You are here: Home > Message Boards > Planning a Baby >  Infertility Solutions >Is IUI painful?

Infertility Solutions:Is IUI painful?
2008-12-01
Name: anu

Dear friends
Just wanted to get your feedback on this topic.Those who have already gone through the procedure of IUI can you please let me know whether this process is a simple one or is it very painful and complicated?
Do you need to take full bed rest for weeks or so after that?
I have been suggested for my first cycle of IUI this month and now really scared :(
Can you share some of your experiences here regarding IUI? Please....

2012-12-07
Anonymous Name: SRI
Subject:  iui

hi,
even i am also frm bangalore,planning to do iui on my next cycle.came 2 noe tat the procedure is not so painful from ur replies.bt i wantd 2 noe how much it costs in bangalore?

2010-04-30
Anonymous Name: pooja
Subject:  iui

hello friends I am scheudled for an Iui in Mid of next week.I am very very scared to get it done .How painfull is it .As per the Folloicular study my eggs are forming very well with the injections / tablets. My husband count hence i need go through it,how tough and painfull life is for women

2008-12-21
Anonymous Name: arushi
Subject:  reply for IUI

I can understand ur mental state and will suggest you to not to worry.As IUI is painless procedure and is done in just 15 min.and doctor will make you to lie in the clinic say for 15 mins more after the procedure.and after then you can have your regular routine .All the best.....

2008-12-05
Anonymous Name: Rekha
Subject:  Hi anu

i have not heard about manipal hospital.let me check abt the hospital....
R u staying in bangalore? I have already told you its just a simple process, dont get scared. Be relaxed during that procedure, 6 to 8 cycles of IUI can be done.
what are all the tablets they gave for you?

2008-12-08
Anonymous Name: anu
Subject:  hi rekha

yes i am in blr.
you can check about the hospital from the net itself.
they have not given any medicines till now..will start that from the Day2 of the coming cycle.what tablets/injections did you have for the process?

2008-12-04
Anonymous Name: sugar
Subject:  hi anu

I have been through 1 cycle of IUI and it is not at all painful. it is a simple procedure that takes 10 mins, so dont be afraid. after the procedure, you will be advised 10-15 mins rest after which you will be able to walk around and do your work as normal. I infact even went back to work after my IUI was done. there may be mild cramping if at all.
all the best, when is your IUI scheduled.

2009-04-06
Anonymous Name: yuvika
Subject:  hi sugar (IUI details)

hi sugar, anu, rekha

please share your experiences regarding IUI..how was the procedure handled...does it really pain a lot while the catherer is passed to reach the cervix...Is the catherer soft or hard......i have done an HSG done before...that was a terrible experience...

lots of questions on my mind.......i have been prescribed for IUI in this cycle..already on clomid from day 2 for 5 days........

Please advise at the earliest regarding pain felt during the procedure.

Thanks in advance.

2008-12-08
Subject:  hi sugar

my IUI is scheduled for this month end.
can you tell me whether the success rate of IUI depends on the factor if you have more follicles then your chances are high?
And also whether no. of follicles vary on the factor whether they are stimulated by clomid or HMG inj?

2008-12-06
Anonymous Name: sugar
Subject:  for anu

I am in Delhi so mine was done in Sitaram Bhartiya Hospital by my gynaecologist who had delivered my daughetr 6 yrs back.. we are now trying for our second child and experiencing unexplained fertility. My 1st IUI was not successful, so we are going for another cycle this month and will try total 4 if required. I was hopeful that I had conceived in the 1st cycle itself, but i guess it was the hormones iwas taking that made me believe so.. take care.

2008-12-05
Subject:  thanks sugar

mine is scheduled on this month end..
I am feeling much less scared now after hearing from you all.
Where is your IUI done?
Is it successful on the first one itself?
How many cycles of IUI treatments are generally performed to get a success ?

2008-12-03

Nice to hear from you, I think now you have no issues to go for IUI. Can i know in which hospital you are consulting.Hope everything will be good.

2008-12-04
Subject:  Hi rekha

I am consulting in Manipal hospital.
Have heard they have good results in this.
Let us see..
Though I am too scared :(
Do you stay in Chennai or BLR?
Probably you can also consult onetime in Manipal too..

2008-12-02

Im trying for the baby for past one year, i have visited most of the hospitals in chennai like GG, kurian joshep, MMM, appollo hospitals etc..(because im eagerly waiting for a baby, i got married before 2 yrs) , i have done 3 times IUI in Apollo, it' s a simple process, it takes just 5 to 10 minutues for whole procedure.Dont get afraid only mild pain will be there.Because of my hubby' s less motility i got failure. Im planning to do IVF. All the best:)

Rekha

2008-12-03
Subject:  thanks rekha

thanks for your reply dear!
My husband also have the problem of motility that is why doctor has suggested IUI.This will be my first try for it..
Let us see what happens.
I have heard IVF´ s success rate is much higher than IUI.Hence you must be benefited by that.Don´ t worry.Let us be positive,what you say? :)
My best wishes for you..
Pages >>  1  2 

Is IUI painful?

Surrogacy is becoming a more common option for couples facing infertility, especially in metro cities like Bangalore. The cost of surrogacy in Bangalore can vary depending on the clinic, package, and whether it's a guaranteed or non-guaranteed program.

Non-guaranteed package: ₹11–14 Lakhs

Nandani Priya [View Message]
If any single women or Non-Monogamous couples living in Bangalore or if they are willing to travel to Bangalore are looking for no-strings-attached, partially anonymous, safe, free natural sperm donation with perpetual future access to donor for siblings and half siblings conception and to answer any future biological origins questions by donor conceived children, Contact ... - Aditya [View Message]
Hi I'm medical professional and experienced sperm donor if anyone want my help please feel free to contact me on this number Seven four seven zero eight seven six seven zero six. Also give natural therapy I am available everywhere.