+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Dealing with hyperactive kids

Dealing with hyperactive kids

My kid is hyperactive. He cannot sit at one place for long. He has problem in learning also as he is unable to concentrate. I am worried that he may hurt himself or others. How can I deal with him?

Arushi Sahai's Avatar Member
    Blog Entries
    Hyperactive kids are full with energy, making focus very difficult. So parents often feel that one way to help with this extra energy is to give children lots of opportunities for exercise. You shouldn't let a child run to the point of exhaustion, but exercise is a very beneficial way to help refocus energies.So just help him channelize his energies.

Siya Gandhi's Avatar Member
    Blog Entries
    I am a doctor and I know how to deal with hyperactive kids. I would like to suggest some positive points that can help hyperactive kids. Children respond to praise, and are more likely to seek your attention by doing something good, if they are reinforced when they behave well. Hyperactive kids frequently receive attention from their parents in negative ways, whether the parent yells, spanks or punishes. Changing to positive reinforcement techniques can retrain a child to desire your positive strokes rather than your negative responses.

Ishika Seth's Avatar Member
    Blog Entries
    Establishing regular routines can help hyperactive kids. If a child knows that bedtime is at 8:00 pm, then he or she will naturally fall into the pattern of going to bed at 8:00. From my personal experience I can say that avoid overstimulation. Keep television watching to a minimum, and don’t allow TV watching at night. Use free time to take a trip to the park, read a special book together, take a walk, or simply giggle and be silly with your child or children.

Nice Article