You are here: Home > Message Boards > Expecting Parents >  Due Date Club July 2005 >Anushka's update

Due Date Club July 2005:Anushka's update
2006-10-24
Name: Sheetal

I got late for her 15th month appt but nevertheless, as expected, weight wise, she is just 21 and 1/2 lbs, 40th percentile. Height - 31 and 1/4 inch, again 40th percentile. She got her flu shots and 15th month shots. She has go again next month for a second flu shot.

As she is not saying a single word, the doctor wants me to call up the speech therapist and work with it. I am skeptical abt it. I mite try waiting a bit more before i resort to these measures. What do u think?

Where is everyone else? Is this board hibernating? Or are the toddies (babies plus toddlers, as i like to call them) keeping the moms too busy?

Regds,
Sheetal

2006-10-26
Anonymous Name: Sudha
Subject:  Shouldnot worry

Hi Sheetal,

I personally feel wait for some more time. Even my son doesn't talk except Amma, Papa abd Bua and that to not always. He is about to complete 16th month and I have noticed him in last 2-3 days he started pronouncing '...ti' out of 'Roti', 'B.' out of \" Bye\" .

As Anu is only 15 month old now, feel she will also start, anyway she is singing along with song.

Don't worry for another 2-3months.

Regards,
Sudha

2006-10-25
Anonymous Name: Hetal

sheetal, try kindermusik,i too have heard the same reviews about the teachers helping with language development..

you can also try other kidsclubs,moms club in your area. we have dallasareamoms dot com,,you can look for one in your place,,by asking in the forums of local desi website...

and if at all your dr is telling you to see a therapist,,its worth giving a try.may be if nothing, you will get some tips there,,they give some handouts/cds/dvds/books and such ideas,, generally in the first sessions and you can get an idea about how to teach anu about talking and all...your speech therapist will see what all anu babbles and she will give you idea accordingly..and it will be a great start..

a close friend of mine, she took only one visit and thn she never felt the need. she knew what to do then onwards,,so see if that helps you...her son is now around 20months and has learned all the words around him,..i think its been 3months when she hd visited the therapist.i rem her talking about therapist visit during nirja bday.

also, like i said before,,worth a wait until 18months, with lots of exposure to language, more kids and lots of people around...kids learn more from kids i believe thn they learn from us...

take care, lots of love to anu.
bye bye.

2006-10-25
Anonymous Name: Hetal

sheetal, try kindermusik,i too have heard the same reviews about the teachers helping with language development..

you can also try other kidsclubs,moms club in your area. we have dallasmoms dot com,,you can look for one in your place,,by asking in the forums of local desi website...

and if at all your dr is telling you to see a therapist,,its worth giving a try.may be if nothing, you will get some tips there,,they give some handouts/cds/dvds/books and such ideas,, generally in the first sessions and you can get an idea about how to teach anu about talking and all...your speech therapist will see what all anu babbles and she will give you idea accordingly..and it will be a great start..

a close friend of mine, she took only one visit and thn she never felt the need. she knew what to do then onwards,,so see if that helps you...her son is now around 20months and has learned all the words around him,..i think its been 3months when she hd visited the therapist.i rem her talking about therapist visit during nirja bday.

also, like i said before,,worth a wait until 18months, with lots of exposure to language, more kids and lots of people around...kids learn more from kids i believe thn they learn from us...

take care, lots of love to anu.
bye bye.

2006-10-25
Anonymous Name: Anitha

Hi Sheetal,
Thanks for update on anu ( I love to call her that way..hope u dont mind )..

My opinion on Anus speech, Ill ask u to wait till 18 months.. Even the great scientist einstein didnt talk till 3yrs.. so you dont have to worry... anu will be reallybrilliant.. This phase she would be observing more.
Instead of taking her to speech therapy, why dont u google on what the therapists do? what activites they include ?and u might wanna practise on your own with anu

Hugs n kisses to anu..
Take Care
Anitha

2006-10-24
Anonymous Name: Bhairavi

Hi Sheetal,
How r u? Nice to hear Anushka's update.. Indeed kids really grow fast..:) I was wondering whether to give Nikku her flu shots or not, since she doesnt go to day care. Anyways, I am still thinking on it..

About Anushka's speech, what all does she blabber.. does she say mama, dada etc.. or vowels, alphabets and all.. Personally, I am bit skeptical abt speech therapist. She is only 15 months old now, and maybe u can wait till she is like 18 months. Also, since she has recently started walking, its quite possible that she is not much interested in learning to talk right now. I have known kids who didnt speak clearly till 2 years, and later in their life turned out to be really intelligent.. So I personally dont think its anything to worry abt. What is important is that she understands you. But again its my personal opinion..:) Are you planning to visit India.. I have seen couple of my friends kids who didnt even used to blabber before, but as soon as they went to India, or had their grandparents visit here, they started talking. Arti's idea of kindermusik class also looks good.

PS: Arti, do you know how much this kindermusik class costs.. Can you tell me if you know that..

chalo bye for now,
take care,
Bhairavi.

2006-10-24
Anonymous Name: Arti
Subject:  Nice to know Anushkas update

Hi Sheetal.
Thanks for sharing Anushka's update. About the speech therapist is concerned, there is no harm in talking to one if your insurance covers it, if you have doubts then talk to her doc again and ask if its ok to wait rather than seeing one right away.

Also have you heard of kindermusic? I have heard lots of story of the teachers helping with language development through music at this place. They also offer free preview sessions which are worth to try and can enroll if your budget permits. Infact I would have enrolled Arjun this fall session if we would not be going to India for over a month this winter.

Also do not worry. One little boy I know of didn't speak at all until he was close to 2 as his mother doesn't talk much, she is a stay at home mom with a very small social circle.

2006-10-24
Anonymous Name: Priya

Hi
A speech therapist maybe a bgood idea someone you can work with and will help anushka with her development. To make you feel better i know a boy who had speech delay for 3 years everyone suspected autism the parents got alll treatments and turned out that he just had a speech delay thats all but the parents did find the speech treatment good and helped him talk quicker
Priya

2006-10-24
Anonymous Name: Sheetal

Hi Arti n Priya,

I dont know if i shld call the therapist now or wait. Though the doc said i mite an appt after a month coz they r quite busy. When i talk to mom back home, they all say, its fine, some babies are just late.

Thnks arti, i'll enquire abt kindermusik in my area. Though when she hears her fav song on Ganesh cartoon, she sings along.

Rgds,
Sheetal

Anushka's update

Baby Mosaic Tiles
I need baby mosaic tiles for my baby bathroom. styleon has proposed to supply me. Any reviews on baby mosaic tiles?

Plz provide review... - Sanjay Jagtap [View Message]
Trying 2 Conceive
Hi to all...

I am from gujarat. I am eagerly waiting for a baby boy. We have already started a try. This time we want to have a boy. Can anyone suggest me the ways through which i conceive a baby boy? I have heard a lot about Dr. Shettles method. Unfortunately, i can' t find his book in gujarat. Do any of you have the book??? Or suggest some other techniques p... - K Patel [View Message]
Breast pumps
I am using a medela pump to feed my baby when I am out. The medela breast pumps are really a good choice for the working moms. We can pump the milk regularly and can store it and use whenever needed.... - dalewhither [View Message]
evenflo elan breast pump
Buy this pump! It’s made my life so much easier. I always got sore with my old Medela Advanced, but that never happens with the Ameda Purely Yours Breast Pump. What really makes a difference is its ease of use. It’s really easy to switch between pumping phases and take apart to clean. Strongly recommend it for all mothers that pump daily.... - stellatylor [View Message]
hi
HI Gayathri,

I used the puzzles, the wooden blocks for alphabets and numbers.... - Sheetal [View Message]
try this
As we discussed earlier in this forum I used magnetic alphabets , through which he has learnt alphabets within a week. And number within 4 days.
It is as like take the letter and stick to it where ever he goes more and ask him to search a particular letter. this worked very well for me.
all the best... - Manju [View Message]
Hi Friends
Hi all ,

I have a 16 months old baby boy , i need some tips as how shud i teach him alphabets and numbers at this age .. My son is very very active , so it is very hard for me to teach him , so i need some tips from all of u ...
pls advice

Thanking in advance

Regards ,
Gayathri ... - Gayathri [View Message]