Ovulation Predictor Kit
Planning Second Baby
Scar Tissue
Semen and Sperm Count
Similar Blood Group
Thyroid

You are here: Home > Doctors on call > FAQs > Test Tube Baby

Test Tube Baby
Kindly read through our Frequently Asked Questions before submitting your queries. If you still wish to ask a question to our panel of experts, click here for our premium services.

Related ArticlesRelated FAQsDiscussion Boards
Infertlity Problems Artificial Insemination Test Tube Baby
Are you Doing it Right? Donor Eggs Infertility Solutions
Medical Advice In Vitro Fertilisation
more... more... more...
Test Tube Baby >>>
 Frequently Asked Questions

Q: From where can I get an ovulation predictor kit? What is the cost of having a test tube baby?

Chandan (Mumbai, India)

A: The ovulation predictor kit is available with bigger chemists. If you cannot find one at any chemist, you will definitely get one at Kalbadevi. The total cost of having a test tube baby will be roughly around one lac ten thousand which includes injections, hospital stay, test tube baby procedure and doctors fees.

Dr. Asha Paranjpe

Q: What is a test tube baby? Are they healthy? Are they bad for the health of the mother?

Manish (Mumbai, India)

A: Many people still have many misconceptions about a test tube baby. Some feel that the baby is "artificial”! However, we cannot manufacture synthetic babies in the lab! Basically, in a test tube baby treatment, we try to assist nature. This means that we do in the lab what should normally happen in the bedroom (but is not happening because of a medical problem, such as blocked tubes, as a result of which the couple is infertile). This treatment does not adversely affect a woman's health - or the health of the baby. Many women are concerned that the hormonal injections they will need to take will make them fat. This is a myth - these are the same natural hormones the body normally produces - we give them as injections in order to help the woman to grow more eggs. This treatment does not cause a woman to run out of eggs any sooner either! Every month, 40 eggs start to grow, of which 39 die and only 1 matures. In IVF treatment, the hormonal injections rescue the eggs, which would have died in the normal course.

Dr. Malpani

Back to previous page

search search the site
search

To check our panel of doctors and experts
click here.

To check out other Faq's on various topics
click here.

E - Shop
Visit E-Shop Now!
Contests
Baby Photo Contest