You are here: Home > Message Boards > Planning a Baby >  Unexplained Infertility >An unusual situation

Unexplained Infertility:An unusual situation
2008-05-19
Name: Vaylan

Hello All

This is our first visit to this board. My wife and I are in an unusual situation :

After a long struggle with infertility, God blessed us with twins. They were born through IVF. As part of the IVF, we have ten more healthy embryos that are cryogenically preserved.

As I look at my infant son and daughter, my thoughts keep going to the ten others that are sitting in a lab.

I would like to bring them into this world and find loving families for all of them. I am just wondering how to do that. I do not think we can bring up ten ( plus 2 !) children.

We live in the US. Please write with ideas as to what can be done. Kindly do not say \" donate the embryos to medical research\" - they are our children.

2017-02-24
Anonymous Name: Ineul1983
Subject:  RE:An unusual situation

Hello! Congratulations on your twins! I could advise you to take 3 more embyos for anothe IVF, and the rest you could donate.

2011-04-09
Anonymous Name: Penny
Subject:  Need Donor eggs

Hello. Am soo very happy 4u. I had two miscarriages and a failed donor ivf.
I do not know if u still read this site .if you do please contact me as we are looking for north indian egg donor very urgentely. My email: varsha_chughani 0 yahoo

2008-06-03
Anonymous Name: shobha
Subject:  Thanks Vaylan

Hi Vaylan
Thanks for your reply. I am glad that things did work out for you. Let' s see what future holds for me.
take care
shobha

2008-05-29
Anonymous Name: shobha
Subject:  Hi Vaylan

Hi there
Do you mind telling the age of your wife? I think ivf success has lot to do with age. I am planning to get it done soon. Also can you tell the name of that fertility temple? can u contact that temple being in USA or do u need to go to india.
thanks, shobha

2008-05-31
Anonymous Name: Vaylan

Shobha -

My wife is in her early thirties. The name of the temple is Garbharakshambika temple in Tanjore Dist. You can look it up on the Net.

Regarding whether you have to go to India or contact from US - I suppose this depends on your personal preference. In my opinion visiting the temple is a powerful experience , however there is a procedure for people to get pooja done on their behalf and get the prasad sent to them. ( do Internet search and info can be found in the first few links )

2008-05-28
Anonymous Name: RP
Subject:  Congratulations

Congratulations on your twins ! I woud definitely donate the healthy embryos anonymously to childless couples who don' t even have IVF working in their favour. Being an IVF patient myself and still waiting for it to work, I met so many who didn' t have luck after 4-5 IVF' s. The embryos were just not good enough quality. All the best.

2008-05-27
Anonymous Name: sunitha
Subject:  ivf

hai vylan congrats on ur twins i also live in US and considering ivf can u tell which centre u have been to had what were the cost it would be very helpful fr ur planning...

2008-05-24
Anonymous Name: Rupinder
Subject:  Looking for best IVF clinic

Dear Vaylan,
Congratulations on your twins. I have had 2 failed IVF' s even though my embryo' s were of good quality and size. Now I am looking for a very good IVF hospital. Could you please tell me where you got your IVF done from, it' s site address.
Looking forward to your early reply.

2008-05-28
Subject:  Hi Rupinder and Sunitha and others

I got several emails asking for same details.Here are the details - I included everything I could think of

1. IVF was done at Northern Fertility in Philadelphia. Dr. Friedman is an expert at this and has been featured in Discovery Health etc

2. I understand that the cost is around $12500 (thank God insurance covered it) Had to pay for all the meds though.

3. Guys I don´ t know what meds you took etc but I´ ve heard most people are successfull with Menopur, of course with Lupron for control. You should also be taking injections of progesterone oil after implantations

4. I think Dr.Friedman´ s strong point is his personal care and his familiarity with the latest medicines.Plus he is a great surgeon and has done more than 5000 laparoscopic procedures.

5. Finally, it might help to do a laparoscopy to see if there are hidden factors like endometriosis, septate uterus, cysts etc etc these are not visible with ultrasound.

6. Last but not least my wife got a huge psychological boost by going to a special " fertility" temple in Tanjore Dist. As all of us know by now the psychological challenge in infertility is as big as the physical challenge.

Good luck to everyone, hope God has bestowed parenthood on all.

2008-05-23
Anonymous Name: aastha
Subject:  hi vaylan

iam aastha,hey vaylan congragulations for the twins & really u r luckiest person.iam married since 5yrs,& planning for a baby since 3 & a half yrs,but nothing is working out.i had an ivf with donor eggs but failed.we are trying for a baby very desperatly.
we stay in India,we are arranging money for the second cycle since 3months.
i wanted to know where do you stay & what is your idea about donating embryos to the couple like us.
waiting for ur reply
thank you

2008-05-24

Hi Aastha

We would be glad to donate the embryos to couples like you.

We live in US, the embryos are stored in US facility. Please find out if some arrangements can be made to transport the embryos to india and we will be glad to proceed.

2008-05-22
Anonymous Name: tobeus
Subject:  Hello!

Hi Vaylan,
Congratulations on your babies.
Some questions for you:
1. Where did you get the IVF done? India or in the US?
2. What does cryogenically preserved mean?

2008-05-24
Subject:  Re:

1. IVF was done in US. Doctor is an expert in this field.

2. Cryogenically preserved means that they are stored in liquid nitrogen at a very cold temperature to preserve the embryo.

Good luck

2008-05-20
Anonymous Name: Dd
Subject:  GOOD

Hi Vaylan,
Congratulations
Good to know that you are thinking for others.

You can find one such person named Leena, who had posted messageid=1108&table_name=dis_unexpinfertility

You can go thru previous messages when ever you find time. People in this kind of situations get depressed & so sometimes stop visiting the site so may not see your message. but they do wonder here sometime & will get in touch with you.

2008-05-21
Subject:  Thanks

Thanks DD - I will post in that thread and see if someone wants to discuss further.

I appreciate your kind words and wish you good luck in your quest.

2008-05-19
Anonymous Name: anu
Subject:  unsual question which has a answer n it itself

hey let me tell u congrats 1st 4 the twins thn regarding to the embroyos let them be save wh they r n whn time comes if u feel like having anothe one use it or give thm to people who eally want a baby they will look after them more dearly n u will be happy n be blessed 4 it !!!!!

only few blessed u r one of them

anu

2008-05-20
Subject:  Thanks!

Thanks Anu for your kind wishes.

Pages >>  1 

An unusual situation

RE:IVF via Donor Sperm
Hi i am North indian guy aged 32yr and 5.11 tall. I have 2 kids and coming to chennai in the month of May. Would you like a hygienic guy for sperm donor then let me know or contact me ... - M Sharma [View Message]
RE:good ivf clinics for nri´ s
Did u have any luck geeting a good clinic. I live overseas and looking for a good center to do treatment with donor eggs. Share your experience ... - Rita [View Message]
RE:Regarding Egg Donor
Hello, We are in the same boat. Please share your experience. We are currently looking for a IVF center with egg donor around Mumbai or south india.... - Rita [View Message]
IVF centers in Mumbai/Bangalore area
Hello, Im a Mumbaikar, now living overseas. Looking desperately for a good IVF center in Mumbai or Bangalore/kerala with donor egg facility. After several failed attempts we decided to go for a donor egg treatment. Please help with your success experience or bad experience. ... - Rita Nair [View Message]
RE:RE:Need egg donor in india ASAP
We are in the same situation. looking for a IVF center with egg donor choice in Mumbai/Bangalore area. Please share your suggestions/experience... - Rita [View Message]
IVF via Donor Sperm
Hi, we are planning for ivf via donor sperm as we have genetic history wherein my daughter is ASD and mine own brother is ADHD hence genetic counselor said there is risk of 15-20 percent of child being autistic if we use our own gamet. If male child is born the ​risk is higher than a girl child.

Hence we thought to go for donor sperm. But there is still... - SS [View Message]
RE:RE:Regarding Egg Donor
Share more details... - Huss [View Message]