You are here: Home > Message Boards > Expecting Parents >  Due Date Club December 2006 >Archie: shooting pain in calves

Due Date Club December 2006:Archie: shooting pain in calves
2006-08-07
Name: poochy

Hi Archie,

Last week in the morning while i was sleeping i had a shooting pain in my right calf, my husband rubbed it and it got fine but i had little pain in the leg throughout the day. Then it got fine. Today again i had this shooting pain in the morning in the other leg, and rubbing it made it better but i still feel the pain and have little difficulty walking. I felt something like nerves climbing on each other. Is it something to worry about??
please help
Thanks a ton
Poochy

2006-08-10
Anonymous Name: poochy
Subject:  Thanks

Hey Archie, hopingfortejas, blessed_mom, sumita, manu, console

Thanks for all your suggestions... I'm so relieved to know its normal.

take care all,
poochy

2006-08-09
Anonymous Name: console
Subject:  hai!

This worked for me.when you get muscle cramp.just point your toe towards you.the pain will go off.never stretch your legs or point your toe away from you,this will make the cramp worse.

2006-08-08
Anonymous Name: blessed_mom

Hello Poochy,

I also get that sharp pain. I also feel that it is a nerve getting on top of another nerve. I can understand the pain..it is is unbearable for a minute. Rubbing is the only solution which works for me too. I sometimes do used to get this sort of nerve pain in the leg even when I am not pregnant. I think this is normal.

Regards,
blessed_mom

2006-08-08
Anonymous Name: archie
Subject:  comments

leg cramps are absolutely normal.
try to get a mild massage with oil and warm shower prior to bed. will help improve blood circulation.
also get the calcium and potassium supplements. These are sometime due to depleted amounts of Ca and K. Eat a banana once per day and include dairy products, eggs for calcium source.
archie

2006-08-08
Anonymous Name: manu
Subject:  same here!!!

hi...
same pain i m also having...and my mom suggested me to do massage...its normal...so..
well now expacts Archie's reply...

thanks..

2006-08-07
Anonymous Name: Sumita
Subject:  Hey Guys....

I am Sumita from the Sept board, and these leg cramps are normal. I had them when I was expecting my son, and get them now too. It usually happens when you stretch or flex ur muscles at night or when u get up in the morning.
Unfortunately, do not know of any prevention. If you get them when u stretch in the morning, then try and not stretching with toes pointing away from you. Sit up in bed nad then stretch ur legs.
Rubbing will make u feel better though.
Take care
S

2006-08-07
Anonymous Name: hopingfortejas
Subject:  hi poochy ..

hey ,

even i have had that shhoting nerve pain , it attacks me mostly when i am sleeping , i asked my mom and she said it is not something to worry about ...

Archie , can you tell us why we get that now ??
-P

Archie: shooting pain in calves

RE:Sitting position in two wheeler.
Hi Arian, stop travelling in two wheeler please. You are giving trouble to the baby please understand and stop it right away. It will give you and the baby alot of trouble. I dont know why doctors are not informing this.... - Avni [View Message]
Hi Arian,
During pregnancy you must not take chances because it may effect the baby so try to avoid all those.... - Rishil [View Message]
Hi Arian,
During pregnancy you must be very careful because for no reasons miscarriage would take place.Be secure in all places and mostly walk slowly also. ... - Aarti [View Message]
Hi Mv Arian,
I think it would be better you would take long leave from your office because at this stage you must not face any crisis which would you put in problem only.... - Pandey [View Message]
Hi Arian,
You just sit how do you feel comfortable.Because ultimately you have to feel secure and safe.So sit accordingly to your comfortness only.... - Pearl [View Message]
Hi Person,
Why do you take risk in last stages.Is it required for you.Youc an travel in local tramps or buses if available.If not you can travel by auto rickshaw.So do not take any risk.... - Fareed [View Message]
Hi Arain,
Such type of suggestions must be taken from experienced people or from doctors.Because they will know about all these and they will help you to sort out this problem also. ... - Gang [View Message]