You are here: Home > Message Boards > Food Talk >  Diet Food / Low Calorie Cooking >loose weight healthy way

Food Talk  Discussion Forum

Diet Food / Low Calorie Cooking:loose weight healthy way
2005-04-06
Name: vibha

Hi folks i'm a new mom who had a c-section baby and i had put on lot of weight during pregnency specially in the last trimester and had lot of water retention(edema).People scared me to death saying tht i will never return back to my pre-pregenancy weight and who ever i meet gave me free advice how to loose weight,i was so distrubed with this and did a lot of survey on how to loose weight and came up with a diet plan for myself. I started this when my little one started to take formula around her 7 mo and decided to get back to my original weight by her first birthday. I did it and i lost 20 lb in 12 weeks ,her b'day is next month. I followed these basic rules before starting to diet
1. First understand your body,every one is different.
2.Concentrate on what you are eating
3.v.imp have confidence in yourself tht you will do it,think this way when it took you several months to gain weight it takes atleast weeks for you to loose,its not instant.
4.The diet which i followed was simple(i excluded fats all types like nuts,eggs,oils,ghee and also started to drink fat free milk),i stick to veggies,boiled rice,boiled dal,and whole grain bread.
5.I never starved i ate veggies or fruits(no bananas) or my fav veg.sandwich with mustard(honey),tamoto,cucumber and lots,and lots of celery with hot sauce
6.reduce sugar and salt intake do not quit but reduce in amount
7.I tried this for 3 weeks and saw a great change i lost 5 pounds in 3 weeks(most of it is water as we all know) then after 3 weeks real loss of weight began and i stick to the same for 12 weeks and lost 20 lbs

give it a try you also might loose but be sure to understand what you want to do and how? If you need tips more clearly on how my diet was pls post your questions and i will be glad to help you out. Good luck to all who are planning to loose weight.

2007-08-14
Anonymous Name: samriti
Subject:  loosing weight after pregnancy

can i loose weight even when i am breastfeeding.

2006-05-03
Anonymous Name: swapna
Subject:  Hai

Hi
I had seen your msg.Is it easy to reduce the weight after delivery.After how many weeks should we start doing exercise.I increased 20lbs in 7 months.Every one is telling that its too tough to reduce weight since i increased much .
thanks,
Swapna.

2005-11-13
Anonymous Name: aditi
Subject:  good luck

hi vibha
thats great to hear and its a motivation to me. i too have started diet as i had put on 13 kgs during delivery. just a query . did u do some kind of exercise too or just by following these diet tips u lost weight. in how many months did u loose ur target weight. good luck and bye
aditi

2005-06-07
Anonymous Name: vibha
Subject:  Good luck and Thank You!

Dear Deepa thanks a million for your wonderful feed back. Your idea seems to be good we can definetly start a group why don't you start one and post the address so tht any one intrested can join,my support will be there always.
And reg the tips and ideas pls follow:
1.It's summer now eat lots and lots and lots of water melon its really good as it is full of water and will save you from getting dehyderated.
2. I eat a lot of corn(frozen),i microwave corn with a bit of salt for 4- 5 min and enjoy it when ever i feel hungry and i also like popcorn very much because it also fills you.
3.I make carrot kheer,by boiling the carrots in cooker till done,blend them in mixer then add skim milk and dry non-fat milk powder ,cardomom powder and boil till rolling. Just have it hot or cold,tastes better if chilled for few hrs.
4.I make skim-milk curd at home and enjoy it just with any thing like making kadi out of it or raita with any veg.u want.
5.I replace rice with,corn meal cooked in water(turns just like daliya or upma)mix it with any thing like dal,curry,curd any thing and have it.just for a change...
6.Eat celery with hot sauce its really tasty....
7.Eat fatfree wipping cream mixed with fruits of ur choice or just a can of fruit cocktail with out water
8.DRINK LOTS AND LOTS AND LOTS OF WATER.

I used to adapt all these when i was trying to loose,now i reached my target weight and still able to maintain the same. GOOD LUCK TO ALL.......happy weight loss.

2005-05-31
Anonymous Name: deepa
Subject:  Thank you

Dear Vibha,
Your plan seems to be logical and easily adaptable to most people's life style. I too have gained a lot of weight during my pregnancy and unable to shed it. I cannot go on extreme diet because i diet striclty, so to say starve myself for the whole day and at the end when cannot control, binge on food and probably comsume much much more calories. I sincerely vow to follow these diet for atleast 21 days as you suggest. Please wish me good luck. Also there is a small request,if possible please write a few encouraging tips or ideas or whatever to encourage me and others. I have an idea: Why don't we start a small support group for all trying to loose weight. What do you say?

2005-04-28
Subject:  diet plan

Hi to all,Thanks for the feedback and i'm giving a brief plan which you can easily follow if you are staying outside india where you can get skim milk which is a bit difficult in india.But as of my knowledge in india we have skim milk poweder which can be substuited for regular milk usgae.

Note: This is not exactly a diet,but modifying your food habits.

As we all know indian meal consists of variour boiled lentils,and veggies which is a boon for us and also mild spices can be used.

Diet plan:
Follow this plan for 21 days no matter what and see the results,if they are encouraging i'm sure you will continue if not no harm i gaurentee you will not put on weight.

1.Quit eating milk and its productsbut u can replace with skim(fat free milk)
2.quit eating oils,ghee,eggs,meat fish etc...
3.Reduce amount of sugar and caffaine(use caffine free coffe and tea)and salt.
4.Quit banans(i don't know some people say it wont harm but i quit it my self)
5.eat boiled rice with dal and all kinds of veggies only at nite during day eat sandwich made with wheat bread and veggies of your choice,drink tea and coffee as many times as u want but skim milk.
6.eat lots of celery(a veggie found in usa may be other countries),cucumber,tamato,lettuce,carrots,cabbage,spinch,green beans etc..in unlimited quantites.
Reciepe for easy dal which eat a lot:
In a pressure cooker add dal(like toovar,moong or mixed add haldi,jeera and now add veggies like carrots,beans,potato,spinach,green peas,ginger and any more of your choice and put lot of water and cook on low flame till dal is done.Now add salt and lime juice you can eat this with rice or like a soup your wish its filling and satisfying.

every day plan:(u can alter according to ur needs)
1.Breakfast tea or coffee with bread toast with out any oil or fat.fruits of ur choice.
2.If ur hungry go and make a sandwich with wheat bread and eat.
3.again eat a sandwich if ur hungry i don't perticularly say lunch u can eat when ever.Munch on lots and lots and lots of celery,cucumbers,and lettuce when ever possible.
4.For dinner eat dal,rice,buttermilk fat free.
(u can eat dalia(cracked wheat with veggies in it too)).

Make changes accordingly and stick to it very srtictley,ur doing it for ur self there is no fine if u do it wrong but think its u who will pay for it so don't starve there is lot of food to fill stomach which is fat free ,sugar free and healthy look for them around u will find them.

Eating this way which i made compatiable for my lifestyle i lost from 170lb to 135lb.
I did not hurry but carefully planed it and saw the results give some time to loose its not instant.You all can do it who ever want to just study ur eating habits no need to write down what all u eat just use ur senses.Good luck.
And i will soon add more reciepes which are indian and fat free.I'm from south india so idly's also help me fill but not more than 2 in a day.(:
I need to go now my babay is up from sleep.
Bye.

I can help you more if u need.

2005-05-24
Subject:  No short cut to weight loss

Dear friend, as u know there is no short cut to weight loss.If u really want to loose AVOID certian things.Coconut is rich in saturated fats so avoid it completely.I posted what i ate,u can make changes keeping in mind to avoid any type of oil,eggs,nuts(coconut also)and use fat free milk products.Adapt to lot of fresh or boiled veggies and rice(a little),lentils or dals.If ur buying something look for fat content on the label.U need to plan how u want to loose making the suggested changes,but i'm sure if u strictely follow it for 21 days or 3 weeks u will see the result,u will start loosing and if u keep up the pace for some more days u will LOOSE! Good luck!

2005-05-23
Anonymous Name: AS
Subject:  Weight Loss

Hi Vibha,
please help me losing weight. Please suggest me a proper chart .I am also a south indian and so i use lots of cocnut in my food which non avoidable. I want to lose weight .Pleas HELP.

2005-04-26
Anonymous Name: Meena
Subject:  Loosing weight

Hi Vibha can you please share your diet chart briefly as I too want to loose weight after delivery.

2005-04-26
Anonymous Name: Priya
Subject:  Please help

Please give me the diet advice and ur suggestions.since i'm in weight loss plan.I'm over weight becoz of poly cystic ovaries.please help me.Thank u Vibha
with regards
Priya

2005-04-19
Subject:  I can help you

Hey Uma let me know if u need any tips or suggestions i will gladly help you.Good luck with your weight loss.

2005-04-19
Subject:  I can help you

Hey Uma let me know if u need any tips or suggestions i will gladly help you.Good luck with your weight loss.

2005-04-11
Anonymous Name: Uma
Subject:  diet

Hi Vibha,
Thanks for sharing with us.I am in diet too. But no use. I will try in ur way.

2005-09-21
Anonymous Name: Sakhi
Subject:  more info

Forgot to mention few other things

-- I drink 2-3 cups of green tea daily
-- i wrote 30 min of walking, but actually i meant 30 min of cardio. I varied between elliptical/walking
--Except the diet i mentioned, i dont eat anything else, except 1 low fat carrot cake on sunday as a treat.
--If i crave for sweet, red grapes and watermelon works the best.

2005-09-21
Anonymous Name: Sakhi
Subject:  Diet tips

Hello friends,

I have lost 29 pounds in last 5-6 months following simple diet tips. Being indian, i couldnt follow any market diets and had to find something that helps me lose. I am located in US so few things are not available in india, but one can find substitutes.

Here is what i follow:

8:45 am: Morning:
1 cup skim milk with
1/2 packet quaker oats regular flavour oatmeal + 1/2 cup total whole wheat cereal + 1/2 tsp grounded flax seed

11am: Mid -morning
If i am hungry i take
-- 1/2 cup coffee, with 1/2 cup skim milk
OR
--1/2 cup fresh fruit juice
OR
--1 fresh fruit

12:15 pm: Lunch
-- 3/4 no ghee thin chapatis
-- 1 cup moong/chana/veggie
(Please note, i cook my veggie for 2 people/ 3 days and i use 1/2 tsp oil for all of that. Whereever there is need for oil, i substitute with water ,using minimum oil)
-- 1/2 cup fat free yogurt
-- around 15 red grapes
(this lunch really fills me up_

2 pm :
5-6 almonds

4pm:
1/2 cantaloupe
OR
20 strawberries
OR
1 full papaya

6 pm:
1 whole grain toasted wheat bread (100 calories)

8 pm:
1 veggie burger/ 1 whole grain bread/spinach/ and 1 plate raw boiled veggies

Done.
Please note , i try to add 30 minutes of walking to my daily routine.

hope this helps,

All tips on Food Talk
loose weight healthy way

Subscribe to this conversation! All tips on Food Talk
loose weight healthy way

Subscribe to this conversation! All tips on Food Talk
loose weight healthy way

RE:The GM Diet – Does It Really Work?
Have no idea about such hearing this for the first time why dont you google it there will get the information.... - Ankita [View Message]
RE:What is GM diet ?
Hi... - Natasha [View Message]
RE:10 Snacks That Make You Fat
snacking is not bad if taken in limits. Do not eat deep fried and food packed with high calories as it takes a toll on your health gradually. heavy snacking may lead to various health diseases so avoid munching on extra snacks.... - pooja [View Message]
RE:Healthy Diet for Summers
During summers due to heavy heat we loose much of our sweat and thus energy also. to regain this energy we have to intake more liquids like water intake, juices etc. water intake during summers should be around 4 litre per day. ... - raj [View Message]
RE:Understanding the Fat Story
Saturated fats are bad for health and overdose of any fatty substance leads to health issues. Fats you can find in ghee, oil, dairy products so intake of such food items should be limited and execersing is must for healthy body.... - josh [View Message]
RE:The GM Diet – Does It Really Work?
hey yes gm diet is meant for seven days and it should be done with proper guidance from your doctor or the physical trainer. Diabetic & blood pressure patients should consult their doctors before going in for this diet. ... - jini [View Message]
RE:What is GM diet ?
Hi PP i have no idea about this can anyone help me in giving a brief detail about what exactly is gm diet. I am planning to go for a diet plan so if it would be helpful in anyways.... - Jansi [View Message]