You are here: Home > Message Boards > Beauty & Grooming >  Hair Care >Upanayanam
Beauty & Grooming  Discussion Forum

Hair Care:Upanayanam
2015-10-25
Name: Srinivasan M Hi, i belong to a family of telugu and tamil brahmins. I am 24 years old, and i have not undergone upanayanam yet despite several attempts of my family to do it forcibly in the past. Now they are really hell bent on doing it as soon as possible, and they are forcing me to get it done with all the rituals including mottai with kudumi/pilaka, and ear piercing, and also with the condition that i have to keep the pilaka for at least 6 months. All this is impossible for me since i need to attend various classes, and i am also a part time teacher, i cannot think of facing my students with a pilaka and shaved head and earrings. If anyone has convinced your parents to drop the rituals, or if anyone has undergone the rituals, please post your experience
Subscribe to this conversation Reply Anonymously

2016-12-28
Anonymous Name: Srinivasan M
Subject:  RE:Upanayanam
Sorry for the delayed response. I did end up going through the function, and I must say it was very embarrassing indeed. I went through all traditional procedures like head shave with hair left in 5 places, ear piercing etc. To get tonsured in public was humiliating. Earlier, till 6 months, I had to compulsorily get tonsured every week. Now, out of respect for the ceremony, I get my head shaved myself for any occasions and still keep a pilaka. I also still have my earrings. I've stopped eating non veg, and have been forcibly made to start eating curd rice, which I really hated.
Reply to Original MessageReply to Original Message   Reply to Original Message Reply to This Message   Msg Objection   Go to Top

2016-10-10
Anonymous Name: Shiva
Hi Srini, try to convince them for not going for head shave. Just tell them for ready for the ceremony but cannot go for an headshave at this age. I think they should understand keeping your age in mind.