Travel During Pregnancy
Twin Pregnancy
Urinating Frequently During Pregnancy
Urine Infection During Pregnancy
Vaginal Discharge During Pregnancy
Weight Concerns During Pregnancy

You are here: Home > Doctors on call > FAQs > Oily Skin

Oily Skin
Kindly read through our Frequently Asked Questions before submitting your queries. If you still wish to ask a question to our panel of experts, click here for our premium services.

Related ArticlesRelated FAQsDiscussion Boards
Identifying Skin Type Dull and Dry Skin Oily Skin
Daily Skin Care Open Pores on Face Skin Talk
Problem Skin Sensitive Skin
more more more
Oily Skin >>>
 Frequently Asked Questions

Q: My question was should I use Dove or Clean & Clear face wash or Neutrogena to clean my face. My skin is fresh and clean in the morning but in the evening it becomes oily and sweaty. I want to look fresh throughout the day.So please give me a solution.I am 20 years old.

Sindhu (Detoit, Punjab )

A: Use Clean and Clear or Neutrogena to wash your face if it is oily. If it is dry, you can use Dove. Certain face washes don't suit certain people, and I have recd. letters from some readers who tried Neutrogena and it did not suit them. I presume the same could be the case with Clean and Clear. So, first you could try Clean and Clear if you live in India, since it is locally made and far more economical. Also, remember that due to dust, pollution and oily skin, your face will get oily during the day, no matter what face wash you use. So if you want your face to stay oil-free during the day, you can: Carry compact powder. You can dab it on your face when it starts looking oily, Wash your face again during the day, or Dab your face with tissue to absorb the oil - yes, it works! Apply a light oil-free, matte foundation to your skin during the day, and when it gets oily, wipe your skin with tissue and reapply the foundation. Remember that certain compact powders may not suit you, so if you start getting a few pimples after using compact, try another brand. Also, remove the compact powder as soon as you reach home, and leave it on for as less time as possible. This will help reduce the chances of it irritating the skin. Applying compact powder is perhaps the best way of ensuring that your face looks oil free.

Vidula Chopra

Q: Hello Sir, My name is aryan, I am 20 years of age .My skin is every oily so ther are many pimples on my face, and when shave they get brust and leave black spots, this looks very ugly. I use clean and clear face wash for about a month still no improvement, But somehow I feel after using it the pimples are increasing, because my hair is oily there are pimples present at the forehead region, My aunt told me to apply the paste of turmeric+sandalwood on the face of about 10 minutes before going to sleep and wash off, will this treatement affect in decreasing the pimples and make my skin oil free. Please answer my questions and help

Ajay (Mumbai, India)

A: Yes, this treatment should definitely help you. Some people report adverse reactions like more pimples after applying sandalwood paste, but it is worth a try. If you find it does not suit you, don't apply it again. Also, wash your hair very regularly with anti-dandruff shampoo, becuase when dandruff falls on the forehead it also causes pimples. Never, ever touch your face with your fingers. If Clean and Clear doesn't help, try another face wash, and wash your face at least twice a day, and when you return from outside, and immediately after a workout. Drink a lot of water, at least 8-10 glasses a day. Avoid soft drinks and fried foods.

Vidula Chopra

Q: You say you should mix cucumber juice with lemon juice equal parts how would you apply this because its watery and not a paste do you just apply with fingertips and leave on for 10 minutes, also could you apply honey to this as well, I have oily skin. I have a wedding in September would like to b a couple of shades lighter that I am.

Shameem (Lucknow, India)

A: If you have oily skin you don't need to apply honey, just apply cucumber and lemon. Yes, it is watery, so you don't need to remove a whole lot of juice - just very little, and spread it on your face. Wash off when it dries.

Vidula Chopra

Q: Hello, I am a 20year old young man. I have some very small black dots all over my nose, But no where else on the face. I have an oily skin. What should i do to get rid of this black dots?

Dev (Mumbai, India)

A: These are probably blackheads. Use blackhead removal strips on your nose once a month. They are available at any general store. Biore is a good brand, you could try Ponds too. Also, invest in a face scrub like St. Ives. Scrub your nose with this scrub daily. You will not get blackheads.

Vidula Chopra

Q: I have had whiteheads on my cheek and forehead for about 3 years now and they just wont go away. I have used everything from astringents to creams but without much effect. I here whiteheads are caused by dry skin but I always thought I had oily skin, on a rare occasion where I have used a moisturizer it seemed to me to make my whiteheads worse. I am not really sure what I can do to get rid of these whiteheads and what products or techniques I should be using? Thanks

Dev (Mumbai, India)

A: The best product range I have come across is from Clinique. It is pretty expensive, so you could buy just the toner, and use a regular face wash like Clean and Clear from Johnson and Johnson. There are some moisturisers that you can use even if you have oily skin, and if your present moisturiser gets you pimples, use another, lighter one. Of course whiteheads are caused by oily skin. They happen when pores get blocked with oil, dead skin cells... Wash your face regularly, and drink at least ten glasses of water a day.

Vidula Chopra

Q: HI Monica here ...i have very oily skin and oily hair with lots of dandruff plz tell these three things. 1) I do a job from morning 8 to evening 7 and i dont get time to wash my face not even once and in morning from 8 to 9 my face looks very fresh but then i look very very oily plz tell me for that .....i heard that cleansing pads shd be carried but which company ? lots of oil on my face gives me ugly look and i loose my confidence in front of every one i use himalaya oil free face wash its nice but cant stop oilyness after 1 hr ...problem is i cant wash my face in office tell me plz? one beautician told me to use V.L.C.C anti acne gel to avoid oilyness and pimples. 2) Oily hair 3) Dandruff pls tell me i am waiting for reply thank you.

Monica (Banglore, India)

A: Oriflame has cleansing pads. They come in a small box, which you can carry with you to your office, and are reasonable. I really wouldn't recommend VLCC anti-acne gel. Keeping your face clean is always a better option for pimple prevention, especially when you know that the cause is that you have oily skin and cannot wash it often enough. Stick to working on keeping your skin clean. Himalaya is a good brand, you can continue using it. For your dandruff, try washing your hair with a medicated anti-dandruff shampoo like Selenium Sulphide. Alternate it with your regular shampoo because it is strong.

Vidula Chopra

Q: Hi Vidhula ji, I am Vishal, M 22. What is the effect of toning the oily skin? Is cleansing, Toning and Moisturising is step by step procedure? Please reply.

Vishal (Mumbai, India)

A: Yes Vishal, it is a step by step procedure. First cleanse, then tone and then apply moisturiser. Although people tend to recommend that you moisturise even if you have oily skin, I would recommend that you avoid moisturising if you have pimples. Toning balances Ph levels, removes all dirt and oil not removed by the cleanser, and polishes the skin. Different toners perform different purposes. Make sure you read this article for information on toning the skin. Is Toning Necessary?

Vidula Chopra

Q: I am having oily skin. specify products of SYNERGIE GARNIER, AYUR etc which are good for Cleansing, Toning, Moistorising of my oily skin.

Vishal (Mumbai, India)

A: Use Clean and Clear face wash and Clean and Clear toner. Both are very good products for oily skin. Then apply an oil-free moisturiser - you can try any brand and that suits you. Certain brands may cause you to break out, in which case you should stop using it immediately.

Vidula Chopra

Q: Hello Dr.Vidula, I have a problem of having pimples, due to my oily skin and genetic reasons. However, I make the problem even worse when I prick them (I don't know why but pricking seems to be die hard habit) which leaves scars on the face. It would be of great help to me and others also if you can answer these questions: 1)Whether scars disappear on their own (say after 1 year)? 2)I have heard that applying lemon juice on the scars help in getting rid of them gradually. Is this true? If yes, whether this natural therapy has any side effects? I have also read that applying lemon juice leaves dents on the face. 3)Some doctor prescribed me ELOCON? Is that effective? 4)If you feel to ignore this question or don't want to post it on web, please feel free. Whether masturbation frequency has any effect on the onset of pimples? waiting to hear from you, Sanks, Philadelphia, PA, USA

Sankalp (PA, USA)

A: Although some scars do disappear on their own after a period of time, not all disappear and certain scars may be permanent. Apply lemon juice on your pimple immediately after it bursts, after washing the area and your hands with soap and gently squeezing out all the puss and blood, until nothing more comes out. Squeeze a little juice on a cotton ball and place it on your pimple. The scar will soon fade. Elocon may be effective, but it has side effects. If no improvement is seen in two weeks, you should speak to your doctor. It is not recommended for prolonged use. Masturbation frequency has no effect on pimples. Drink ten to twelve glasses of water a day, wash your face with an anti-acne face wash two to three times a day and avoid greasy, fried foods or too much chocolate.

Vidula Chopra

Q: Hi, I have oily skin and due to this I get so many blackheads and whiteheads. Tell me the way to prevent blackheads and white heads from forming. And the main problem is that I have to go to my college everyday from 7 Am to 2 pm. And throughout the day my face becomes so oily and I get a lot of pimples and blackheads then. Tell me some thing that I can put on face before going to my college. A thing that could prevent oil to appear on my face for a long time (atleast 6 hours) and also can stop pimples. please tell me soon.

Jack (London, U.K)

A: Scrub your face once or twice a week with a face scrub. Although St. Ives is a popular face scrub, I would not recommend it since it does not suit many. Try various scrubs to see which one suits you. Since you have oily skin I would suggest that you carry face wash with you to college, and wash your face after a couple of hours in the ladies room, when it feels oily. You could apply Lacto Calamine lotion to your face before leaving the house.

Vidula Chopra

Q: Hi sir I have oily skin and due to this my skin is full of pimples & black spots. I am very worried about this. after washing face oil appear on my face Plesase give me tips or suggest home remedies for my skin. how to control the oil & how to stop the black spot.

Nida Zahir (Hyderabad, India)

A: The best remedy would be to wash your face more often. Use a face wash like Clean and Clear, which is good for oily skin. Through the day, keep splashing your face with water and wiping off the oil with a tissue. Though it is recommended that even people with oily skin should apply moisturiser, I suggest you wait until your skin clears up. Drink at least ten glasses of water a day. Steam your face once in two weeks and gently squeeze out the blackheads with clean hands. Wash your face with cold water daily to close pores.

Vidula Chopra

Q: Dear Vidulaji I have oily skin on cheeks and getting some pimples due to hot and humid weather. i don't touch my face at all but pimple leaves scars. You have mention that if you have oily skin use lemon and cucumber in equal amount. I was wondering can i leave that on for all night as I don't get enough time during day with my busy schedule. can you please let me know. I would really appreciate. take care thanks Muskann

Muskann (Mumbai, India)

A: If you want to leave it on the whole night, you should preferably use only cucumber juice, since lemon juice is a little strong.

Vidula Chopra

Q: My skin is very oily, and very sensative. I also have a little acne, any tips? Also, the sides (corners) of my lips are very, very cracked and red i tried vasaline but it didn't work HELP

Emily (Mumbai, Cannada )

A: Wash your face with a non-scented face wash suitable for oily skin like Clean and Clear. Also, apply toner regularly to remove dead skin and restore the skin's Ph balance. As for your lips, try applying ghee every night to them. It should help.

Vidula Chopra

Q: Hi, I am Male & age 25. My face is oily and pimple prone. I have many open pores on my cheek and black marks. I read many FAQs and advices. To be free from black marks, it is suggested to use Lemon&Cucumber juice or Lemon&Honey. Well thanks for the suggestions.I have some q's. 1). I heard LEMON is very strong acid and gives side affects if we use on face. pls give your comment on this. 2). Can a male use the above combination? 3). Can a open pore black marks male person use Scrub? If Yes, how many times in week is better? Waiting for your kind reply. Thank you. Learner

Learner (Mumbai, LA USA )

A: Lemon is strong, which is why it needs to be combined with honey to take out the sting. Adding cucumber also reduces the sting of honey a little, but not as much as honey does. Lemon does not cause any harm to the skin, although it could be a little drying, which is once again countered with honey. If your skin is excessively oily, you could apply cucumber with honey. It is acidic, but it is a completely natural bleach and applying it does not have any side effects to my knowledge. I myself have been applying lemon juice to my face on and off for more than 10 years, and my complexion has only improved. Yes, it can definitely be used by males as well. Wash off after ten to fifteen minutes. Cucumber juice is gentler and you can leave it on even overnight if you desire. Yes, you can use face scrub. Although instructions often say that you can use it 2-3 times a week, I suggest you use it just once a week, just after showering so your pores are open. This is becuase certain scrubs may aggravate pimples and you may need to experiment with scrubs to find one suitable for you. Once you have found the right scrub, you can use it more often. I find just washing the face with face wash regularly helps just as well. Also, since you have open pores, I suggest you use toner. Clean and Clear, L'Oreal, toners are good.

Vidula Chopra

Q: Hi sir I have oily skin and due to this my skin is full of pimples and i am very worried about this. Plesase give me tips or suggest medicine for my skin

Rizwan (Mumbai, India)

A: Wash your face three times a day with an oil free face wash. Try Clean and Clear, I have found it to be very effective for those with oily skin. Also, drink at least ten to twelve glasses of water a day. Avoid soft drinks and too many heaty foods like chocolates. Avoid excessive fried food, chips, wafers etc. Your skin will return to normal. It is also important to protect your skin from the elements by avoiding exposure to wind. Don't sit near a window if you travel by train bus or car, and wear a helmet if you travel by bike.

Vidula Chopra

Q: I have a problem about my skin...theres a white spots occuring at my back and i dont know what is this..and seems that its multiplying...pls help me what should i apply to get rid...thanks!!!

Trish (Mumbai, India)

A: What are these white spots? Are they pimples? If yes, make sure you scrub your back with a loofah when you shower. Such pimples are often caused due to blocked pores on the back, especially if you have oily skin. In addition, we tend to perspire on the back, which blocks the pores even further, causing pimples, blackheads, whiteheads and other eruptions. If they are skin discolourations, you should get them examined in person by a dermatologist.

Vidula Chopra

Q: hi,this is jesmine. i have a oily skin,actually,i have a fair skin,but due to sun rays,my skin has got darken.i have tried to use the lemon and cucumber also but it does not works,my complextion got darker then before.why?can u tell me what to do?i have some blemishes and alittle bit of pimples on my face too.will u please tell me all three things which i can use,i mean home remdy things,face wash,toner,moisturizer.can i use NO MARKS cream for moisturizing?please,i want to get my natural cloure back,please tell me everything clearly,ok.thanks,please email me and reply me at jesmine277@yahoo.com i will be very thankful to u,if u email me. please tell me about everything about face wash and more to be applies daily for blemishes free and for fair complextion. thanks alot. hope u see your reply soon. one more thing is,i have taking capsule of (HIMALIYA PURE HERBS NEEM CAPSULES), it say that it is blmishes free and it makes a glow.should i take those. i am taking it but see no results. how many bottles should i ate? please tell me. i am really worried about my skin very much,actually i am a very beautiful and sweet girl but due to these problems every one scold me. please help. please u again and again.please mail me at jesmine277@yahoo.com. thanks bye bye

Jesmine (Mumbai, UK )

A: Continue taking the Himalaya neem supplements. Take the amount prescribed on the bottle. Don't take more than what is prescribed. Drink at least 12 glasses of water a day. Avoid stepping out in the sun, and avoid exposure to the wind as well as this leads to pimples. No Marks cream cannot be used as a moisturiser. Continue using lemon and cucumber. They are natural bleaches and will not make your skin darker. Your skin grows dark due to exposure to the sun. Make use of this feature to find out how you can take care of your skin.

Vidula Chopra

Q: I have really oily skin that makes my face shiny and greasy. How do i get rid of it because ive tried EVERYTHING. It makes my makeup look messy. i also have old zit scars. HOw do i get rid of them?

Ashley (Mumbai, UK )

A: Wash your face regularly with a face wash for oily skin. It is a good idea to wash your face every time your face starts feeling a little oily. Clean and Clear is a good face wash for oily skin. Try applying a mixture of equal amounts of lemon juice and honey to your face daily, and wash off in ten to fifteen minutes. Your scars should fade.

Vidula Chopra

Q: Hi there, I went through ur site and found the skin care section very interesting. i have an Oily skin and in your skin care section you mention that steam is good for opening the pores, but i have still a query related to the same, after the pores are open, how do i clean up the pores since my skin is really very sensitive and prone to acne and pimples and blackheads. i would be grateful if you could suggest a homemade remedy. Thanking you, Best regards, Perpetual Fernandes

Perpetual Fernandes (Mumbai, India)

A: You can simply cleanse your skin with a cleanser or with day old raw milk. Put it on your face, and then wipe it off with cotton. Mix three parts baking soda with one part water and scrub your face with this, gently. For really clean skin, finally follow up with washing your face with Clean and Clear face wash, and then splashing cold water on it to close the pores.

Vidula Chopra

Q: I have real oily skin get pimlples. I also have a dark complexion. Can you give me advice on how to get rid of the oiliness, pimples, and get a lighter complexion?

Sneha (Mumbai, India)

A: Wash your face with Clean and Clear face wash 2-3 times a day, and during the day everytime your face feels oily, splash it with water and wipe dry gently with a towel. Apply cucumber juice mixed with lemon to your face and wash off after ten minutes. Do this everyday, your skin will lighten slightly and complexion will improve. Drink at lease ten glasses of water everyday.

Vidula Chopra

Q: My skin is very oily on forehead and on nose.pls help me to prevent or control oily skin

Rathish (Mumbai, India)

A: Wash your forehead with a face wash for oily skin like Clean and Clear a couple of times a day, in addition to your regular cleansing routine. When going out, apply compact powder on your forehead and nose, and always carry the compact with you so you can re-apply when your forehead and nose start shining. Scrub your nose with a face scrub daily to keep the oil at bay and to prevent blackheads from forming.

Vidula Chopra

Q: My skin is very oily on forehead and on nose. Please help me to prevent or control oily skin.

Rathish (Gujrat, India)

A: Wash your forehead with a face wash for oily skin like Clean and Clear a couple of times a day, in addition to your regular cleansing routine. When going out, apply compact powder on your forehead and nose, and always carry the compact with you so you can re-apply when your forehead and nose start shining. Scrub your nose with a face scrub daily to keep the oil at bay and to prevent blackheads from forming.

Vidula Chopra

Q: I have a oily skin and don't know why but in last few months have got some open pores on my face the worse part is I work in Food court where its oil everywhere when I don't work for a week I don't get pimples or nothing but as soon as i get to work I start getting them also my cheeks turn up red because of the irritation please help me what can I apply on face to cover the open pores all the time at work and everywhere so that no dirt gets in?

Dolly (Mumbai, India)

A: Apply lacto calamine lotion to your face everyday before leaving for work. Apply a generous amount. Your face needs protection, and this will provide good protection. You could also apply liquid foundation.

Vidula Chopra

Q: I am 16 year old I have a very oily skin but now I am avoiding those things which promotes pimples but now I have pimple marks as I used to pinch them and my complextion too became dark though my whole body is too fair except my hands. I too have little hair on my face. But as soon as I come from collage my face becomes too oily and dark. Please let me know what shall be my regular clean up and regular routine to use face packs. What shall include my diet? I have dark circles too. What shall my hair conditioner be (naturally homade or of a good company)? And any good hair remedy for shiny and bouncy hair? Thanking you a lot for reading my query I really appreciate you people thank you a lot please try to reply me.

Shiba (Ahmedabad, India)

A: Wash your face three times a day with Clean and Clear face wash. This is very good for oily skin, and it will also help clear up the pimples. Also, splash your face regularly with water to keep it clean and oil-free. Wipe off the water with a tissue. Avoid fried foods, wafers, kurkure and the like, and avoid soft drinks as well. Revlon, Flex, is a good conditioner and so is L'Oreal. You could try either. Don't apply conditioner to your scalp. For a natural conditioner, apply egg and wash off after half an hour with COLD water.

Vidula Chopra

Q: Can I apply lemon juice on my face everyday and leave it on for the whole day? Will it make my skin dry?

Jean (Ahmedabad, Australia )

A: You can't leave it on for the whole day in any case because it will look like you have something on your face. Apply it twice a day, for ten minutes at a time. This should help. Yes, lemon juice is drying.

Vidula Chopra

Q: My face is very oily. I wash my face regularly with soap still its oily. I also have scars. Please tell me the home remedies to remove old pimple scars, black spots and to prevent oil in my face. I also have open spores. Please tell me the face pack for my skin type to close those pores and control oil.

Rathish (Ahmedabad, India)

A: Unfortunately there is no remedy to close pores permanently. At the most, they can be tightened temporarily. Wash your face with Clean and Clear face wash around 2-3 times a day, and splash your face with water and wipe it gently through the day, as soon as it feels oily. Apply toner to your face at night before sleeping, after washing your face with a face wash. Toner tightens pores. Splash your face with ice cold water once a day. This also helps temporarily tighten pores. Make sure you scrub your face 2 times a week with a face scrub to prevent blackheads.

Vidula Chopra

Q: Hello, I have a 2 1/2 year old kid and hence, don't get much time for daily beauty care.Could you please give me some tips for daily skin and hair care,preferably using herbals and easily available ingredients?

Seema (Mumbai, India)

A: Hair and skin care depends on the type of your hair and skin. If hair or skin is oily, dry, normal, or if your hair has been chemically treated, has dandruff... etc. Please go through our articles on hair and skin care, which are filled with tips that you can use, depending on your hair and skin type.

Vidula Chopra

Q: Hi, I'm going on 40yrs. old and my skin is not really wrinkly yet but more like saggy. Could you suggest a home remedy for this. I heard an eggwhite mask is very firming. Thanks!

Priya (Mumbai, India)

A: Yes, an egg white mask does firm the skin, and it soaks out the oil as well. Thus, it makes an ideal mask for oily skin, or for younger skin. However, you should mix a teaspoon of honey along with the egg white, and whip the mixture with a fork. You could add a little flour to make a paste, so your mask is not as runny. Apply this mask to your face and wash off when it dries, after around ten minutes. Avoid applying egg white to your under-eye area. Don't throw away the yolk. You could apply the egg yolk to your face later on, or the next day. Egg yolk is very nourishing as well, and it moisturises the face. It is ideal for dry skin.

Vidula Chopra

Q: I have a very oily skin and my face shines all the time. Are there any home remedies to completely cure this problem?

Disha (Mumbai, India)

A: There is no 'cure' as such for oily skin. You should wash your face regularly. Use face products suited to oily skin. Use a face wash for oily skin. Scrub your face gently with a mixture of besan and water every morning. Read more about looking after oily skin on our website.

Vidula Chopra

Q: Although I am fair, as my skin is very oily, I look dark within an hour after washing my face. How can I keep my skin glowing for a long time?

Hima (Mumbai, India)

A: Apply foundation to your skin everytime you step out. This will prevent your skin from looking oily, and some foundations have an inbuilt sunscreen, which will protect your skin from the sun. In addition, foundation shields your skin from the harsh elements, pollution, dust, etc, and it also looks good. Make sure your foundation doesn't look too caked though. To do this, you should apply just a few drops, with a damp sponge. You could add compact powder to your face after applying foundation, but I would not recommend that you use compact powder on a daily basis. You could also carry tissues with you and keep wiping your face at every opportunity, but your face would not look as fresh.

Q: Query: What is the best scrub for oily & combination skin ?

poonam (Mumbai, India)

A: There are many face scrubs available in the market to suit your kind of skin. You will have to try them out to see which one is best suited to you. What is suited to one person need not be suited to another, even though they both may have the same skin type, as most OTC products contain chemicals, and different people react to them differently. Oriflame and Synergie have good facial scrubs. For home treatments, apply an egg white pack on your face once a week. Scrub your face with a besan, haldi and curd mixture.

Q: I have an oily skin and get lot of pimples which leave the marks on my face. Its looks really bad. Can you please suggest me any creams and face pack which can improve the color of my skin and can reduce the pimple marks?

Neha (Mumbai, India)

A: Wash your face twice a day with Clean and Clear face wash. Throughout the day keep splashing water on your face and wipe dry with a tissue or small towel, to remove the excess oil. Avoid fried foods and soft drinks. Sometimes, dandruff also causes pimples so if you have dandruff, wash your hair with an anti-dandruff shampoo. Keep your hair tied up, at least when you are at home, so your hair doesn't touch the skin and cause further irritation. As far as possible, don't touch your face. Also, when you are in the car, sit with the windows rolled up. Wind can irritate the skin.

Back to previous page

search search the site
search

To check our panel of doctors and experts
click here.

To check out other Faq's on various topics
click here.

E - Shop
Visit E-Shop Now!
Contests
Baby Photo Contest