You are here: Home > Message Boards > Expecting Parents >  Due Date Club January 2007 >Baby Position and C-Section

Due Date Club January 2007:Baby Position and C-Section
2006-12-19
Name: Sheetal

Hi Archie,

I am in my 38th week. I have had a very smooth pregnancy without any complications at all.

I had an examination few days back and my doctor said that the baby has still not moved into the head down position and looks like I will have a Caesarean only. She said that the baby should move into position at the end of 8th month or begining of 9th month as this is my first pregnancy. However as it has not yet moved into that position and still in sideways position, I will most likely have a C-Section. I want to know how far is this correct? I still have another 2 weeks. Will the baby not move into position by that time so that I can wait to have a normal delivery. If normal is not possible, then I can always have a C-section.

Also one more thing, my date has been given as 4th Jan in my 3rd scan. But in my second scan, the date was given as 30th Dec and my doctor says we should consider 30th Dec only.
And as she would be out of station for 3 days before 30th, she wants me to get a C-Section done on 25th Dec only. She cites that my water may break in those 3 days when she is not around. So to prevent such a scenario, she will do it in advance. My doubt is why is she trying to do it even before the date has arrived. Is she not trying to hurry it up? Should I not wait till 4th Jan and then only go for delivery.

Please answer my question as I am getting really scared as my due date is approaching.Anybody else who has faced this kind of situation, please advise me.

Regards
Sheetal

2006-12-20
Anonymous Name: Maya
Subject:  Trust your doc

Hi Sheetal,

I do not know why people consider C-section as a nightmare. Its done for the safety of the child and mom. In my case during my first pregnancy( my labour pains started as soon as I completed 38th wk) everything was progressing smoothly and doc said that you may deliver the bany within two hours but my kid had other plans and passed the maconium . So she had to perform emergency C-sec to avoid any eventuality.

This time also everything is fine but if she insists for C-sec I am prepared for that also .

So what I opine is listen to your doc and have complete faith in almighty . Hope every thing turns all right by the time you take your decision.

All the best and be positive ,
Maya

2006-12-20
Anonymous Name: archie
Subject:  comments

Maya,
I just want to say that you are right C-section is not bad at all and should not be treated like a nightmare, especially when its supposed to help both mother and baby.

However your C-section seems un-necessary. There are cases of meconium and it could have come complication if left for days but not necessarily when in hospital and monitored constantly. Its possible that you would have ended up having C-section as sometime after meconium is released baby may exhibit abnormal fetal heart rate and cause of C-section but one should wait till that point.

If your C-section was done at least 2 years before and you feel strong then have word with your Dr. on VBAC, why to go for C-section when you could have vaginal chance. Leave C-section as a last resort in emergency, especially if you want to have more kids in future then repeat C-section is not likely be best thing.

Archie

2006-12-19
Anonymous Name: archie
Subject:  comments

Dear Sheetal,
First of all try and develop your mind for C-section because if baby remains transverse there is no way your Dr. will try for vaginal delivery no matter if you get in labor naturally or dilated fully.

There is nearly slim chances for baby to turn head down at this stage of pregnancy. You can do some yogas, walk stairs and squatting, along with cat-caw positioned walk. Poccha around house, hopefully will get your babys head in cephalic presentation but again chances are slim.

I think you can wait for Jan 4th for your Dr. to return. Who knows if baby turns head like a miracle during 25th Dec to 4th Jan. Also in case of water break check with your Dr. if there is a duty Dr. who can perform C-section on you, if this is available then absolutely you can wait for 4th Jan otherwise have to deliver on 25th Dec, a great day to deliver baby.

Archie

2006-12-31
Anonymous Name: Sheetal
Subject:  One final question

Thanks Maya for sharing your thoughts.

Archie,
Finally we have decided to wait till Jan 4th. We also had a second opinion with another doctor. she also said we can wait till jan 4th.
Now our original doctor is back in town.We again went to see her and she checked the position again and also did a internal exam. This time she was more emphatic in stating that the baby is still head down and there is no chance of it coming down and we have to go for C-Section. She has asked me to get admitted immediately although I requested for 2 days time as we wanted to have it on Jan 2nd. She was kind of irritated asking us why to wait and all that and said we shud not wait unnecessarily otherwise it may result in other problems.

So I suppose i dont stand a chance of having a normal delivery. Is C-section my only alternative. Or is it possible to induce labor and also change baby position etc?

Please let me know

Sheetal.

Baby Position and C-Section

Maplebear is really good
Excellent service, they have lots of good facilities for the kids. The locality also is good. Excellent staff too.
... - Mohan [View Message]
Maplebear Jayanagar Excellent Pre-school
Had a visit to maplebear jayanagar school recently. Thought of sharing this info because i really liked it and it is forcing me to share the experience to other parents so that they will not miss the place..

Excellent service, they have lots of good facilities for the kids. They charge a little high premium in comparison to the average. The locality also is go... - Sreekumar K [View Message]
Levels are Ok
Levels are Ok... - Minu [View Message]
hi
Hi sv,

R u in US?if yes then u' ll get folic acid in Costco.
Take 1 tablet daily any time,better u start early.

... - Madhu [View Message]
hi

I guess u must' ve delivered by now........ - Madhu [View Message]
folic acid

I am in 8th month of my pregnancy. But I haven' t started taking folic acid yet. As the one which my doc has prescribed, i am not getting anywhere.
Can anybody let me know when should we start taking it n when to stop it. Will this cause any problem to my child. Please guide as I live alone, my husband is in some other city n my inlaws are in some ot... - sv [View Message]
Due Date Club January 2007
So you are due on January 2007! Congratulations! Hop on board and discuss your feelings, dreams and apprehensions with other parents and parents-to-be who know exactly what you are going through.... - Editor [View Message]