-- Sort comments by --
Date (ascending)
Date (descending)
User Name (A->Z)
User Name (Z->A)
Name:
Swapna
India
Hi. I want suggestion from "if all were scientists". My sister's son is 5 yrs and since last 8 months he has been having seizures only attacking his left side. they are giving him oxitol and freezium. they tried steroids, IVIG and he is on ketonic diet.every test report is normal. he had just started walking and this began. he is yet to speak too. and he hardly has strengtth on his left hand and leg. he drags is left leg while tryin to walk. please help
Name:
saurabh.tiwari
India
Hi If all were scientists I have got the same problem with my sisters doughter , she is 5 year old now and she is yet to walk on her own and speak , she is having problem of CONVULSION since she was 6 month old . We have visited almost every big hospital in mumbai and rest of india but still no solution comes up and even no diagnosis, We are helpless now . If you can help us in this plz let me know my mail id is saurabhtiwari19@gmail.com and if you want us to contact you plz mail me your contact details Thanks Saurabh Tiwari
Name:
Pls help
India
Hi, My 2 yr. old child is suffering from suddenly abnormal eyeball movement after every 6 months. It looks like a Fast train going in front of him and he is trying to watch each and every coach of the train. He recover within a minute from this and start to play immediately. His EEG Report is normal. Some Local Child specialist diagnosing it as child epilepsy. Kindly suggest me to go for further because epilepsy medicines can cause side effects which can be harmful for his developing brain.
Name:
If all were scientists.
India
i am really pained to see so many small children and cute and young infants affected by fits, convulsions, seizures, in various degrees and the parents and close ones have to look helplessly and in horror, the young one undergoing the suffering moments. from the first occurerance the parents live in constant fear. i write this from my own experience. my cute and lovable and most priced possession, my grandson had the first attack at the age of 3 years. i couldn't believe what i saw. i was literally in hell. once the episode was over i thought it may not recurr. but it did at gaps of couple of months. i knew about the anti convulsant medications prescribed by doctors and the other procedures adopted by them. but having known the side effects of such medications, i was hesitant to start, because it was my grandson otherwise healthy and cute. i did'nt want him to be a victim of the side effects. i am a master of science with having done research in chemcials for long years and discovering facts, i did what i was supposed to do. i searched and reserched and found the true reason behind the seizures and found the sceintific way to treat and did and cured. he is now 7 years and i am sure is free. i am sure that this treatment would work for a good percentage of the surfferers of for all of them. if any one of the case mentioned here is still having the problem please do bring to my notice. i am happy to help.
Name:
Irfan Iqbal
India
my daughter she is 15 months old recently had convulsion due to high fever about 102. she was hospilised for 4 days . dr. advised us to give her anamol 170 & frisium 5mg b.d for 2 to 3 days whenever she has high fever. i would like to know whether convulsion or frisium 5mg tab affects the childs growth in any case mental or physical.
Name:
mehul barai
India
ihavve epilesy from 35 years, but now allready right.
Name:
fiza
India
we call this disease with many names, convulsions, epilesy, fits, and so on. my mother suffers from this since i was born. past 20 years she is on gardinal. she gets the attack due to hypertension. my younger brother too had it in his childhood. he is normal now. my sis's baby has it now, he is 3 years now. he gets it when he has high fever, so we bring down his fever putting wet cloth on his forehead. he wa taken to a doc, he said its due to weakness, he is on calcium, vitamins and minerals tonic and doing wonderful now. god bless
Name:
Kamal
Nepal
my son is now three yrs old. he has first time convulsion when he was 6 month old. we were helpless at the moment. it was the first worst situation for us and my wife nearly fainted. my son fainted for the first time with fever 102 and everyone at home start crying. it was terrible situation which i dont want to remember. we suddenly took him to the doctor and he was cured. after three month again same thing happen. when we consulted with docters, they said it might be genetic or he has less immunity power to resist high fever. after three yrs also the same thing happen. please advise me if this kind of convulsion creat side effect in his brain. does this creat problem in his groth also??
Name:
twinkle
India
my daughter started having seisours from the 2nd day of birth till 4 mnts . now she is 10 mnts old n now she has conv.only when having fever but her growth is not upto the milestone.will someone please tell me what to do?
Name:
venkatesh iyer
India
very educative and useful for parents.
Name:
yella reddy
India
it is nice but response from doctors very poor .they must react fist,my child got four time convlsions since 5 years ,doctors recmd oxitol 300 mg.3 time and levipil 500mg 2 times ,i think this more powerful dose
Name:
yella reddy
India
it is nice but response from doctors very poor .they must react fist,my child got four time convlsions since 5 years ,doctors recmd oxitol 300 mg.3 time and levipil 500mg 2 times ,i think this more powerful dose
Name:
BULTI
India
my wife is 4 months pregnant and in the last week she has suffered 5 seizure attacks. doctor has given her gardinal tablets. she feels very drowsy and likes to sleep all the time. kindly tell me is this disease curable and what are the adverse effects of this medicine.
Name:
whatsinaname
U.S.A.
i had a case of severe seizures when i was 16. all the tests (including cat scans) were normal but the doctor put me on gardinal which continued for 5 years. i had no more episodes and the doctor advised me to stop taking them. i have experienced no side effects whatsoever. there were no effects on my behavior or memory/concentration etc. i have had a very good academic career (i was top of my class several times when i was taking gardinal, i did well in all the competitive exams and the drug never affected my performance). i am not disputing the experience of others here. i think a lot of how and what you feel depends a lot on what you believe and you can always find something to blame.
Name:
ankita daniels
India
convulsions run in my blood my mother and my aunts suffered frm convulsions, one of my aunt had them till 13 years of age. myself and my brothr suffrd from it as well. my brother till 5 and i had them till 9 year of age. now my elder son has them. he got his first attack a few days after his first birthday, and then again when was 2 1/2 he is presently on valparin 200 solution. i am not sure though if it is correct to give him this, because the dr. in delhi go against it but the one's in chennai hav prescribed it.
Name:
t.rajendran
India
i shall thank you to know what for the tablet hardinal is prescribed-is it only a sleeoing dose or something more than that
Name:
Sandeep Barar
India
i have 3 and half years old very lovely and cute daughter name teesha.she was all right till the 5 months of age but after that she suffered from a very cruel disease seizures or convulsion. when i see her during seizures, i am totally helpless because i can not do any thing except to watch her jerking body. i always ask to god what she did so bad that she is getting this punishment. i have taken her to the most specialized doctors, hospitals in india, but they are hopeless. they don’t know any thing. they are still not able to control her seizures. as per her age she should be in school but she has lost her mental power too. she can not speak very much except papa and mummy. right now she is taking gardenal tablets but that is also resultless. can any body guide me in such a direction ot tretment so taht i can try to get her well. i wish to god to make her well soon.
Name:
Sandeep Barar
India
i have 3 and half years old very lovely and cute daughter name teesha.she was all right till the 5 months of age but after that she suffered from a very cruel disease seizures or convulsion. when i see her during seizures, i am totally helpless because i can not do any thing except to watch her jerking body. i always ask to god what she did so bad that she is getting this punishment. i have taken her to the most specialized doctors, hospitals in india, but they are hopeless. they don’t know any thing. they are still not able to control her seizures. as per her age she should be in school but she has lost her mental power too. she can not speak very much except papa and mummy. right now she is taking gardenal tablets but that is also resultless. can any body guide me in such a direction ot tretment so taht i can try to get her well. i wish to god to make her well soon.
Name:
neena
India
is there anyone who can tell me if gardinal with other trade name in other countries? coz i wanted to chek on it side effetc???
Name:
neena
Australia
i was very young when i had convulsions with sudden fevers it occured. i took the gardinal tabs for 5-6 yrs. the side effects were sedation.but it did not affected my studies whereas i m facing problems of developing laziness coz i had been takin the meds and i used to sleep more than normal and no one fromn my family wud expected me to be active since my mum knew that it can cause sedation. and then it became my habbit even after ceasing meds.i was so skinny before. but due to lazy lifestyle that i got from those meds made me fat &put on weight and also lazy.
Name:
vidya
India
after effects of gardinel
Name:
worried mom
U.S.A.
my daughter is 18 months old. she has always been a healthy baby but for the last two months she has made us the most worried parents in this world. she had convulsion (in medical term "feboreol sezure)." she had one in march and second in april. both the time she was running temperature. when first time it happened she was having 104ff na dsecond time 99.4f. we have done her eeg test which is normal and doctor says it happened because she was running temperature. i a still concernec about her health and want to know if anyone of you had the same problem ever.i need your avice and help on this matter. thanks, worried mom
Name:
vidyavenkat
India
my son had four episodes ofconvultion when he was four days old.our doctor suggested for gardinal1.5mg to be given for 8 months but after his monthly checkups the doctor advised us to stop gardinal.v stoped it then in 7th month all of a sudden he started uprolling his eyes and we immediately took him to the hospital we got his eeg done and everything came normal and the doctor asked us to continue gardinal4mg twise a day. withthat he was drowsy all the day and was not doing thing like(rooling over, lifting his neck, crawling) other children of his age would do.we goat his ctscan and eeg done in 8th month and everthing is normal.the doctor stopped gardinal and started with valparing 2.5mg twice a day. now the problem is he is sleeping in day time and awake in nights. and his activities haas not improved. we are really worried about his growth.can u suggget us and help us regarding this.
Name:
Vijay
india
my daughter had epilepsy , when she was only 4 days old. she was on gardinal as well as valparine does for a period of around 6 years and gradually the medicince was withdrawn as per advice of doctor. subsequently she had a small attack when she was around 9 years and since then she has been taking lamitec 150 mg * 2 on daily basis . she is now 15 years. want to understand the side effects of these madicine and whether there are permanent cure from the same .
Name:
rajesh
india
is there any side affects of gardinal
Name:
chantele
india
i am 18 yrs old.i had convulsions about ten yrs ago and was treated will gardenal for 3 yrs. my medication was discontinued after that since i didnt have an attack after that. i never thought the medication affected me but since a few yrs ago ive been suffering from similar effects like mazen n siv
Name:
marian
philippines
my daugther have convulsion even on her younger years from 2 years old and she have convulsion with fever when she was 7 years old. now we have hospitalilized because she have fever and have convulsion again and she was 10 years old now. the doctor give her diazepam and she was diagnosed with dengue. was it a fatal deasease??? i dont have much knowdlege about this. please help me!!!
Name:
usha
india
my daughter had a convulsion in her age of 4.she had 2-3 pieces of raw mango. we have a doubt whether it may be due to those mango pieces.because after having mango pieces,she vommitted and after half an hour she had the problem.but our neurologist is telling it may not be so. she became normal after 40 minutes.now she is 6 years old.she didnt have have the problem again.we gave her frisium-5 tablet for one year.can anyone suggest the reason for her convulsion?she didnt have fever that time.
Name:
Mayur S Bumb
india
my 10 months old son had fever convulsion at 100 temp. is it fatal what is the risk that he will have the same again.what care needs to be taken & how long
Name:
Mazen
usa
hello. i guess i share 100% view about gardenal with siv, his message above as if talking about myself. i guess the drug also affected my teenage life, and i guess i am seeing effects now like loss of memory and concentration, and general continuous tiredness, and the need to sleep all the time, i mean all the time. for some reason, also the ability to remember certain words in english, which is not my native tongue. siv if you ever read this message plz reply to me, or any other member here, who reads my message, please reply to me to: mazen_sidani @hotmail.com. do you know the supplying company of gardenal? thanks and take care. mazen
Name:
K.C.Haritha
india
since last three years i am taking the medicines from dr. r k gupta in rishikesh.iam benefitted a lot icompleted my post graduation in biotechnology and now iam persuing still higher studies i never had any any problem even iam having a one year old son .but unfortunately the clinic has been closed so the govt wich has closed the clinic has to show treatment to me.dont suggest allopapthy medicine because i have already used them and i was not benefited by that.contact e.mail address:-harith ayadav_k@yahoo .co.in
Name:
utpal chakraborty
india
at present my son is 9 yrs. old. he is also a patient of epilepsy. he is now under treatment of dr. r k gupta in rishikesh. listening to the any type of sudden sound effect his seizure is caused. at present his seizure is stopped to take the medicine of dr. gupta. but unfortunately dr. gupta will not send the medicine from rishikesh due to his personal problem. please give me suggestion whether i can give the patient gardinal 30 mg. for his seizure. e-mail no. utpal_chak ra@yahoo.co.in
Name:
mukesh
india
my child is prone to convulsions in high fever. she had it thrice during the span of 2and half years. she is being administered gardinal (30 mg) every night for the past one year and to be continued for the next one more year. can someone tell me if this tablet could have any side effects vis-a-vis weight
Name:
xyz
india
can anyone tell me if there is any side effects of gardinal?
Name:
P S
india
i took gardinal as a child for about 5-7 years. i am now 27 years old.i have not had any problems and am normal.
Name:
siv
usa
i was about six years old when i had a high fever followed by severe convultions and they treated me with gardinal for 5 years, i never got any convulsions after that, however, i feel that the drug had afected my behavior as a teenager and now i am 26 and still i am able to feel that. is there any scientific documentations that support such a view? i would appreciate your response. thank s
Name:
jaspal singh
england
it is very good article but very difficult for parents to remember what do in the time of emergency.are some children more prone to convulsion than the others?
Name:
anitha
india
it is really very useful article. even educated parents does know when it happens for first time.
Name:
Beena
india
my child is prone to convulsions in high fever. she had it thrice during the span of 2and half years. she is being administered gardinal (30 mg) every night for the past one year and to be continued for the next one more year. can someone tell me if this tablet could have any side effects vis-a-vis weight
Name:
Convulsion
india
what are the side effects after taking gardinel tablets when a child gets convulsion. does it effect the brain.does the child tend to forget things etc.
Name:
as
india
how long sould the medication be continued?
Name:
reena kabra
india
my son who is 7 mnts old recently had a convulsion due to high fever.his temp was 101 when the convulsion took place.we paniced and took him to the nearest nursing home. he was hospitilised for 4 days. the doctor asked us to take care of his fever in future. he advised us to give him a dose of compose(oral or rectal)with ponstan whenever he has a fever. i would just like to know wheter convulsions affects the child's growth in any case mental or physical.
Name:
lakshmi taparia
india
my son suffered from this convulsion twice in between the age of 8 to 13 months and what the doctors reading was the child should never have a fever more than 101 degees f.once it starts rising above it ,the child may not be able to tolerate and this becomes one reason for happenig of convulsion &in second case without any prior symptom this occurs & the child develops very high fever after it.my son had the seciond type of case and doctor's standard instruction was to keep a check on his fever for which he ordered me to constantly put water on his chest & abdominal area as long as the fever did not come down and this idea has been a blessing because infants & small children generally doesn't allow us to touch their forehead with wet tissues to bring down the high fever.
Name:
RP Nair
india
since last two years, my son is being administered daily a tablet called "gardinal" 30 mg - half in the morning & one at night. prolonged administration of this has any adverse affect on the mental health of the child? can anybody advise on this?
Name:
Shankar
india
can you include information regarding such convulsions in new born babies,the probable cause and the available expert treatment in india and abroad. will the baby lack in mental or physical developement
Name:
Hiral B. Shah
india
this article is very informative. it should be also include that how convelsion fits are differ from psychogenic (hysterical) fits.thanks a lot.
Name:
Jaspal Singh
india
it is a very good article, but very diffcult for parents to remember what to do in the time of emergency. are some children more prone to convulsions than others?
Please login to post your comment
play
SUBSCRIBE TO NEWSLETTER
Subscribe