You are here: Home > Message Boards > Beauty & Grooming >  Make - Up >really need help!!!!!

Beauty & Grooming  Discussion Forum

Make - Up:really need help!!!!!
2006-07-10
Name: abc

hi, i am getting married soon, i am 26 years old and i only putted make up once and that was for my prom and i got it done from salon. can someone give some tips how to put on make up on. i practice everyday but i am not good at it. i don't know how to put a eyeliner on. PLEZ HELP ME!

2006-09-21
Anonymous Name: sunidhi
Subject:  very helpful !!!!

Wow Nikki, I sure hope abc had a wonderful wedding and your elaborate illustration helped her. It sure did help me in a lot of ways. I was confused about choise of foundation, proper steps, concealors etc. I did try reading and experimenting, but didn't help much. Now will try some of these, hope they'll help.

2006-07-16
Anonymous Name: Nikki
Subject:  how to put on makeup....

I used to do makeovers for weddings, so I know what to look for and what to do. Firstly, take care of your skin. Use a gentle soap on your face that won't overdry your skin but won't leave it oily either. Secondly, use a gentle astringent that will take off dead skin (this will help your foundation look smoother, more natural). Thirdly, use a moisturizer that is oil free if you are prone to pimples. Use lip balm religiously.

RULE OF THUMB: When choosing colors to wear for pictures, go for berry colors....absolutely no browns. Browns tend to make people look dull in pictures where berry colors make people look lively.

FOUNDATION: Never test colors on your hand. Rather, test colors on your cheek going down to your neck. Since you will do this, you will have a foundation that looks very natural instead of looking like you have a mask on. You want your foundation to match your neck! As far as texture, go for what is right for your skin. If you have dry skin, go for a foundation that is moisturizing. If your skin is oily, go for an oil-free foundation. Best of all, you should either get a foundation that has SPF or you can use a moisturizer that has SPF in it. (I use Neutrogena Healthy Defense Tint-free moisturizer with SPF 30) It is non-comedogenic (doesn't cause pimples) and it is light and helps my makeup look smooth.

applying: USE YOUR FINGERS INSTEAD OF SPONGES!!! You can feel where you have too much. Start with the center of your face (nose) and blend outward using soft strokes. Use a little bit around the eyes and you could even use a little bit on the lips.

BLUSH: To appear like you're blusing naturally, use a cream blush first on the apples (the top of your cheeks on both sides of your nose) of your cheeks. Then apply powder over that and then apply a powder blush.

WHEN CHOOSING A POWDER:
Use one that is right for your skin type (don't use one for acne when you have dry skin). Use one that fits your color naturally, or if one is not available, use one that has no color. When using powder, apply with a brush or sponge so that you don't use too much of it.

EYES:
EYESHADOW: I myself am light-skinned with an olive complexion. I love light-purple eyeshadows. This color is flattering on most people. Find a purple-ish color that looks best on your color....experiment. It is not necessary to use a shiny highlighter under your eyebrows (tends to look gauty). Rather, just use a medium shade on your eyelids and maybe a tiny bit of a darker purple in the crease (between the lid and under the eyebrow). Next, you really don't have to use a black eyeliner. This may seem a little too dramatic. I only used this when applying makeup to stage actors. Rather, I have applied a plum color eyeliner on the brides I've worked on (try a waterproof formula). Next, to get the maximum effect on lashes, curl them with an eyelash curler. (be careful with this). Next, use can use mascara. Here, you can use black if you have black or brown hair. Start from the base of the lashes and then wiggle it down. (Use waterproof because you'll most likely cry during the wedding)

Then you put on the concealer. You put this on last because if your mascara flakes off, you will have better luck conceling everything if you put concealer on last. Start at the inner corner of your eyes and blend out. After you're done, finish off the area with a light dusting of powder to set the concealer. (use your finger with applying concealer and foundation, you won't go wrong).

LIPS:
Again, go for a berry lipcolor. Experiment with colors in this category. Use a lipliner first and line your lips and then \";color inside the lines\"; so that the color is all on your lips. This will make your lipstick color stay on all day. Also, you may want to try one of those stay-put lipsticks that are also moisturizing. I have tried Clinique's formula and like it very much. But, if you don't want to do that, buy a lip liner whose color your would like as a lipstick and apply that, and you could even use a lip gloss that is about the same shade if you want very shiny lips (gloss is very good if you have chapped lips...this can make it look a lot better).

Keep your lipstick or gloss, lipliner, and powder with you at all times. Before retouching your powder, blot your skin with toilet paper to blot up any sweat or oil, and then apply your powder. (Sweat and oil can make powder hard and almost impossible to use)

Best Wishes on your wedding!

2006-07-15
Anonymous Name: Malika
Subject:  no woriies.....

A/s...
visit triple W dot nivea-me dot com u will get a lot of help!.
take care n keep smiling.
AH

2006-07-15
Anonymous Name: Malika
Subject:  if...........

A/s...
if u can't access to nivea me then visit this..triple w dot nivea dot com. gud luk!.
tc n ks.
AH

All tips on Beauty & Grooming
really need help!!!!!

Subscribe to this conversation! All tips on Beauty & Grooming
really need help!!!!!

Subscribe to this conversation! All tips on Beauty & Grooming
really need help!!!!!

RE:RE:Planning to become a Bhaiyani
Thanks. I also thought that. Finally married a bhaiya boy and became bhaiyani. He kept my name as Malti.... - MB [View Message]
RE:makeup
Me too had the same problem. Its mainly due to the misusing of moisturiser. It makes the skin dull. Then one of my friend introduced me with product of. It helps my skin glow. I am Very happy with this product. I will suggest you also. It will make you feel great.... - Halcyon [View Message]
RE:Planning to become a Bhaiyani
hello MB,
the way you observe all bhaiya female ladies, i appreciate that you are fan of them style, so you should try once and change your name and keep it lajwanti. or gulabo also good.... - dhruvi [View Message]
hello MB,
its so strange and funny that you want to look like bhaiya women called bhaiyanis, so why you put efforts on this be look like them, and try make up like this only, and enjoyo.... - pooja [View Message]
hello MB,
its good thing if you like to do make up like bhaiyanis, so make yourself like that only, do make up like this ladies, and make yourself happy, try the lipstick shade same like them.... - rani [View Message]
hello MB,
you really like the dark shade of lipstick and very dark makeup, and saree they wore like its tradition of them, but they wore always dark shaded saree, and try it once.... - megha [View Message]
hello MB,
its so funny, but its ok, everyone wish is different and there is difference also, but the names you suggest is so much funny names, but what is your actual name, you didnt mention here.... - naina [View Message]