinions which I am glad are also suggested. But I understand the potential for people mistaking my suggestions. It is one of the unfortunate fallouts of giving suggestions.
Perfect example is the one where I mentioned idli with yogurt which has been done for three generations in my family. But other families and communities will find it a very objectionable practice.
As for liability, I don't think there is any involved since this is not a professional paid service. Although there is no legal liability I am ultimately answerable to my own conscience. I would never mention anything which I have not tried on my son. I take my role as a food provider to my son very seriously. With the exception of one occasion in which he got a stomach virus from a playmate he has not had ANY stomach issues even once, even while travelling (touch wood).
I hope you will understand the intent of my response.
Regards, Aarti
Copy of messages follow----
I am south Indian too :-) Actually, the wheat dosa is quite different in consistency from the regular ones. The addition of just a little bit rice flour is needed to make it rise from the tava. Some of these things I just blindly listen to the MIL! Just plain wheat flour will be too flimsy. But you don't need a whole lot, just a bit to give it body.
Where are you based? i live in the US and am able to keep batter in an airtight container for upto a week in the fridge. I am not sure about India.
People get gassy if the ratio of urad dhal is too much. Could you try 1:3 and see if it reduces the gassiness? Do you add soda to your batter? Sometimes that might cause gassiness. My mother and aunts first give idli with yogurt. Their belief is that it aids the digestion of idli. I wonder if that will help. a lot of these things are unfortunately trial and error depending on your little one's digestion.
Hope this helps somewhat. We'll end up writing a thesis on idli-dosa!
Aarti
===============
Hi Supriya,
If you got a chance to see the recipe, the wheat dosa is one of those instant type recipes which can be done in a few minutes. You can easily do it on a weekday. There were some evenings when my son was 2. He would be overtired/sleepy and didn't feel like having his regular meal. He would usually eat the wheat dosa without a problem. So I quickly made it as hubby and I had our dinner. I don't allow him such luxury at 3 1/2!!
It is NOT like the usual dosa batter at all. The batter is much more watery like rava dosa. Ofcourse it is not the only quick recipe and you cannot center all your son's meals around it :-) There are tons of other recipes. I understand how frustrating it must be to make healthy recipes after a long day at work.
As for the freshness of regular fermented dosa batter kept in the fridge, I went by the advice of my aunt who has done this in the US for twenty years. Since she was confident about the freshness (and very particular about hygeine & food quality) I trusted her. I have not found any problems so far. But I really have no idea about its quality if kept like that in India. I wonder if your friends in India who are working moms will have tips.
You are India based, correct? If not, then I am totally mixed up! Sorry :-)
Good luck!
2006-08-10
Name: Pooja Subject: aarti
Hetal, you be out of this. i want aarti to understand that women here are intelligent and people like aarti cannot try to fool them by making us follow what her ancestors are doing and then she is explaining that stomach virus comes from playmate.
and now she says its a completely differently batter and not fermented one that is to be stored.
what is she trying to do, fool us or what. are we idiots that we dont understand what she is explaining to us.
i dont mind her advicing people but i will not feel right that she is advicing based on just personal experiences and not practical or logical grounds or even medical point of view.and she is nutrionist so people like me who have some little common sense will definately expect her to advice on nutritional point of view.
aarti.just posting your lines from supu message \";As for the freshness of regular fermented dosa batter kept in the fridge, I went by the advice of my aunt who has done this in the US for twenty years. Since she was confident about the freshness (and very particular about hygeine & food quality) I trusted her. I have not found any problems so far. But I really have no idea about its quality if kept like that in India. I wonder if your friends in India who are working moms will have tips.\";
the other from your post to jaya narayan where you even tell her to add soda to batter ! hello. what are you upto.
also, check your post to jaya narayan, where you say keep the fermented batter handy in fridge. and in those posts you mentioned to keep it for 7 days.
aarti,you are talking about fermented batter to be stored in fridge and not other batter. its very much clear from your own messages.now dont try to skip that its for a completely different batter. the discussion was very much on the idli dosa batter which is understood by everyone to be fermented.
you are not accepting the fact that you are advicing something that has no validations but arguing for no reasons.no message is hard to follow; read the messages just like you answered them to me. it is not that hard to understand the way they are sequenced.
\";please read my last paragraph properly\"; is for supriya sanoj and not for you or anyone else.i think i mentioned it very clear.
i said it couple times before also, i have no offense of any one helping here & i respect everyone opinions. But, if someone is trying to fool you by explaining days old batter is handy for babies or that stomach flu is transmitted by viral from someone than please doubt it.
correct me anyone if i was wrong anywhere.
i apologize instead of regreting about my comments if by any means they were not true or did not hold any facts.
Regards.
2006-08-11
Name: supriyasanoj Subject: hai pooja....
I have been a member of this board for only a few months now.but for the last 4 years of marriage i usually make batter,ferment it for one night or 8 to 10 hours.add salt and mix it store it in airtight rubber maid container and store it for atleast a week.because each day i make something different for breakfast so the batter stays in the fridge.
iam doing the same thing even after my kids.till now they dint have any problem.but my mom and my mil they dont store the batter for more than 2 or 3 days.it depend on each and everyones convineance.
just stop making any more arguments about this.still now whatever tip arrti gave for me it worked.but it is not necessary that it will work for everyone.no one will make the same mistake again if it is not suitable for them.take it easy and take care.
2006-08-10
Name: Hetal Subject: pooja
your arguements are for sure valid.
but i have only one thing to say that its nothing wrong relying on suggestions or advices that are first hand recommendations from elders,family or is passed on from generations.
secondly, it is expected by everyone to watch out for all the discomforts shown by your baby whenever you try anything new or follow someone.if you dont watch out for that nd continue the advices,even though ur baby showed discomfort, surely you might come to a situation where you will end up blaming the one who adviced you.
so please understand that.we all come here to either ask or share something that might help someone.and its not proper for you or me or anybody to comment on anyone.no one is perfect and people talk abt what they know.
we all shared our talks and it ends there.y comment and make a fuss of it.
please stop it here.
2006-08-10
Name: pooja Subject: aarti
aarti, its not neccessary that whatever your baby felt safe is going to be same for my baby or others baby. i just read your message to supu when she mentioned that she will try your recipe on weekend & that she is not comfortable with storing batter that long. then you mentioned her the whole story that its very easy and you can make on weekdays & trying to force her to store batter as your aunt and you are doing it since years.also she has replied to that message saying clearly that aarti, you have to understand that i cannot try new foods on weekdays and she will not be allowed by her family members to try that.please read that message carefully.what does this mean, aarti. she mentioned that she will try on weekend then you dont have to force her to try the recipe before that.please read the sequence of your message and you will understand that you were trying to force her wheat dosa before weekend. correct me aarti, if i have misunderstood all the messages.
and i want to let you know that my baby also had stomach virus twice in his 1styear but my dr told me it was due to some food that wasnt fresh enough.and because of that i know stomach flu or virus are not caused by any viral infections but only food or water that enters stomach.i am not medical dr or practioner, but i definately understand what my dr tells me.i stopped my son restaurant food esp paneer dishes. now with that, he doesnt have any stomach flu.its been 9months.also i want to add that most of our friends kids were comfortable eating that same paneer dish.
how come you are saying that he got from playmate.
i very much understand the intent of your response and i dont have prob that you are advicing people. i definately agree that yours are not professional paid services, but you can not expect people here to try your recipes right away or follow whatever was healthy for your family.
and in your message you understand that other families and community might find it objectionable practise(quoting your words), then its understood that you have to write suggestions or advices that have some valid logical reasons than what is done for generations in your family.
none of us are your family and our lifestyle is different than yours.so we expect that we get advices with a good reasoning.
your reasons given everytime are more personal and not practical or logical. this time also you argued at my message with the same personal reasons.
i am telling you this again.please refine your advices.
i dont mean to insult you but i expect everyone who advices here to understand that suggesting people on personal backgrounds without a valid reasoning or a medical background might prove harmful to others.for some people the personal advices may work as they are lucky enough to have same situation that was experienced by someone out here.but forcing or running after someone and trying to convince that you got to try is no good.
supriyasanoj, thank you for the inputs. but please read my last paragraph properly.
2006-08-10
Name: Aarti Subject: Facts
"but forcing or running after someone and trying to convince that you got to
try is no good."
Pooja, This statement is factually incorrect. It is evident that you have not followed what I suggested to the poster by name "supu" (a Supriya but not Supriya Sanoj). What I "convinced" her (your words, not mine) to try was a completely different batter, not fermented. Also, this group of women is much too intelligent to be "forced" to do anything.
" but please read my last paragraph properly. "
I wish you would offer me the same benefit in reading ALL my messages in their entirety and proper sequence. The ordering of messages makes it very hard to follow. I regret being the cause of controversy in this wonderful group.
Regards, Aarti
2006-08-10
Name: supriyasanoj Subject: hai!
Iam from US too.when i make batter i too keep it in air tight rubber maid container and it last for more than a week.my son is 2.5 years old and my daughter is 1 year old.i make them idli from that batter only.till now i dint have any problem.but my mom who is staying in chennai does not keep the batter for more than 3 days even in the refrigirator.
2006-08-10
Name: Mommy Subject: Recipe please
Hi Supriya,
Could you please explain the way you prepare batter for idli/dosa. Where do you stay in the US. Are you able to make idli even after keeping the batter for a week. Becuase when I try idli, it comes ok for the 1st day but never turns out like idli from day 2. I want to give idli for my 2 yr old. Please explainme the recipe in detail. I don't have an idli steamer and use pressure cooker with small idli molds to prepare idli.
TIA
2006-08-09
Name: Aarti Subject: Hi Pooja
I have sent a copy of this to both boards -
I really appreciate and thank your candid message. I have taken the liberty to attach both my messages to this post. If you carefully read them I only mentioned it as my method, never forcing it on both recipients. I merely used it to say what I have done.
I don't think or expect that people who read it will take my advice as being set in stone. There are many alternative opinions which I am glad are also suggested. But I understand the potential for people mistaking my suggestions. It is one of the unfortunate fallouts of giving suggestions.
Perfect example is the one where I mentioned idli with yogurt which has been done for three generations in my family. But other families and communities will find it a very objectionable practice.
As for liability, I don't think there is any involved since this is not a professional paid service. Although there is no legal liability I am ultimately answerable to my own conscience. I would never mention anything which I have not tried on my son. I take my role as a food provider to my son very seriously. With the exception of one occasion in which he got a stomach virus from a playmate he has not had ANY stomach issues even once, even while travelling (touch wood).
I hope you will understand the intent of my response.
Regards, Aarti
Copy of messages follow----
I am south Indian too :-) Actually, the wheat dosa is quite different in consistency from the regular ones. The addition of just a little bit rice flour is needed to make it rise from the tava. Some of these things I just blindly listen to the MIL! Just plain wheat flour will be too flimsy. But you don't need a whole lot, just a bit to give it body.
Where are you based? i live in the US and am able to keep batter in an airtight container for upto a week in the fridge. I am not sure about India.
People get gassy if the ratio of urad dhal is too much. Could you try 1:3 and see if it reduces the gassiness? Do you add soda to your batter? Sometimes that might cause gassiness. My mother and aunts first give idli with yogurt. Their belief is that it aids the digestion of idli. I wonder if that will help. a lot of these things are unfortunately trial and error depending on your little one's digestion.
Hope this helps somewhat. We'll end up writing a thesis on idli-dosa!
Aarti
===============
Hi Supriya,
If you got a chance to see the recipe, the wheat dosa is one of those instant type recipes which can be done in a few minutes. You can easily do it on a weekday. There were some evenings when my son was 2. He would be overtired/sleepy and didn't feel like having his regular meal. He would usually eat the wheat dosa without a problem. So I quickly made it as hubby and I had our dinner. I don't allow him such luxury at 3 1/2!!
It is NOT like the usual dosa batter at all. The batter is much more watery like rava dosa. Ofcourse it is not the only quick recipe and you cannot center all your son's meals around it :-) There are tons of other recipes. I understand how frustrating it must be to make healthy recipes after a long day at work.
As for the freshness of regular fermented dosa batter kept in the fridge, I went by the advice of my aunt who has done this in the US for twenty years. Since she was confident about the freshness (and very particular about hygeine & food quality) I trusted her. I have not found any problems so far. But I really have no idea about its quality if kept like that in India. I wonder if your friends in India who are working moms will have tips.
You are India based, correct? If not, then I am totally mixed up! Sorry :-)
Good luck!
All tips on Parents of Babies
& Answers to Topic : aarti
Subscribe to this conversation!
& Answers to Topic : aarti
Subscribe to this conversation!
If the baby enema was a small bulb of glycerin (like the American product Babylax) then yes it is safe. But so is the soap (there's nothing dangerous about it)... - Su 03 [View Message]
Is organic baby food safe for babies?
†A baby is like a seed. Shower it with love and care and it will bloom into something beautiful that is beyond your imagination.â€
All parents want to give their baby the best possible start in life, and this involves lots of important decisions. What you put in your baby’s tummy might be the most important one of all. There are many reasons to cho... - Chetna Soni [View Message]
RE:Homemade Baby Food
Hello,
I have found this article quite helpful in adapting to your baby's age and diet.
https://www.mfine.co/baby-food-chart/
Hope this helps you too! ... - Namita [View Message]
RE:Baby not feeding properly
Dear all moms, fees your kids with best cookies available in dxn stockists and cocozhi, lemonzhi or zhi mucha. Thanks... - Dippy [View Message]
RE:Supplimenting ?
You can give your kids cocozhi, lemonzhi or zhi mucha for better immune power and good metabolism. ... - Dippy [View Message]
RE:Urgent- baby food receipes
Feed your babies with dxn cookies and cocozhi, lemonzhi or zhi mucha.. Zhi means ganoderma also spirulina capsules. Thanks. ... - Dippy [View Message]