• Chandigarh
  • Ahmedabad
  • Kolkata
  • Chennai
  • Coimbatore
  • Jaipur
select‌ stage

Intelligent Child Topics..

You are here : home > Intelligent Child > Related Articles for Intelligent Child > Career Options

Career Options

Every successive generation seems to have more and more opportunities and options, but we as parents are not always aware of the many varied careers that seem to be constantly mushrooming. As a result, even though we would like to give our child the best advice, we are unable to do so due to our own limited knowledge.

When a child completes his tenth standard, it is often time for him to choose certain streams for which he has an aptitude towards, or which he is interested in.

Decisions

However, when you think about it, if the choice is left up entirely to your child, he will most certainly be unaware of all that is out there, and as a result may not make the right decision. For example, your child may wonder if he should do arts, but then may feel that he has got such a high percentage in his boards, that he can gain admission in science. So why should he do arts? In addition, after science he can do medicine, engineering, architecture etc. What can he do after arts? And so thinking, he makes a decision. Whether or not this was the right decision, only time can tell. But one thing is for sure - he didn't base his decision on the right parameters.
Your child's career is something that will stay with him through his life. Although numerous people do change their careers, it would be best if your child is able to identify what interests him at the outset, so he doesn't need to change careers or jobs very often.
The only way your child will be able to identify what he wants to do, is if he knows what opportunities are available out there.
Many children make the mistake of letting their marks decide what stream they should take up. What they should do instead is first identify, broadly, what they want to do, and then they should find out what they need to study in order to get their dream job. If they do this the other way around, that means that they are being dictated by their circumstances, instead of the other way around.

General idea

Your child may not know exactly what he wants to do, but he may have a general idea. For example, your child may want to work for Microsoft just because he likes the thought of doing so, but he doesn't know that he need to be a programmer to do so. He can even be an MBA, a graphic designer, a researcher, or be in the human resources, public relations or legal departments and so on. So, if he is keen on a particular organization but not really on a particular stream of work, then identify what are the various departments available, and then let your child see for himself how broad the choices are.

Information

It always helps to see a career counselor, just so your child knows what the choices are. Alternatively, you could speak to various friends and relatives to get an idea of the options available, and then discuss them with your child, or let your child speak with them as well.
One of the best ways to lay out the options for your child, would be to start at the level of the streams available, like science, and narrow it down and outline options, with names of Companies your child can work for. So if your child does biology, he can go in for medicine after the 12th, or law, and perhaps specialize in medical law, or biotechnology… The options are endless, and letting your child be aware of the options available at the outset will help him make the choice, instead of the other way around, where he chooses from what he knows, and then suddenly finds that there are so many other things he could have done - if only he knew.

You may also be interested in:

Curbing Computer Use
(18081 views)
Parenting Resolutions
(14414 views)
Gandhiji's Teachings
(135292 views)
Get Involved
(13165 views)
Cancel
Save Edit
parenting
Notifications
13 Comments
Sort by Newest

Rajani
Rajani.14 years ago
this is a wonderful article for parents to understand about their kids rather than pushing them into things which do not interest them.

bandu doble
bandu doble.14 years ago
iam working in army school mumbai as post graduate teacher maths. is there more oppotunity for me? kindly help.

Ragini
Ragini.14 years ago
our child is non-medical science student, class 12th.very bright in studies, wants to study architecture because of her artistic nature. but we are worried whether she able will be able to get good career opportunity in this or not. please guide.

kalpana
kalpana.14 years ago
my chil has opted for pcb bt she is now in great dileema that after 12 wat she should look for actually she is talented in many paths as she is creative n versatile too that s whn she is havin a problem in selecting her career path please suggest what to do now

kalpana
kalpana.14 years ago
my chil has opted for pcb bt she is now in great dileema that after 12 wat she should look for actually she is talented in many paths as she is creative n versatile too that s whn she is havin a problem in selecting her career path please suggest what to do now

candyheart_5
candyheart_5.14 years ago
plz tell me about the career options for a non medical student after class 12.

Doctor Jyot
Doctor Jyot.14 years ago
career options are plenty in india, if one has employable skills. we have to identify the capability and interest during teenage by year 19 at least, so that accordingly we can plan for 3 alternate career options.
english communication skills, computer operational skills, posture and presentation skills, knowledge over current local national and internation issues, concerns and solutions, body image development are few to work on from teenage for total personality.
doctor jyot from teensnparents

roshni
roshni.14 years ago
i am currently in dxb but surely will be going to india for my higher education..i am in 9th and would like to know wht stream could i go for i am totally unaware of any kind of stream or wht it job can i get out of it
i dont want to take comm it is boring according to me i would like to go for science because bussiness doesnt suit me..
but i dont like bio and i love phy and chem so wht can i go in science with chem n phy but not bio
please help me to make a right decesion...

heena
heena.14 years ago
respected frnds i want a guidance who helps me to choose a carrer

praj
praj.14 years ago
hi ppl i ve done my +2 science(phy grp) and stayed gap for 1yr and i am tensed that which engineering should i study according to nepal's condition now?
plz guide me!!!

Back to Previous Page   |   More on Intelligent Child Index

Subscribe

All tips on Related Articles For Intelligent Child
No need to go anywhere else. No spam.

*No spam only genuine emails
Follow us on:

Featured Articles - Infertility | Baby Development | Health and Fitness | How to Get Pregnant | Parenting Advice | Weight Loss | Pregnancy Advice | Name Numerology
Baby - Baby Photo Contest | Lucky Names | Lucky Birthdates | Horoscopes | Chinese Calendar | Compatibility Test | Fun Zone
Parenting - Message Boards | Planning a Baby | Pregnancy | Parents of Babies | Baby Names | Baby Name Poll | Birth Announcements | Parenting Quiz
Family - Cooking Club | Love & Relationships | Beauty Tips | Kids Weight Calculator | Recipe Maker
General - Calorie Counter | Personality Quiz | Love Signs | Compatibility Quiz