Search the site   
Register | Login    
parenting

Related Articles on Alternative Healing
What parents are currently discussing?
How to find baby gender in scan report
dont know whether its correct to ask but im very m...
- - - - -
T.I.M.E Kids Rajainagar
contrary to your feeling, T.I.M.E kids Rajajinagar...
- - - - -
Fregnant nahi Pregnant hai
see pls correct your spellings 1st then you can co...
- - - - -
Vicky Donor
I did expected this kinda posts after Vicky Donor ...
- - - - -
Marriage advice
Married 5 years with no children. Immediately afte...
- - - - -
Seven month baby not eating food
My baby is seven month old. I'm giving him solid f...
- - - - -
Thnx
Hi Shalaka, Thanks for the suggestion.I will sure...
- - - - -
Changing stool
I've a seven month old son. I am giving him solid ...
- - - - -
different approach
dear saiprasuna why cant you send your brother to...
- - - - -

You are here : home > Alternative Healing > Yoga > Yoga for Coping with Anxiety

Yoga for Coping with Anxiety

Anxiety disorder can lead to various health disorders. However, anxiety disorder can be dealt with easily by practicing yoga regularly. Read on to find about benefits of practicing yoga for dealing with anxiety, yoga asanas for coping with anxiety and diet for dealing with anxiety and related disorders.

Anxiety is pretty common and we all suffer from this time and again. It can be described as a state when a person worries about a thing or fears about it even if it does not really exist. Easygoing and mild anxiety is understood and accepted because it is part of human nature to get anxious sometimes. However, if the level of anxiety increases and is not treated in time, it may result in serious health problems.

Symptoms of Anxiety

Have a quick look at the symptoms of anxiety.

• Heartbeat greater than before

• Increased pulse rate

• Perspiration

• Accelerated breathing
  •  
  • Dryness of mouth

• Sweating
  •  
  • Fatigue

• Fainting (in extreme cases)

• Diarrhea

• Phobias

Benefits of Yoga for Anxiety

Yoga is slow breathing exercise technique and is done low paced. This is a complete contrast of what happens during high level anxiety or panic attacks. So, when deep and slow breathing exercise is done at that time it automatically helps calm down the person and lowers his heartbeat. There are hormonal reactions that go on in the blood and that gets neutralized by performing particular yoga asanas.

The gradual supply of oxygen and reduction of speed of blood circulation calms down by firm and powerful self restraint. However, there is medication and psychotherapy available for anxiety, yoga helps the person in the long run. Regular practice of yoga helps in improving the overall health of the person which automatically strengthens his mind and calms down his nerves.

The best thing about performing yoga asanas is that it does not let any negative thought come into one’s mind. If yoga and pranayama is accompanied with meditation, the person finds himself relaxed and normally nothing can upset him easily if he continues to perform these asanas and meditation as well.

Yoga Asanas for Anxiety

Have a quick look at the yoga asanas for coping with anxiety.

1. Anulom-Vilom
  2. Bhastrika
  3. Bhramari

Practicing yoga asanas and pranayamas on regular basis will help you become mentally, physically and emotionally strong. Not only this, yoga improves your concentration level, relieves different types of pains, reduces tress and several mental disturbances and brings down anxiety level. It reduces the frequency of panic attacks and gradually the person gets rid of it.

Diet

Besides yoga, diet also plays a very important role here. A nutritious meal with complex carbohydrate, high fiber, fresh fruits and vegetables helps a lot. Once you feel mentally and physically strong and energetic, you will gain self confidence and you will be able to take your mind off of unnecessary worries.

Feeling good from within will help you become socially active and engage yourself in more creative activities. This will automatically distract your mind and keep you away from needless worries.

Avoid Alcohol

Drinking alcohol or any kind of drugs to bring down the anxiety or depression is the worst thing as this will take you deeper into negative feelings. For the time being you might feel getting away from the depression, but this can even worsen the condition.

However, if the symptoms are of a severe case, it is not advisable to rely solely on yoga asanas. Medication and therapy becomes essential especially when the case is serious. Once this phase passes of, one can introduce yoga asanas in life and perform them regularly for long term relief. The basis of yoga is to change your attitude towards life. Exercise helps you get motivated and inspired from within. 

More Articles on:
Anxiety | Stress | Depression | Health

Back to Previous Page   |   More on Alternative Healing Index

Recent comments (0 comments)
Add your comment ( please login to post comment )
Your Name: 
Comment: 

RELATED VIDEOS ON
ALTERNATIVEHEALING

Yoga for Anxiety

Yoga Asanas for Anxiety and Stress

How to Deal with Anxiety

An Anxiety Free Life

Discussion Forum - Recent Posts

What are the causes of anxiety? Which yoga asanas are beneficial for dealing with anxiety? What are the benefits of practicing yoga for coping with anxiety?
Krishna
Anxiety disorder is very dangerous. Anxiety disorder can give rise to various other disorders. It is very necessary to get rid of anxiety as early as possible so that it does not affect health. Yoga c...

Sunanda
Anxiety can be treated by practicing meditation or guided meditation technique. Guided meditation technique is very beneficial for coping with anxiety. It should be practiced regularly for getting rid...

Ashwini
yoga is a natural cure for anxiety, stress and depression. If yoga is practiced regularly, the disorders like stress, depression and anxiety will not even touch you. Therefore, practicing yoga regular...

view more >>

DISCUSSION FORUMS ON
Yoga
IVF with egg donor
I am a woman in late thirties, married for the last 13 long years. We are a ... - Renu Oberoi    read >>

whats ur main problem
i will suggest you .
contact me with details
- shashank    read >>

required ED @ bangalore
hi, mona this krishna from bangalore. myself and my wife are marruied for l ... - krishna    read >>

I can help you
Hey,
I am 23 year old female, wheatish, Graduating as a lawyer in 2 mon ...
- Mona    read >>

Baby - Baby Photo Contest | Lucky Names | Lucky Birthdates | Horoscopes | Chinese Calendar | Compatibility Test | Fun Zone
Parenting - Message Boards | Planning a Baby | Pregnancy | Parents of Babies | Baby Names | Baby Name Poll | Birth Announcements | Parenting Quiz
Family - Cooking Club | Love & Relationships | Beauty Tips | Kids Weight Calculator | Recipe Maker
General - Calorie Counter | Personality Quiz | Love Signs | Compatibility Quiz

Home | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Comments or Suggestions | Indiaparenting News Articles | Contact Us | Advertise with Us | Resources | RSS
Copyright (c) 1999 - 2012 India Parenting Pvt. Ltd.