![]() Circumcision Name: Ravi Country: India Comment: Circumcision -- both male and female is thankfully not a custom for most Indians. It is a barbaric process of mutilation for both girls and boys on behalf of an angry, jealous, and perverse god -- why should some adult come anywhere near a baby with a blade? What sick sexual hangups do they inspire? And does this loss of sensitivity correlate with the fanaticism we see amongst the children of Abraham? All the excuses made about circumcision in the West derive from the same intolerant and colonialist medical establishment that has spread both its own prejudices and propaganda the world over. Almost every claim advanced has been dismantled. Even the recommendations to circumcise men in Africa to stem AIDS will backfire by making such men feel invincible to act in even more irresponsible ways. Indian parents should do as they have always done, shower their children with love, and live and let live. Name: suresh Country: India Comment: urvi are mad? muslims and other people have no respect for men? are you kidding? everyone knows how muslim males treat their women. and your speaking the opposite? i cannot believe it. the decision of male circumcision is not taken by women u dumb person. it is taken by their males i.e fathers as they consider it a dumb religious practice. Name: suresh Country: India Comment: mein ek hindu brahman ladka hoon aur mein uncut hoon. maine kafi girls ke saath sex kiya hai including some muslim girls. mera ek muslim dost hai uska khatna hua hai. woh bahut hi weak hai aur uska lund sirf 4 inch ka hai aur mera lund 11 inch ka. mein 30 min tak sex kar sakta hoon without break aur woh sirf 3 min tak. Name: suresh Country: India Comment: natasha ray i doubt whether you are a women but if you are then shame. you took your son to a muslim male doctor and he advised you to get your son circumcised. the biggest mistake in your life. you and your son will regret it forever i bet. your son is no longer a son now. Name: poomam sharma Country: Iran Comment: Circumcision ( khatna ) is not only for boys.Khatna is good also for girls through the world .Many Girls of modern countrys circumcise them selves in the name of cosmatic surgery.Boys gives girls many type of sexual punishment like murga punishment etc for sexual enjoyment .Circumcise girls can handle such boys easyly. Name: Deb Country: India Comment: Male circumcision is good. I was circumcised at the age of 12 and when I corelate life before and after my circumcision I have no doubt that my parents took the right decision to have me circumcised. The only regret I have is they should have got it done a couple of years earlier. When I was circumcised I had already started getting erections and this made the healing process more difficult. Name: Natasha Ray Country: India Comment: Circumcision is good because of it's asthetic, hygeinic and medical values. As studies shows that circ reduces HIV risks. I think this should be made compulsory. I had my two son circumcised on the recommendation of our family docter who is a muslim man, though my husband was against it. I did'nt have to teach my son about penile hygiene. A circ penis is naturally clean. Though there has been some instances when I had to face problems. Like when my in-laws came to know about my sons circumcision they created a havoc in house. In one instance my elder son has suffered in the mens locker room in his school swimming classes. When he was 10 year old he joined the summer swimming classes in his school. The boys in the locker room does con care to cover their private parts while bathing and usually turn naked under shower. The school authority does not find it offensive as most of the boys did not reach their puberty stage. I found my son getting humiliated because of his circumcision status under shower. Boys teased him by saying that his penis is chopped because he must be having some disease. This has a major psycological effect on him. Usually on sundays I give bath to my two sons as they are unable to clean the back part of the body themself. One sunday when I entered the bathroom to give him bath I found him to be behaving quite abnormaly. He refused to remove his underwear in front of me and said he can manage to take bath himself and he asked me to go out. When I asked he started fighting and arguing. I forcefully removed his underwear and he started crying. I found it very bad and I asked him the reason. He explained me every thing. Then I talked to the school authority and reqested to construct private bathrooms in the smimming pool locker room. But now he is fine. He is proud that circumcision has been done on him. Name: Jeoy Country: India Comment: I'm circumcised when i was 8 year old...it was done it because of my foreskin Infection.. it fill so good & look so good ..now I'm 18+ I'm glad to done it..thanks Mom & dad.. Name: lip Country: Mauritius Comment: can do it in any age?? Name: bruce Country: U.S.A. Comment: circumcision is unecessary.I have a very long redundant foreskin skin and have never had any problem with it.I use it to masturbate and would never want it cut off. Name: sri Country: India Comment: circumcision is useful in all aspects. after being circmcised a man become true musalman & it is the entry to new life. No age is barred. it protect man from carcnima penis if perforemed in infants. i prevents from phymosis, balanitis, balanoprosthitis. khatna or circmcision is sunnat, and circumcised penis looks so beutiful, that I think it is the beutiful gift from Allah.so dont hasitate and enter into new holy Life Name: sri Country: India Comment: circumcision is useful in all aspects. after being circmcised a man become true musalman & it is the entry to new life. No age is barred. it protect man from carcnima penis if perforemed in infants. i prevents from phymosis, balanitis, balanoprosthitis. khatna or circmcision is sunnat, and circumcised penis looks so beutiful, that I think it is the beutiful gift from Allah.so dont hasitate and enter into new holy Life Name: sri Country: India Comment: circumcision is useful in all aspects. after being circmcised a man become true musalman & it is the entry to new life. No age is barred. it protect man from carcnima penis if perforemed in infants. i prevents from phymosis, balanitis, balanoprosthitis. khatna or circmcision is sunnat, and circumcised penis looks so beutiful, that I think it is the beutiful gift from Allah.so dont hasitate and enter into new holy Life Name: Harash Country: India Comment: Body, either of man or women, is a perfect gift of God. God do not add any part on the body unnecessarily. Then why cutting of some part from penis is necessary in one religion. It is just foolishness of muslim world. Men with uncircumcised penis enjoy sexual pleasure as circumcised one do. Name: k.g Country: India Comment: im indian muslim meri khatana ki gi he me ne kafi girl ke sath sex kiya he mera dost hindu he us ki khata nahi ki he me girl ke sath 20 minit tak sex karata hu or vo 5 minit kar sakata he us ki or meri aeg 24 sal ki he hight6 fit ki fir bhi us ka penis khal se sath 6 inch ka he or mera 10 inch ka he girl oral sex ke vakt khatna vala jiyada like karti he ye mera expr.. he Name: Reformed Jew Country: U.S.A. Comment: Male circumcision is barbaric. Female circumcision is also barbaric. They are not different. Both involve pain, mutilation and suffering. In our Jewish faith, the orthodox and conservatives practice male circumcision. However, reformers are debating banning male circumcision since it is unfair to male babies. Its a babies body and a babies choice. Let the boy decide when he grows up. Here in the USA, male circumcision rates have declined from 90% in the 1980s to around 55% in 2000s because mothers and fathers are rethinking circumcision. Many feel it is unnecessary. Do not listen to scientific studies because they keep changing all the time. Name: Kumar Country: India Comment: If India imposes male circumcision on innocent male babies citing better health or hygiene or to control AIDS, the flag of India should be burnt and any and every woman on the streets in India should be stripped naked and humiliated. Jews, Muslims, and some of those idiots from the US are mentally sick bastards. They think male genital mutilation is great. This is because of sick minds. Name: Urvi Country: India Comment: It is good to see women getting abused in India. This should serve as a counter balance for men who suffer pain, humiliation and torture in other countries where male circumcision and abuse of men is rampant. We often see stories and news items in the media about women being stripped naked and paraded on the streets. This is great, if male circumcision and ceremonies are okay. There should be a ritual for women which includes stripping them nude in public and exposing their pubic hairs in open spaces. This is the equivalent of a male circumcision ceremony designed to humiliate men. Muslims and Jews are barabarians who have no respect for men. Name: Sandeep Country: India Comment: The women of the National Council for Women who are anti-man, pro-woman terrorists should all be dragged out of their homes and their clitorises cut off in public. This will make them realize how much of pain and suffering men go thru via routine circumcisions. Name: Amir Country: India Comment: India should ban male circumcision since it reduces a mans sensitivity, is barbaric, is humiliating and more than anything else, a mothers choice, not a babies choice. If wife beating is banned, male circumcision which is child abuse by mothers ought to be banned as well. Name: Asha and Ravi Country: India Comment: The justification in the Jewish, Western and Islamic world that male circumcision is okay but female circumcision is bad is nothing more than a double standard. The two are not different. They are the same because both mutilations reduce sensitivity, are painful, barbaric, and unnecessary. How could anyone say female genital mutilation is wrong and male genital mutilation is okay ? The people in the feminist western nations are bigots, biased and mentally sick. Name: Sonali Rao Country: India Comment: The men are mentally sick in the islamic world and the western world. They say male genital mutilation is good but female mutilation is bad. If they are so stupid, let them suffer. Circumcision was not started by women. The stupid men started it and are hurting themselves. Women could have also used circumcision of females as a ritual or a method of hygiene. They chose not to do so because they were smarter. However, some women in Africa and the middle east are as stupid as men in the west. They circumcise girls. Let them suffer as well. There is a price to pay for foolishness and stupidity. A circumcised male from the US is a fool and a circumcised woman from Egypt or Africa is equally stupid. Hyiene can be maintained with routine cleanliness, not routine mutilations. Name: Jyotsna Country: India Comment: The clitorises of women ought to be mutilated so that mothers who circumcise their sons know what barbaric acts are. Name: Suresh Country: India Comment: The proponents of male circumcision say male circumcision is okay since it promotes hygiene and health. This is just an excuse to justify wrong doing. Hygiene can be maintained via routine cleanliness and routine mutilations. Women's vaginas get dirty and stinky lot more and lot worse than men's penises. They are expected to keep their vaginas clean. likewise, common sense dictates that men keep their penises clean as well. Mutilation is not the answer to hygiene. Name: Namita Country: India Comment: In Egypt and many African countries they circumcise girls in their teens and this involves cutting off the clitoris, the inner labia, and the inner sides of the outer labia. Girls scream in pain when this happens. It is done by male barbers in booths in public. It is good to see women suffer, if people in the west and in the islamic world say okay to hurt and torture men via male circumcision. If men are abused, women should be abused a thousand times more. Name: Sujatha Country: India Comment: If male circumsision is justified with reasons and arguments by those who want to hurt men and mutilate them, then, wife beating, bride birning, and female circumcision can also be justified with reasons and arguments. Let the millions of women suffer in this world thru rape, assault, female genital mutilation, and other barbaric acts, if it is okay to hurt men. Anything can be justified. Name: sairasemi Country: Pakistan Comment: khatana zarori ha is sa lulli khobsorat nazar ati ha or errection be sahi hota ha. Name: momtobe Country: India Comment: I was very surprised to see the hysterical tone of voice of the article. Are you a 'Hindu only' site? Circumcision is one of the oldest medical practices. It has it's staunch advocates (both religious & secular) and it's very vocal dissenters. Both have the right to debate the issue & put forward their views in a logical and calm manner in order to convince others, not scream & shout even if i done so using the written word. To set the record straight, in urban areas, circumcision on newborn boys is performed with a local anaesthetic in a sterile hospital setting. Rural areas do not come in the purview of this debate as poverty forces many medical choices which are not religion-led (e.g. cutting off the umbilical cord with a rusty sickle, be it a poor Hindu or a poor Muslim woman who has just delivered in the field) I must say I was very disappointed to see this kind of hysterical article o your site (which is a medical site). To put my feelings into perspective, I would have been equally surprised & disappointed had you put up an article singing the praises of circumcision & lamblasting the views of those who disagree with the practice. No more such biased, illogical & prejudiced articles on your site please! We expect more good taste & sense of balance from your site! Thanks for reading. Name: someone Country: Canada Comment: There is something that draws a line between what we think about something and what we are obliged to do if we are following a religion. Some matters are decided on the commandments and not on your will or conclusion. Circumcision is one of them. Jewish and Muslims follow this practice not because some philosophers had discussed this issue some thousands years ago, but because this is what they are obligated to do. If someone not in favor this is welcome to continue. But one thing has become very clear i.e. Indians can't restrain their hatred against Muslims! Name: 1234 Country: Italy Comment: khatana beutify and adorn penis. It must be done without anesthetia to remember sweet pain. Name: naheed Country: Pakistan Comment: har boy ki khatna lazmi hai khatna se penis dakhnay mai accha lagta ha aur larkay mushtzani say mahfooz rahtay hai puri khaal katna zarori hai mare jannay walay gin boys ki khatna sahih nahi hoi thi un ki mai na dubara khatna karai meri lady doctor har age kay boys ki bahtareen khatna karti hai khatna kay bad lazmi one weak nanga rakkhain Name: Majid Country: India Comment: The last part of your article (Violence) is expression of your hatred towards a religion. Lets analyse the pros & cons scientifically since i believe science is the ultimate yardstick today to decide anything. Secondly please present scientific facts (data/ results of some study) etc instead of commenting wrong logic to prove what you want to state. Name: Defender of the Foreskin Country: U.S.A. Comment: The article is mistaken about the history of nonreligious circumcision in the English speaking world. In the 1870s and 80s, the British and American upper middle class began to circumcise their babies and boys. Why? Because the Christian middle classes of those countries were horrified by the masturbation of boys, and believed that the foreskin was primarily responsible for masturbation pleasure. All sorts of medical and social problems were blamed on the foreskin, but I think these were pretexts. The real reason why masturbation was hated was the traditional Christian belief that all sexual pleasure outside of marriage and procreation is evil, because it tempts people, men especially, to behave irresponsibly. Also, between 1850 and 1900, there was a huge rise in hygiene expectations. Crud and odours under the foreskin which had been accepted as facts of life were suddenly seen as evils to be stamped out. Victorian mums and nannies did not like at all having to check a boy's penis, and teaching him to keep clean down there. They much preferred having the foreskin cut off so as to not have to think about that extremely personal part of human anatomy. The practice spread to Australia, Canada, and New Zealand. By 1950, most Australians, Canadians, and Americans born in a urban hospital were circumcised 1-2 days after birth. This was also the case for a majority of British boys born in comfortable and university educated families. But the British working class did not go along, except when Mum had social aspirations... One result is that many British colonial admistrators during the dying days of the raj were circumcised, like their Muslim subjects. Did anyone know that at the time?? In 1950, the NHS in the UK stopped paying for routine infant circ. New Zealand followed suit in 1969. In both countries, infant circ has almost totally vanished. RIC has declined to about 10% of baby boys in Australia and Canada, where the Crown won't pay for it either. 30 years ago, 90% of Caucasian boys born in USA hospitals were circumcised at birth, and another 2-3% were Jews cut at home when 1 week old. If you play tennis or handball with an American man, and socialise with him in the changing room, you will see that he is almost always circumcised. Many Americans have never seen an intact penis in the flesh during their entire lives. A major reason why all English speaking countries other than the USA are walking away from routine circumcision is that mishaps happen. Also, using lidocaine did not become standard practice until the last 10-15 years. In the USA, a substantial number of infant circs are still performed without any anesthesia, on a strapped down screaming baby. This should be deemed child abuse. South Korean and the Philippines circumcise boys between the ages of 5 and 15. Korea does it out of admiration for USA practice. In cultures where married men won't stay faithful, where condoms are expensive, unavailable, or disdained, where men do not wash their private parts daily, and where AIDS is transmitted heterosexually, it is quite possible that routine circumcision could blunt the AIDS epidemic. That said, I do not believe that the recent African clinical trials were conducted in such a way as to be conclusive. I do not know whether the preceding paragraph describes the sex lives of ordinary Indian people. But I am quite confident that it does not apply to the people in the medically advanced countries. Infidelity is rarer than people think, because divorce is easy. Condoms are sold by every chemist. Men take a daily shower. AIDS is transmitted homosexually and by drug use. The circumcised USA has the highest rate of HIV positivity in the OECD, by far. If not too much is taken off, I suspect that the vast majority of circumcised men urinate and copulate without difficulty. If done in infancy, they have no memory of the event. I am sceptical about claims that circumcision under anesthesia is a psychological trauma. That said, it is important to understand that the consequences of circumcision for sexual behaviour are not known. The tissues discarded by circumcision are very rich in nerve endings and are directly involved in sexual acts. I conclude that they should enjoy the benefit of the doubt as a major source of male sexual sensation. It is also quite possible that the sexual damage from circumcision only sets in gradually over decades. It is not known whether the foreskin matters for women's pleasure. I would love it if an Indian woman would interview young sophisticated urban Indian women, in complete confidence, and ask them to compare their sexual experiences with Muslims and Hindus. There are American women who post anonymously than their limited experiences with uncircumcised partners were life changing events. The foreskin is akin to a woman's inner lips. If you grant that, the foreskin is a feminizing detail of the male body, just as the clitoris is the masculine part of the feminine genitalia. A nonerect penis whose head is covered with foreskin does not look totally sexual, it is indecent but not obscene. Intact looks less threatening. It is inevitable that some Indian boys born in the USA to Hindu and Christian parents will be circumcised at birth, like many American boys. It is also inevitable that some Hindu families residing in India and free of prejudice against Muslims will wish to imitate American practice here. But I fear that their preferences will be driven by misconceptions and urban myths, rather than by careful reflection about hygienic and sexual reality. The penis is so embarrassing that nearly all of us know little about it. Name: rakeshs Country: India Comment: hello the girls are also circumcised Name: rehana naz Country: Pakistan Comment: khatana zarori ha kun k lmbi latki khall achi nahi lagti. Name: faisal Country: India Comment: i am muslim and not circumcised and i am happy wat i got Name: Karelin Country: Guam Comment: Circumcision is the males' virginity loss. When a boy is circumcised, he is not a virgin at all. Foreskin is the boys' original virginity. Only narrow-minded people supports male circumcision. Circumcision is very common among highly violence-laden countries, such as Middle East. Male circumcision is very common among very impoverished countries, like Africa. In fact, 90% to 94% of boys ages from birth to above 100 years old are not circumcised, permanently and apparently, including uncircumcised Muslim, American and Filipino boys of all ages and almost all women in the World always favor to uncircumcised boys because of pleasure and satisfaction. Name: rahul Country: India Comment: mere khyal se sabhi ko khatna hona chahiye kyunki khatna ke baad penis apne original size me aa jata hai or medicaly bhi khatna upyogi hai so i reguested to u please be circumsied Name: SRaj Country: India Comment: Circumcising an Indian boy generates a lot of discussions among relatives. Also in India many boys are bathed without any privacy and it gives other female relatives a chance to talk. Name: rosa Country: Cyprus Comment: correction: 20 feet altitude! Name: Rosa Country: Cyprus Comment: becareful of the way insulting muslims and jwish people. better think about dirty-filty way of living urself in india... as all over the world know that u r dirtiest popular capital in world!!! still believe in rat temple! have you seen ur babies drink milk from the same pot rats do that! have u seen in 1st page of ur newspapers u ppl fall down newborn babies from the roof of ur temples with more than 20 altitude! for the sake of braveness!!! do u think is it hygiene for baby's mental!!!! Name: RONAK Country: Iran Comment: Compelling medical data much of it accumulated in the past 2 decades, have conclusively shown that a boy circumcised as a newborn has multiple lifetime health advantages compared to one with an “intact” foreskin. These include protection against serious kidney infections in infancy, sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) including human immunodeficiency (HIV) infections, Chlamydia infection and human papilloma virus (HPV) in young men, and invasive cancer of the penis in middle and old age. In addition, all through life uncircumcised males are more susceptible to penile infections (balanoposthitis) and a variety of skin disorders of the penis such as eczema and psoriasis, as well as more difficulty maintaining good hygiene. About 1% of boys are born with only a pinpoint opening at the tip of the foreskin (phimosis) preventing retraction, leading to painful erections, and requiring future circumcision, at a time when the procedure is more difficult, risky and costly. Further, women sexual partners of uncircumcised men with HPV infection are at significantly greater risk of developing cervical cancer. How convincing is the scientific evidence of circumcision advantages? Overwhelming in the cases of infant kidney infections, penile cancer and local disorders, and compelling for HIV, Chlamydia, HPV and risk of female partners of uncircumcised men with HPV infections. In the mid 1980’s, Dr. Tom Wiswell, a military pediatrician initially opposed to newborn circumcision, examined the United States (US) Armed Forces records of over 200,000 newborn boys and to his surprise found that uncircumcised boys were 10 to 20 times more likely to develop severe kidney infections in the first year of life. Since then a dozen published reports confirm this protective effect of circumcision against infant urinary infections and explain how these infections occur. The warm, tight, moist undersurface of the infant foreskin provides an ideal home for the harmful fecal bacteria that cause kidney infections. These bacteria (“uropathic, fimbriated E. Coli”) have tentacles which attach to the foreskin and then climb up the urinary tract to the kidney. The resultant infection leads to kidney scarring in almost half the cases, as well as body salt loss and hormonal changes in some instances. Although there is no proven long-term evidence so far of permanent kidney damage, these renal effects are disturbing. All studies on invasive penile cancer from 1930 to the present have shown that this devastating malignancy is almost entirely limited to uncircumcised men. In 1932 it was reported from what is now the Sloan Kettering Institute, that of 120 men with penile cancer none were circumcised; all subsequent studies have confirmed this overwhelming preponderance. In Kaiser Permanente Northern California Region (KP), a large health maintenance organization (HMO), recently published studies found that uncircumcised males are about 22 times more likely to get invasive penile cancer and 10 times more likely to get infant kidney infections as are circumcised males (Schoen, Pediatrics 2000). In the case of HIV, reports published in the late 1980’s in two of the world’s leading medical journals, the New England Journal of Medicine and Lancet, found that uncircumcised men in Africa had about four times the risk of acquiring the virus following sexual exposure. In the ensuing 19 years this observation on the protective effect of circumcision against HIV has been repeated in over 30 separate series, including all 8 prospective studies (looking forward from exposure, rather than backwards from diagnosis). Further, the likely reasons for the role of the foreskin in the spread of HIV have been clarified. In addition to the risk of the virus entering through foreskin tears, it has been found that the foreskin is rich in special cells, Langerhans cells, which trap and normally help kill invading infectious organisms. But in the case of HIV the trapped virus is not destroyed but binds to these special cells and is introduced into the body. As for HPV penile infections and cervical cancer, in 2002 a report in the New England Journal of Medicine reviewed over 1900 sexual partners from 7 different studies in 5 countries. It was found that uncircumcised men were 3 times more likely to develop penile HPV infection as were circumcised men and female partners of the uncircumcised men were at significantly greater risk of developing cervical cancer. Using data from the same study Chlamydia infections, common in young adults and teen-agers and an important cause of infertility, was found to be 3 times as likely if the man was uncircumcised. During World War II, particularly during the North African desert campaign, the combination of sand and lack of hygienic conditions proved disastrous to uncircumcised men. The loss of these soldiers to active duty in combat areas resulted in prophylactic circumcision being performed on many recruits at training centers. A World War II medical report from the U.S. Army referred to the “enormous man-hour loss from disease peculiar to the uncircumcised man,” and stated that “hospital admission from paraphimosis, phimosis, balanitis and condyloma accuminata during 1942 – 1945 totaled 146,793. Had these patients been circumcised before induction, this total would probably have been close to zero”. A similar though less well-documented loss to active duty occurred in uncircumcised servicemen in Operation Desert Storm during the Gulf War. If the evidence favoring circumcision is so strong, why is the public given contradictory and misleading information? The reasons are at least twofold. Probably most important is the lack of interest and objectivity of organized medicine, particularly the American Academy of Pediatrics. The second source of misrepresentation is by the activist, lay anti-circumcision groups, which dominate the media and the Internet and concentrate on anecdotes, testimonials and undocumented opinions. The problems with the position of the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) began in 1971 when the Newborn Section, which would be least likely to see the preventive effects later in life, issued a single, undocumented sentence --“There are no valid medical indications for newborn circumcision”. This statement, unsupported by data or references, revealed an unawareness of the large and growing body of evidence on the protection against penile cancer, as well as the World War II Army data on the elimination of local foreskin problems. Due to dissatisfaction with this 1971 statement, an AAP Task Force was convened in 1975, which, after looking at the evidence, found that there were indeed valid reasons to perform newborn circumcision. But, rather than admit that a mistake had been made, the AAP, still under the Newborn Section, chose to obfuscate the issue by semantics, concluding “there are no absolute indications for newborn circumcision”. Since there are few absolutes in the world, the issue was only further confused. With the misleading position of the AAP and the rapid growth of the lay anti-circumcision groups the newborn circumcision rate fell from 85 – 90% in the 1950’s – 1960’s to about 65% by the late 1970’s. The AAP reassessed its position on circumcision following published evidence in the 1980’s of protection against infant kidney infection and the suggestion of HIV prevention. The report of this AAP Task Force, published in 1989, confirmed the advantages of circumcision in prevention of penile cancer, foreskin diseases and hygiene promotion, and listed the disadvantages of pain and possible surgical complications. The possible advantages of avoidance of infant kidney infections (UTIs) were considered suggestive but not yet proven at that time. In a non-directional manner the parents and providers were advised to consider these confirmed benefits and risks in their decisions. With increasing published research showing advantages, the AAP studied the evidence again in a report issued in 1999. In the ensuing years since 1989, the evidence on protection against penile cancer and infant kidney infection had become overwhelming, and prevention of HIV compelling, adding to the advantages of neonatal circumcision. At the same time, local anesthesia has become established as effective and safe, eliminating the pain disadvantage. Unexplainably, in the face of this increased evidence of support for the procedure, documented in the report itself, the 1999 conclusions discouraged newborn circumcision. Proven evidence was referred to as “potential benefits” and the Task Force said it could not recommend newborn circumcision but did not say why. Anti-circumcision jargon was used – circumcision was referred to as “amputation” of the foreskin, and a known anti-circumcision pediatrician appeared before the group and refers to himself as a “consultant”. Further, this anti-circumcision stance, discordant with the evidence, was accompanied by a statement that newborn circumcision is not necessary for the acute management of the newborn, a puzzling and irrelevant statement since newborn circumcision, like immunization, is a preventative health measure, not a treatment for acute illness. The misleading nature of the 1999 AAP report has been challenged by pediatricians and other professionals (Schoen, Pediatrics 2000), and diminishes the credibility of the AAP on this topic. In the period from 1999-2005 multiple compelling published studies have confirmed the previous preventive effects of circumcision and given evidence on protection against HPV, cervical cancer , and Chlamydia. Rather than update its position to reflect this new evidence the AAP, in an irresponsible move, simply reaffirmed the 1999 report, thus ignoring all the evidence accumulated over the past 7 years. The lay activist, anti-circumcision groups, beginning in early 1970’s, have dominated the media and recently the Internet, and have been successful in gaining public attention for their cause. They have grown in number, and fringe groups have become increasingly bizarre, with picturesque acronyms. Among the oldest of these organizations are NOCIRC (National Organization of Circumcision Information Resource Centers) and NOHARMM (National Organization to Halt Abuse and Routine Mutilation of Males). Recently, circumcised men desiring replacement of the missing foreskin have joined into groups such as NORM (National Organization of Restoring Males), RECAP (Recover a Penis) and BUFF (Brothers United for Future Foreskins). In addition to being featured in the print and broadcast media, a slick anti-circumcision magazine (“The Foreskin Quarterly”) was published in San Francisco, which contained a large classified advertisement section with uncircumcised homosexual men seeking partners similarly endowed. How has the U.S. population reacted to the anti-circumcision groups and the confusing position of the AAP? As a measure of the independence of the public in assessing information relevant to infant health, the circumcision rate of newborn from non-immigrant families has actually risen over the past 2 decades. The Center for Disease Control (CDC) recently published statistics on newborn circumcisions from 1979-1999 and found the total rate rose from 64% to 65%, in this period. But the changes within the various parts and ethnic groups of U.S. are more significant than the totals. Circumcision rates increased from 56% to 64% among blacks, in the Midwest (from 74% to 81%) and the South (from 56% to 61%). The Midwest and the South represent the areas of the country with the fewest immigrants. On the other hand in the West, particularly in California where the majority of newborns are now from immigrant families coming from cultures which do not circumcise, the circumcision rate fell from 64% in 1979 to 37% in 1999. In 1979 the majority of births in California were in non-immigrant whites. By 1999 non-immigrant whites constituted only 31% of California births, with 6% in Blacks; 47% of newborn births were in Hispanics and most of the rest were in Asians. Since Hispanic and Asian immigrants rarely have their newborn boys circumcised, even if 100% blacks and non-immigrant whites were circumcised the total circumcision rate would be under 40%, offering an explanation for the 37% Western rate. Interestingly, there is a suggestion that even among Hispanics the attitude toward circumcisions changes as they remain in the U.S. longer. In Southern California where the most recent immigrants are found, almost no Hispanic infants are circumcised, while a recent survey at San Francisco General Hospital found that 29% of Hispanic newborn boys were being circumcised. In the 3 years since the misleading 1999 AAP Task Force circumcision report, published studies have reinforced the evidence of circumcision protective effects against HIV and HPV infections and cervical cancer, kidney damage following infant urinary infections and local skin disorders, and confirmed the effectiveness of local anesthesia on pain relief. In the face of this proof it seems likely that the rates of newborn circumcision will continue to rise in the U.S. as the public increasingly realizes the medical benefits of this preventive procedure, which is analogous to infant immunizations in the sense of promoting health and preventing future disease. For documentation see Reference Section, pages 124-135 from the book "Ed Schoen, MD on Circumcision Timely Information for Parents and Professionals from America's #1 Expert on Circumcision, RDR books, 2005." Name: Niloufer Country: India Comment: Please do something about this article: its badly written incorrect and very biased. Surely a website of your stature can handle a delicate issue with more sensitivelity. Someone should be moderating the responses as well. The one by Jamie on conducting "brain studies" is ridiculous and borders on bigotry, not to mention ignorance. Name: John Country: U.S.A. Comment: This isn't performed on the vast majority of American males. It's about 60%, which is a slight majority. It's less in some places, such as the West Coast where it's the inverse. It's not standard medical procedure either. It's elective plastic surgery that requires informed consent, consisting of at least a form listing the risks. Name: Sundeep Country: India Comment: The US is a nation of anti-male, pro-female bigots. While they genitally mutilate men with silly excuses and reasons to justify barbaric acts, they have laws to protect women. If it is ok for the US to genitally mutilate boys, it is perfectly ok for Indians to beat their wives, burn women, etc and it is also ok for the people in Africa and middle east to cut off female clitorises in the name of custom. The US is hated all over the world due to their double standards and their hatred for men, blacks and non-christians. If they suffer losses in war let them suffer. Name: Shilpa Country: India Comment: I am not advocating this practice but it seems to me that the author of this article is simply looking to create controversy. Most of the article is written in such a manner that he is abusing other religions. The biggest problem is that none of his claims are backed up by any medical facts. Name: Cherry Country: India Comment: I dont understand how this site has allowed such foolish article to be published.. The author of this article does not know the ABCD of Circumcision and has just written the cow-dung he/she had in this brain.. Just because this practice is followed by certain religion the author seems to be biased.. India has the highest no. of Female infanticide , write something about that with correct stattistics and data.. Name: Asha Country: India Comment: This absolutely wrong to do, What ever god has given should be accepted, It is not only about voilence but also going against the nature If a mother can see this happening to the SON then she has tough heart i must say Name: CHABROL Country: South Africa Comment: MALE CIRCMCISON IS AGROS MALE PERVERSION GENITAL RAPE OF MALE SERVES NO PURPOSE EVER LEAVE MALE BODIES ALONE U GROUP OF FREAKS Name: Editor Indiaparenting Country: India Comment: The article does seem biased. Thanks for your feedback. We will look into it and rectify it. Name: os Country: India Comment: Very surprising article.. looks like this site is only meant for Hindus :-). The way you make fun of a practice very common in more than 1/2 of worlds population (christians also do it, not just Muslims and Jews), its hard to believe that you are not biased. If you are trying to prove that doctors in USA are ignorant or too religios, get ur facts right. Any medical practitionar in US would not act on the basis of his/her religious inclinations and this practice is opted for, only after medical facts are proven. If pain is the only reason, you should stop cutting the baby from Umb-cord as well, its going to be painful, isn't it ? Name: skin deep Country: brazil Comment: In my country they do not circumcise because it is to painfull for the baby. I think thats a good enough reason for not circumcising new born babies. Name: Paula Country: usa Comment: I was quite surprised at the one-sided and exaggerated nature of the author's comment. I previously thought that this site only supported unbiased and well-researched information. There are many claims made in the article that are blatently untrue. There are likely people reading the article and believing every exaggerated claim simply because they are not well-educated on this topic and trust the authors of this site. How unfortunate. It would have been better if the author would have either stated that his claims are his/her opinion only or simply provided unbiased factual data so people can make informed decisions based on their own judgement and values. My son is not circumcised but my decision was made based on my personal choice and facts; not scare tactics and mis-information. Name: Sunjay Country: usa Comment: I was born in the USA in the mid 60's and am circumcised. No one else in my family is just me. Apparently when I was born the doctor performed the circ right in the delivery room and did not even ask my parents. I can tell you that going back to India as a child always generated a lot of discussion on the topic. My mom was constantly asked by all her family why she wanted her son to look like a muslim. I must admit growing up in the states I did not feel out of place in the locker room in school as all the boys had been circumcised. My wife is Indian and was surprised to see my circumcised status. She is ok with it now. We never had any of our sons who were born in USA circd. Name: Kritika Country: usa Comment: When my son was born here in the USA the doctor asked us if we wanted him circumcised. We said yes only because we were ignorant and had no idea what circumcision really does. I would advise future parents to read up on it especially if they are delivering in the USA. The doctor told us that he would only remove a little skin to expose the pee hole. When baby came back his head was completly exposed. I felt so bad. What is done is done. Next baby no way. Name: Renassault Country: usa Comment: You obviously don't understand how cancer works. Cancer can't happen from urine infections. It's a genetic mutations. Please look stuff up before you post. Circumcision may however have advantages in not contracting certain diseases, though I heard recently that such claims were refuted. Name: jay amalthia_x@yahoo.com Country: usa Comment: Oh please, people don't commit as many crimes in Saudi Arabis because they chop off peoples hands and other parts of their bodies. Who wants to go to a Saudi Arabian prison? Name: pantulun@yahoo.com Country: netherlands Comment: It is barbaric to have a child cicumsised. i have been invited ot a cermony for circumcision in eritrea and it was really inhuman do it on the innocent baby. i myself am not circumcised but dont have any problem with cleanliness. all what is required is pull the skin when u take bath or pis and clean it with water or tissue. if it is required in the later stages of life and is medical that has problem with intercourse it is good to be done on advise. Name: Suva Country: india Comment: Whatever is natural is natural nad has its own reasoning. Why should people try to fiddle with nature ? Our experience shows whenever we tried to fiddle with nature, the result was not good! Moreover, it may the question of beleive and on which one cannot comment but the fact is that the infant suffers - let the boy have his own choise! That would more praqctical and moderate. Name: W Country: usa Comment: Local anesthetic is sometimes used in the U.S., although probably not as often as in Britain. There is no evidence to support the assertion that circumcision has any effect on brain "patterns," structure, or function. Name: W Country: usa Comment: "Male circumcision provides a degree of protection against acquiring HIV infection, equivalent to what a vaccine of high efficacy would have achieved. Male circumcision may provide an important way of reducing the spread of HIV infection in sub-Saharan Africa." Auvert B. et al., 2005, "Randomized, Controlled Intervention Trial of Male Circumcision for Reduction of HIV Infection Risk: The ANRS 1265 Trial." PLoS Medicine vol. 2, no. 11. Name: indianphantom Country: india Comment: the author seems to be quite prejudice on this issue which, i feel, is very unprofessional of him... Such biased and exaggerated comments should not be entertained by the publishers. This site has a lot of popularity, and article like this as an 'expert advice' might give this website a 'biased' look.... think about it.... people look up to you for a professional advice.... PLEASE GIVE THEM THAT..... Thanks Name: bash Country: united kingdom Comment: obviously things in the usa have not gone forward, in the uk a local aneasthetic is usedand no pain is felt, i work in a circumcision clinic and so far i have never seen a baby scream, it is about time that the usa started to use the same procedure. Name: James Country: united kingdom Comment: Interesting point of view. Unfortunately, it appears biased to me for the following reason. 1. The mention of highest number of sexually transmitted diseases in america and its relation to circumcision is unrealistic and absolutely unfounded. Americans practise unsafe illegal, extramarital/pre-marriage sex. This is the primary reason for these diseases. Even if a male who isnt circumcised has sex, his additional tissue over the penis moves out of the way hence is no means of protection from sexually transmitted diseases. Infact, if by chance, the bacteria hadnt managed to enter the penis during the sexual intercourse, there are more chances of them remaining within the additional unwanted tissue, increasing the chances of being infected later on. 2. There is highest crime in America because of their life style where every household owns a gun and no moral values exist in the society. If one needs to consider the crime statistics then a muslim country should be an ideal choice as it would have a 100% cicumcised population. No! I dont mean the few so called terrorists but main stream population. Saudi Arabia would be interesting choice, where theft, rape and crime is the minimum throughout the world! 3. An uncircumcised penis is unlikely to be cleaned even by water, if not soap, hence within 24hrs(average time between two showers) the chances of infection by the dormantly held urine particles within the tissue can be extremely dangerous and the main cause of the cancer. 4. Appendix is an extremely painful operation. It involves cost and risk. It is not as unsafe as the most unwanted part of the human body, the extra tissue covering the penis.It is also not exposed and prone to external infection. By the way, circumcision can be perfomed using local anesthesia to avoid the pain! Name: Jamie Country: usa Comment: I think that you are absolutely right avout it creating more voilance here but also to women who are often often subjected to more dometic violence by the men/families they love. A brain study needs to be performed on infants who are circumcised before and after for say about 15-20 years as well as males who haven't been circumcised at all. I think that there would be interesting shifts in the brain patterns of mails who were circumcised than not.
|